Jump to content


- - - - -

Mirror Problem With D3D (But Not In Ogl)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 23 2021 - 01:42 PM

Hello,

When I use OpenGL (v2) I have no problem, but with the D3D (v2) rasterizer my mirrors reflect the objects that are positioned next to me, and not behind...  o_O

What is this problem please?

Thank you! :)

Attached Files



#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 23 2021 - 09:06 PM

From the GPL FAQ at http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=3714


Quote

Mirrors pointed up, upside down or to one side of the track
1- This happens in OpenGL (not in D3D) with the latest nVidia drivers (after about 52.16) which work fine but the buffer flipping mode needs to be set to block transfer. This is no longer the default in the 52.16 drivers.  Control Panel > Display > Settings > Advanced > your card tab > OpenGL > Buffer Flipping Mode > use block transfer.

This was written long ago. I don't know what graphics device you're using, but in nVidia Inspector, you'll find in the "Other" section > Buffer Flipping mode and I have it set at OGL_FORCE_BLIT_OFF

Is it possible that you're using very old drivers for your card?

EDIT - Oops, I see you are NOT having this occur with OpenGL. However, this might give a hint to the fix. Otherwise, I don't know.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Feb 23 2021 - 09:31 PM.


#3 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 02:22 AM

Thanks, I haven't thought about the settings for the nvidia driver, I'll have a look this way.
I did indeed make appropriate settings for Opengl.  I'll test D3D with the default nvidia settings to see...

I have the last drivers version for nVidia RTX 2070 Super.
(Windows 10, laptop i7).

#4 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 04:01 AM

With the default nvidia options, that doesn't work either.
But the problem is related to nvidia because when I run the game by forcing the use of the Intel GPU: everything is fine with the mirrors (but low perf).

I noticed something else in D3D: the menus are slow, but it may not be related to my mirror problem.


At the moment it doesn't matter, I usually use OGL, it's clean and much smoother.
But I wanted to test with D3D to have a troubleshooting solution in case of OGL problem.

#5 Saiph

Saiph

    Driving 4 Team BDS #JC4PM

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. simulations, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 10:28 AM

Here's a bit of a shot in the dark which I can't guarantee, but it may help.

When the Sports/GT mod first came out, some people (including me) had problems with the mirrors in some of the cars. I haven't heard anything about mirror problems with other mods, but your pics obviously show that there's a problem somewhere. Firstly, which mod are you using? Is that the original 1967 F1 carset, or are you using the 1967 Historical Mod V2, or maybe the 1966 cars?

To fix my mirror problems with the Sports/GT mod, I had to change a couple of settings in GEM. Maybe you could try the same changes to see if they help?

( 1 ) Bring up the main GEM screen, then click on the "Rasteriser" button on the right.

( 2 ) At the bottom of the dialogue box, below the "Mirror Size" option, you should see two more drop-down boxes.

( 3 ) Before the Sports/GT mod came out, I had these two settings showing "Run ZBuffer in separate thread" (top box), and "Basic ZBuffer" (bottom box). This option seemed to be very efficient as it allowed the renderer to use a separate CPU thread to help the screen-drawing process. BUT, when I installed the Sports/GT mod, I had a couple of the cars showing images in the mirrors which were upside-down.

( 4 ) To get things running properly again, I had to change the two settings to "Use ZBuffer" (top box), and "Zbuffer with grouping" (bottom box). That fixed the mirror problems, and I've been running GPL with those settings ever since.

Try experimenting with those two settings and see if it helps your mirror problems. :crossfingers: I hope it works.

Edited by Saiph, Feb 24 2021 - 10:32 AM.


#6 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 11:00 AM

Thank you for your help.
I am using the original 67 in version 1.3 (GPLc67.exe).

And I tested all the possibilities you mention here, it took me at least 1 hour :)
But nothing... :(

I have to look for the options of nVidia-Profil-Inspector, but here it will take me a lot of time, the options are numerous :o

#7 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 12:10 PM

Recently had bizarre graphics issue of mips not being displayed at Monza67, leaving large primary color rectangles where trees were supposed to be.

The solution was to turn all graphics options off in-game, close and open GPL, get on track, close GPL, open GPL, turn all options on, close and open GPL.

Someone here, sorry I forget who atm, recalled this solution worked in the past.
Which it did first try.

Maybe take a shot at turning mirror options off and on between re-starts?

#8 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 01:29 PM

Alekhine,

have you tried these settings already?
http://www.gplworld....tallation-guide

#9 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 01:53 PM

View PostStefan Roess, on Feb 24 2021 - 01:29 PM, said:

Alekhine,

have you tried these settings already?
http://www.gplworld....tallation-guide

thank you,
Yes I tested both (moderate and high-res).

it does not change anything.

just now i tested another clean install of GPL on another partition, it's exactly the same, but i discovered two things:

- All the right part of the track is absent from the mirrors, and in particular from the right mirror.

- The image is in "mirror" (lol) mode, on the photo we see the letter N inversed.

Not sure if this points is a known issue for you?

.

Attached Files


Edited by Alekhine, Feb 24 2021 - 01:55 PM.


#10 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 24 2021 - 04:51 PM

View PostJohn Woods, on Feb 24 2021 - 12:10 PM, said:

Maybe take a shot at turning mirror options off and on between re-starts?
tested tonight, but no that does not change.
I have 3 GPL installations on this PC, I have the problem on the 3.
It's since I got this new PC, it seems to me it's an nVidia driver/GPU « problem ».

Tomorrow I will do a clean install in another folder (gpl install 1.08, with my GPL CD), and I will apply the tutorial, then I will start the game in D3D, We will see ...

#11 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 25 2021 - 07:56 AM

So...

I haven't found the exact problem, but I think I know what was causing it.

With this new PC, I did as with the previous laptop: in the internal (W10) graphics configuration, I forced the use of the nVidia GPU for all games, and I set “Autoselect” for the classic applications.

Big mistake, this new PC works with the Optimus system, and you have to let this system do its job, because it can decide that the nVidia GPU is the most suitable, or the INTEL, or both! because they can share graphics tasks (SLI ? not sure).

So this morning I deleted all my specific configurations, I removed and reinstalled the graphics drivers, and I installed a new GPL.
I recovered Players / Tracks / Replay / Pribluda.ini / GPLShift, etc ...

Now I have 60 FPS with D3D or OGL, with mirrors that work perfectly, and very good fluidity in the game.
It's less beautiful with D3D, but I haven't modified the default settings in the drivers yet.

What bothers me is that with D3D on GPL, the PC doesn't use the nVidia GPU :o  (but with OGL yes! )
Well ... it works anyway, including on very big tracks. (I wanted to trap it, but it gives me 60 fps on "37 mile isle of man" and Dundrod... lol)

In this new GPL I haven't tried to force nVidia GPU for D3D, I think I would have the mirror problem again, now I don't touch anything except a good adjustment of the graphics settings...

Thanks everyone for your help, but "I was" the problem, sorry ^^

Attached Files


Edited by Alekhine, Feb 25 2021 - 11:40 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links