Jump to content


- - - - -

P&G V3.0 - The U.I. Updates (Article Is Up)


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DucFreak

DucFreak

    GTLW - Sound Designer

  • GTLW Crew
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
  • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

Posted Sep 28 2012 - 07:22 AM

Hello everybody, :)

We posted an article in the P&G official website about User Interface changes for v3.0 that, we're certain, both newcomers and old-time users alike will appreciate when the time to enjoy our next release comes.

Power&Glory V3 UI Updates


Cheers!

Edited by DucFreak, Sep 28 2012 - 12:28 PM.


#2 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Sep 28 2012 - 10:11 AM

Cool!!   :artist:

#3 Paddy the Irishman

Paddy the Irishman

    Paddy the Irishman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexhill on Sea, E. Sussex, England
  • Interests:GPL; Model Cars; Photography. Assetto Corsa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2012 - 11:21 AM

Thanks in anticipation to the team. The updates look excellent, but can something be done about the designation of replays ?  - or perhaps I am just stupid ?   :confused:

When I save a replay I get a note of the track on which it was set (fine), then two series of numbers that do not seem to relate to anything - or again, am I just stupid ? :confused:.
  
Is there any way that the details of car in which the lap was done can be set automatically ?

One can go in and "Alter" replay names to take in the name of the car, but it is a chore when one has done a series of laps in different cars, having to go back and forward, altering as you go.

#4 DucFreak

DucFreak

    GTLW - Sound Designer

  • GTLW Crew
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa - Portugal
  • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

Posted Sep 28 2012 - 11:43 AM

View PostPaddy the Irishman, on Sep 28 2012 - 11:21 AM, said:

Thanks in anticipation to the team. The updates look excellent, but can something be done about the designation of replays ?  - or perhaps I am just stupid ?   :confused:

When I save a replay I get a note of the track on which it was set (fine), then two series of numbers that do not seem to relate to anything - or again, am I just stupid ? :confused:.
  
Is there any way that the details of car in which the lap was done can be set automatically ?

One can go in and "Alter" replay names to take in the name of the car, but it is a chore when one has done a series of laps in different cars, having to go back and forward, altering as you go.
Thanks.

Yeah, it's not very practical, you really have to rename the replays (in the replay section), to have it as you say.
The alternative is to use the option "timestamp" replays (btw, the series of numbers are "TRACK-NAME_DATE_HOUR"), but it still isn't what you pretend and will probably clutter in the long-term.

Unfortunately that feature is hard-coded in the game, and we aren't able to alter that.

Edited by DucFreak, Sep 28 2012 - 11:46 AM.


#5 Paddy the Irishman

Paddy the Irishman

    Paddy the Irishman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexhill on Sea, E. Sussex, England
  • Interests:GPL; Model Cars; Photography. Assetto Corsa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2012 - 01:23 PM

Thank you very much for such an immediate reply.  What a pity nothing can be done about it.
I have always had the 'Timestamp' option ticked - now I know what it does !  
I will try what happens next time I drive when I leave it un-ticked.

#6 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Sep 28 2012 - 06:00 PM

Thanks DucFreak and team

#7 aSa

aSa

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

Posted Sep 29 2012 - 03:58 AM

View PostPaddy the Irishman, on Sep 28 2012 - 11:21 AM, said:

Is there any way that the details of car in which the lap was done can be set automatically ?

One can go in and "Alter" replay names to take in the name of the car, but it is a chore when one has done a series of laps in different cars, having to go back and forward, altering as you go.

Not exactly what you're looking for but close: VcrSaver (in NoGrip). A tool of mine which will get an update soon (with some minor adjustments, as soon as PnGv3 finishes).

That tool is designed to automatically rename HOTLAPS while running in the background.  Please note that it also has a manual "rename all existing files function" in its menu system which will also rename the remaining "full race" replays with the same name template (because they are difficult to separate from the real hotlaps).

The names will become like:  "Ahvenisto 911ST25 0135608.vcr" or "70Kyalami JAGUAR_MKI_34 0148553.vcr"   i.e. trackname shortcarid time.  And the time is like: mmssttt  where m stands for minutes, s for seconds and t for 1/1000 secs.

If you want to know more I can be more specific.


cheers.. aSa  C[_]

#8 Paddy the Irishman

Paddy the Irishman

    Paddy the Irishman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexhill on Sea, E. Sussex, England
  • Interests:GPL; Model Cars; Photography. Assetto Corsa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 29 2012 - 04:48 AM

Thank you very much aSa. That looks more or less exactly what I was looking for.

I haven't been driving P&G that much lately (F2 and Canam got in the way) but I used to take different cars around the same track in one session and it was annoying to have to go back in and name as I did not have a clue as to which was which otherwise.

Just about to download and try it out.

#9 aSa

aSa

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:P&G for GTR2

Posted Sep 29 2012 - 09:19 AM

The car models that are NOT recognized by that tool will get their names in a very weird looking form, like: "Magny-Cours Club [74001_TC70_BMW] 0046159.vcr".  Also tracks might get that "[internal name]" in some cases.  The newer version I'm still holding will be a little better with recognizing track names.


cheers.. aSa C[_]




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links