Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

GPL 60 fps patch version 2 released


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#16 Iestyn16

Iestyn16

    Tom Pryce

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Sports, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2009 - 01:29 AM

:thumbup: thanks!

testing :luck:

#17 billn53

billn53

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 04 2009 - 08:21 PM

I need help big time with this.

I can swear that I had the 60fps patch (v1) running ok before, but now whenever I try to use V1 or the latest V2, my game runs extremely slow. The menu buttons don't respond, and if I ever get to the track, I'm getting at best 2 or 3 fps !!!

In rastlog.txt I find the following errors repeated many times:

DirectXError at .\DisplayDirectDraw7.cpp:403 hr=0x887601C2

Any ideas?

============================

Later....

Solved it! I re-installed my graphics drivers and problem went away. I'm now happily racing at full 60FPS.

:thumbup:

Edited by billn53, Jul 04 2009 - 09:15 PM.


#18 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 18 2009 - 12:03 PM

Found out I can't keep up with the V2 AI.  So I ticked both the 60fps V2 and 60fpsAI V1 boxes and can join 60fps V2 servers online and also have the V1 AI.   :)

#19 profposeidon

profposeidon

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2009 - 09:01 PM

When  I use the patch, the ai cars have a really high ride height. Anyone else experience this or know a fix? Otherwise this patch is great.

#20 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2009 - 10:15 PM

Yes, the ai cars really really ride very high.  Only the people who created them could tell you why they did this.  Even when I set my car to ride high, they still ride higher.

#21 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2009 - 12:57 AM

View Postprofposeidon, on Aug 11 2009, 06:01 AM, said:

When  I use the patch, the ai cars have a really high ride height. Anyone else experience this or know a fix? Otherwise this patch is great.

Did you compare with AI ride height using 36 fps? I would expect it to be the same in both cases.

#22 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2009 - 04:53 AM

View Postmiklkit, on Aug 11 2009, 06:15 AM, said:

Yes, the ai cars really really ride very high.  Only the people who created them could tell you why they did this.  Even when I set my car to ride high, they still ride higher.

Mmmh, maybe because ai don't have track specific settings?
So they need to have value's that can cope with a wide variety of bumps and elevation changes?  :think:

#23 profposeidon

profposeidon

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2009 - 08:05 PM

View Postbrr, on Aug 11 2009, 01:57 AM, said:

View Postprofposeidon, on Aug 11 2009, 06:01 AM, said:

When  I use the patch, the ai cars have a really high ride height. Anyone else experience this or know a fix? Otherwise this patch is great.

Did you compare with AI ride height using 36 fps? I would expect it to be the same in both cases.


this does not occur using 36 fps, only 60. this is kind of stange because I remember the same phenomenon occuring in mods of Nascar 2003 early on.

#24 Jhalli

Jhalli

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2009 - 09:08 AM

View Postprofposeidon, on Aug 12 2009, 05:05 AM, said:

View Postbrr, on Aug 11 2009, 01:57 AM, said:

View Postprofposeidon, on Aug 11 2009, 06:01 AM, said:

When  I use the patch, the ai cars have a really high ride height. Anyone else experience this or know a fix? Otherwise this patch is great.

Did you compare with AI ride height using 36 fps? I would expect it to be the same in both cases.


this does not occur using 36 fps, only 60. this is kind of stange because I remember the same phenomenon occuring in mods of Nascar 2003 early on.


actually i have same, its only happens with 60fps AI's

maybe it just have wrong ride height values in gpl_ai.ini.

#25 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2009 - 09:17 AM

View PostJhalli, on Aug 12 2009, 06:08 PM, said:

actually i have same, its only happens with 60fps AI's

maybe it just have wrong ride height values in gpl_ai.ini.

Is there a difference between 60fpsv1 AI and 60fpsv2? Only thing I can think of which could cause this is wrong gravity constant. Since AI code does not use real time units (instead it uses frames), all values which depend on time must be modified. Accelerations, including gravity, have been modified so there could be an error.

But do note that AI ride height seems to be ridiculously high in any case. I think its just "show", since AI uses different physics and the ride height probably matters very little in the way they drive. If the ride height were low, you would not see as clearly the AI cars rolling in corners, pitching when braking etc...

#26 Jhalli

Jhalli

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2009 - 11:05 AM

i dont have 60fpsv1 AI anymore in use on my HD so cant test it.

i made more tests with 60fpsv2 and AI's ride height was slightly higher on 60fps ,no matter what gpl_ai.ini used.

Edited by Jhalli, Aug 12 2009 - 11:07 AM.


#27 profposeidon

profposeidon

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 13 2009 - 08:06 PM

View PostJhalli, on Aug 12 2009, 12:05 PM, said:

i dont have 60fpsv1 AI anymore in use on my HD so cant test it.

i made more tests with 60fpsv2 and AI's ride height was slightly higher on 60fps ,no matter what gpl_ai.ini used.

Mine look like monster trucks.  :lol:

#28 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 14 2009 - 06:13 PM

I just installed the 69 mod patch.  In GEM I had to tick the "60fpsV2newmod" box to make it work.  The first thing that jumped out at me was the extremely high ride height of the ai cars.  The V1 AI are fine, but the V2 AI aren't.

#29 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 15 2009 - 12:06 AM

View Postmiklkit, on Aug 15 2009, 03:13 AM, said:

I just installed the 69 mod patch.  In GEM I had to tick the "60fpsV2newmod" box to make it work.  The first thing that jumped out at me was the extremely high ride height of the ai cars.  The V1 AI are fine, but the V2 AI aren't.

In general, the 60fps AI is not expected to work correctly with anything else than original 67 since mods make 36 fps dependent changes to AI. But if the v1 AI gives a different ride height than v2 AI with original 67 cars, then there is probably an AI bug in the v2 patch.

#30 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 15 2009 - 09:49 AM

I have only driven with the 60fps AI in the 69's at C-F.  I like the V1 AI.  Everything was fine.  Not too much crashing, and I ran mid pack.  The V2 are much faster and ride all the way up.  They look like waterbugs.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links