Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

GPL 60 fps patch version 2 released


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#1 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 21 2009 - 11:30 PM

This version adds fps checking (servers running this patch will allow only clients using the same patch), and some 67 AI improvements.

Note that there are two versions of this patch (both included in the attachment):
- use 60fpsv2.xml with original 67 and old mods (not supporting long tracks)
- use 60fpsv2newmod.xml with 67patch and other mods which support long tracks

The AI does not work properly with anything else than original 67, and it does not work completely with that either. It is enabled mainly to allow offline performance testing with full grid.

Attached Files


Edited by brr, Oct 07 2009 - 01:06 PM.


#2 Frenchy

Frenchy

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 02:34 AM

Thanks BRR. I really appreciate your work on this. We will give it a test and report back.

Also, we have been using 60fpsv1 in our practice server (69mod) but have noticed a lot of engine blow-ups. Is this a known issue with 60fps or are we all just bad shifters.

Cheers
David

#3 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 02:54 AM

View PostFrenchy, on Jun 22 2009, 11:34 AM, said:

Thanks BRR. I really appreciate your work on this. We will give it a test and report back.

Also, we have been using 60fpsv1 in our practice server (69mod) but have noticed a lot of engine blow-ups. Is this a known issue with 60fps or are we all just bad shifters.

I have suspected the same, but I have mostly driven 67. The 67 engine damage code looks like it takes fps into account correctly, but there is a possible difference (though very small). I can't say about the 69mod, since I don't know if (or how) it changes the engine damage.

#4 ANGEL IBARGUCHI

ANGEL IBARGUCHI

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 11:52 AM

Hi:

Sorry but there seems to be a problem to download the files, I get a weird screen with HTML text but no link.

Regards

#5 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 12:36 PM

View PostANGEL IBARGUCHI, on Jun 22 2009, 08:52 PM, said:

Hi:

Sorry but there seems to be a problem to download the files, I get a weird screen with HTML text but no link.

Regards

Right-clicking the links will give you the "Save as" option.

#6 Arturo Pereira

Arturo Pereira

    Denny Hulme

  • Moderator
  • 862 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 12:45 PM

Thank you !!!  :)  :)

#7 Tomsk

Tomsk

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 02:02 PM

Does this v2 patch include the AI patch?

#8 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 02:39 PM

View PostTomsk, on Jun 22 2009, 11:02 PM, said:

Does this v2 patch include the AI patch?

Yes, AI is enabled in v2.

#9 Jens Force

Jens Force

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ruhr-Area-Metro, Germany
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 02:46 PM

great work of you, thanks alot!

still i am a little mistrusting, if it would 100,0000% the same ;)

due to the old WRs are all in the old mod.

but great to drive it, makes fun!

#10 grizz

grizz

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Location:canada
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 03:41 PM

The patch 6ofpsv2 , works very well , thank you brr. ;)

#11 JohnnyAck

JohnnyAck

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jun 22 2009 - 11:52 PM

Thanks again, working

#12 squid

squid

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 26 2009 - 07:50 AM

Thanks a million  :D :D

#13 Rodolfo

Rodolfo

    Mike Spence

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salzgitter, Germany

Posted Jun 26 2009 - 10:07 AM

Thank you for your great work
Rolf

#14 Grammaton

Grammaton

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 27 2009 - 03:11 PM

View Postbrr, on Jun 22 2009, 01:30 AM, said:

This version adds fps checking (servers running this patch will allow only clients using the same patch), and some 67 AI improvements.

NOTE: there are two separate versions of the patch, since recently updated mods change the code needed to implement the fps checking. Use 60fpsv2newmod.xml with recent mods. This version has not been tested online, so consider it a test version. Report back any problems.

I can't stop smiling whenever I play gpl with this patch...thanks Brrr!

#15 roland1982

roland1982

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 27 2009 - 04:28 PM

I am relatively new to GPL (I started about two weeks ago :)), and right now I tried the fps patch - works great! It feels much more natural. I really do hope that the AI and maybe other small issues can be sorted out, since it may be hard to switch back to 36fps now :)

Just before I tried the patch, I was testing at Silverstone with the 65 mod. I am a keyboard driver right now, and my best 65 lap (Brabham BT7) was around 1:37 (I did some odd 13 laps and had a pretty good feeling about the lap).
Now after I tried the patch with a break of a few hours, I did again some 12, 13 laps, and:

Update time: Silverstone Circuit 1967, Brabham BT7 (65) time 1:35.746 session T improvement -2.178

An improvement of more than 2 seconds!

I am not an experinced driver of course, but could it be the case that Keyboard drivers gain more through the smoothness? I did not change the setup during these 2 sessions (and all I did before was adopting the gears). Just curious :)

Anyway, thanks brrr!

#16 Iestyn16

Iestyn16

    Tom Pryce

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Sports, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 03 2009 - 01:29 AM

:thumbup: thanks!

testing :luck:

#17 billn53

billn53

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 04 2009 - 08:21 PM

I need help big time with this.

I can swear that I had the 60fps patch (v1) running ok before, but now whenever I try to use V1 or the latest V2, my game runs extremely slow. The menu buttons don't respond, and if I ever get to the track, I'm getting at best 2 or 3 fps !!!

In rastlog.txt I find the following errors repeated many times:

DirectXError at .\DisplayDirectDraw7.cpp:403 hr=0x887601C2

Any ideas?

============================

Later....

Solved it! I re-installed my graphics drivers and problem went away. I'm now happily racing at full 60FPS.

:thumbup:

Edited by billn53, Jul 04 2009 - 09:15 PM.


#18 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 18 2009 - 12:03 PM

Found out I can't keep up with the V2 AI.  So I ticked both the 60fps V2 and 60fpsAI V1 boxes and can join 60fps V2 servers online and also have the V1 AI.   :)

#19 profposeidon

profposeidon

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2009 - 09:01 PM

When  I use the patch, the ai cars have a really high ride height. Anyone else experience this or know a fix? Otherwise this patch is great.

#20 miklkit

miklkit

    airhead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:left coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2009 - 10:15 PM

Yes, the ai cars really really ride very high.  Only the people who created them could tell you why they did this.  Even when I set my car to ride high, they still ride higher.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links