Jump to content


- - - - -

66 Mod Issues


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 09:57 AM

Hello all. Trying to get back in the groove after some time away. Have installed 65, 67 and 68 mods with NO issues. Now I've installed the 66 mod twice and have had several issues.

I believe I followed the directions correctly. Deleted the Mods/Gem/66 folder then updated to 2.0 and deleted 66exe and was rebuilt in GEM.

So I go to Zandy and try a race against THE BEST AI GPL and everything goes fine until I have an accident and want to restart the event and not lose my spot on the grid. So I save the game and try to start the race again...It crashes every time. Well it doesn't crash, it just freezes. I have to Ctrl /Alt /Del. I start over and it loads fine, I wipe-out and go to restart the race and freeze.

I've also noticed when I exit the race, and watch what I did wrong, it's choppy. I also see the Brab tyres light up (bright strip). Like I said, all other mods run flawlessly. And the 66 mod runs pretty darn smooth until restart. Can't for the life of me get it to work as it should. I tried changing graphic settings and running the bare minimum and still no love.

I'm running Win7 and OpenGL V2. Nvidia

Any, suggestions, help, or theories are much appreciated.

Thanks!!

Will

Edited by summerski, Jun 14 2020 - 11:45 AM.


#2 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 11:13 AM

Look into your core.ini and change this value

I have

Quote

[ Replay ]
replayMemoryOverride = 128000

range is ~ 98000 to 180000

#3 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 11:42 AM

Thanks Axel. I changed it from 180000 to 128000 and sadly I have the exact same issue. You can tell it wants to load then freezes. May delete mod and player66 again and try one more time.

Much appreciated.

Will

#4 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 02:05 PM

Just an idea - If you have any anti-virus software you should add the entire sierra and GPLSecrets folders to the virus exclusions list.


View Postsummerski, on Jun 14 2020 - 09:57 AM, said:


I've also noticed when I exit the race, and watch what I did wrong, it's choppy. I also see the Brab tyres light up (bright strip).


That's very odd. Any chance you can add a screenshot (use the program FRAPS to get a jpg)

Edited by Bob Simpson, Jun 14 2020 - 02:09 PM.


#5 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 02:31 PM

I think youre on the right track Bob. I got 2 starts before the freeze. Brab tyres sill lighting up like a Christmas tree though.... :)

Thanks for your thoughts.

I turned the Windows firewall off and gave myself all permissions.

Cheers.

https://imgur.com/a/FPBtJR7




Posted Image

Edited by summerski, Jun 14 2020 - 02:38 PM.


#6 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,810 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 02:59 PM

Ah, the problem is that you're using the '66 F1 Tractor mod.  :)

Sorry, but I couldn't resist.

Looks like you've got corrupted .3DO or .mip files for the rear tires...weird.  :idunno:

#7 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 03:30 PM

I have seen that happen before with the brab

Can we identify the texture that is being used instead of the tire tread ?


Paul

#8 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 04:44 PM

So I went for a 3rd install but didn't upgrade to 2.0.... all is working fine except still getting tractor tyres....

Paul, I'll look through the brab tyre files and see what I can come up with.

About to delete gpl and start all over again.

Thanks for suggestions.

Cheers.







Posted Image

Attached Files


Edited by summerski, Jun 14 2020 - 04:46 PM.


#9 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 05:48 PM

Ok I got it. Oddly Zandy was corrupt. I went to Monaco and all was good there so I deleted Zandy and reinstalled it from the disc then re-installed 66.

A few weeks ago I re-grooved Zandy and must have screwed something up. Leave it to me. All good now. Ready to rumble. Love the 66 mod. The most detailed of all the mods.

Thanks,

Will

Edited by summerski, Jun 14 2020 - 05:50 PM.


#10 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 14 2020 - 11:19 PM

Trying to use snow chains for extra traction?

#11 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 05:46 AM

Hang on before you do a complete re-install

The texture being used is from the standard zandvort dat - lftmidl.mip

Does this happen at other tracks ?
If so is the texture on the tires the same ?

Attached Files



#12 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 06:31 AM

You got it Paul. I now remember that after I did the re-groove I had the issue of the crowds and various people standing directly on the track (clipping) so I deleted all the 3do, mip, srb files at Zandy. This solved the clipping problem but must've created more problems....

A complete re-install of the track and I'm back in business.

Thanks!!!!

#13 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 07:20 AM

Glad you are sorted but we still do not know why that happens :)


Have you tried our Zandvoort Multi Season ?
I has different graphics for changing seasons including 66 :)
http://srmz.net/inde...=zandvoort&st=0


Paul

#14 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,810 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 08:45 AM

Makes no sense to me either Paul as the track and car files are totally separate and different.  :idunno:

#15 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 08:54 AM

Yes it has me baffled as well Lee :)

On a few occasions I have seen it happen with other mods too........  but it is always the Brabham.  :think:



Paul

#16 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 11:13 AM

View Postpaul skingley, on Jun 15 2020 - 08:54 AM, said:

Yes it has me baffled as well Lee :)

On a few occasions I have seen it happen with other mods too........  but it is always the Brabham.  :think:



Paul

Yes, we had it with 65 mod on the Brabham.
The tires looked like on the pic above and we also had a wrong mip file on the the steering wheel.
But I don`t remember what the solution was. I did a quick search on Repository forum but I couldn`t find it anymore. But it was for sure an open wheel mod.

#17 Millennium

Millennium

    ErikGPL

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 15 2020 - 01:58 PM

I remember having a helmet texture for a steering wheel once in a particulair Brabham BT11 (red one).
But there was a fix for it indeed.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links