Jump to content


- - - - -

A Problem I Don't Expect To Be Solved - But


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 27 2018 - 11:52 AM

when i join a race via iGor.. race or practice.. on exit i'm back to iGor. yay!
but when i join a race or just practice offline, via GEM.. on exit, most often but not always an error message saying "GPL has stopped working" ... and "press cancel to continue"
not a huge deal, just more a bother.
sometimes it seems if i delay the exit, let GPL close what ever files it needs to slowly close, and even at the end screen (rolling credits) i'll wait 3 or 4 seconds and SOMETIMES this works.

any one have a fix?

#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 27 2018 - 02:44 PM

This sounds like what happens when you use the old OpenGL rasterizer V1. Any chance of that?

#3 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 27 2018 - 08:56 PM

no Bob.... new install of everything.

Attached Files



#4 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,449 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 28 2018 - 12:38 PM

I get this sometimes if I move too fast too. Without Igor, but just offline.

#5 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 28 2018 - 03:24 PM

When GPL closes, it saves info to some ini files. Probably the player and app files, but also the GEM.ini and iGOR.ini, I think.

Keep in mind that the GEM.ini is in the C:\Users\Public\Documents\GEM+ folder. I don't understand why it's there, but that's the one that gets updated. There might be some read-only attribute there??

Make sure that your GEM and GPL installations are not in either of the C:\Program files directories.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Feb 28 2018 - 03:26 PM.


#6 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 28 2018 - 06:55 PM

not in either Prg or Prg(x86)
rather:
C:\Sierra\GPLSecrets\GEM+\GEMP2.exe

which... is still my OLD GPL install location (did not delete when installed new GPL)
but now i don't think i did install GEM+ new, instead just pointed it and IGor to the new GPL
is that bad?

#7 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 28 2018 - 09:53 PM

I'm pretty certain that GEM needs to be installed, and not just copied over.

For me, for GPL, I use C:\Games\Sierra

For GPLSecrets, where GEM and iGOR are, I use C:\Games\Sierra Utilities\GPLSecrets.

I think that it's best to keep those in separate locations (just a hunch - I don't know why). So I wouldn't recommend having GPLSecrets in the same folder as the GPL folder.

#8 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,790 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 28 2018 - 10:43 PM

I've always used a single root directory for all my GPL stuff, and installed everything at the level below that. So my directory structure looks like this:

G:\AllGPL\GPL  (GPL itself)
G:\AllGPL\GPLSecrets (GEM, iGOR, GPL Setup Manager etc)
G:\AllGPL\GPLReplayArc (All replays - further subdirectories for each mod)
G:\AllGPL\GPLTimesArc (My lap time listing utility and its output reports)
(Further directories for other utilities)
.........

Touch wood, I've never had any problems with this structure, and it helps make backups a bit simpler.

Edited by Saiph, Feb 28 2018 - 10:49 PM.


#9 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 832 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Mar 01 2018 - 04:35 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Feb 28 2018 - 09:53 PM, said:

I'm pretty certain that GEM needs to be installed, and not just copied over.

For me, for GPL, I use C:\Games\Sierra

For GPLSecrets, where GEM and iGOR are, I use C:\Games\Sierra Utilities\GPLSecrets.

I think that it's best to keep those in separate locations (just a hunch - I don't know why). So I wouldn't recommend having GPLSecrets in the same folder as the GPL folder.

We just installed a second GPL install and migrated the old ones settings. GEM needs only be reinstalled when you install a new OS as far as I know.

Edited by Michkov, Mar 01 2018 - 04:35 PM.


#10 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 832 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Mar 01 2018 - 09:00 PM

Bruce did you uninstall the old GPL install? Not suggesting you do just wanted to know.

#11 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2018 - 09:05 AM

did not uninstall old. not sure which i need/want to keep. some tracks i don't use, but don't want to delete. haven't used setups from all my different drivers (bruce65, bruce66,  etc)

#12 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 832 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Mar 02 2018 - 07:30 PM

Shouldn't make no difference any but with the vagaries how Win10 works with old software one never knows. I never had the problem with my double install on Ein7




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links