Jump to content


Bug Report And Fixes


  • Please log in to reply
222 replies to this topic

#21 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted May 03 2017 - 03:11 PM

Sid,

For Zandy, I have the AI speed set to .93 in GEM and they are lapping 1:41's - 1:44. My best is a high 1:41. I'm having a blast racing the AI. Super fun and competitive. Can't wait to get back on-line. Glad to see you're still out there. Don't forget, next time you're in NYC, the beers on me.

Will Wus

#22 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 03 2017 - 03:13 PM

View Postgliebzeit, on May 03 2017 - 03:10 PM, said:

Lee, I believe that npt_override = 1.0 within the gpla55.ini file for the 55Mod release.

Good.  :)

#23 Paddy the Irishman

Paddy the Irishman

    Paddy the Irishman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 891 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bexhill on Sea, E. Sussex, England
  • Interests:GPL; Model Cars; Photography. Assetto Corsa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 03 2017 - 03:52 PM

This may be a bug in my driving, but I hope it may be somewhere else, perhaps my computer (?) but the brake deterioration seems way too fast.  At Aintree, even with the 'disc-braked' Vanwall, the brakes will go to red well before the end of an initial standing start lap. (Best (non-Standing start) lap 2.21 so I am not going very fast. Another test,straight out of the pits ,braking in  'normal' fashion saw me "in the red" by the Melling Crosing and staying that way for the rest of a very careful 2.38 lap.  I have checked that my brake is fully off  at calibration and my foot is well clear when driving !  Is this normal ?


Edit - Reading further in the "Physics Information" entry, it appears that it very probably is !!!

Edited by Paddy the Irishman, May 03 2017 - 04:02 PM.


#24 Sid

Sid

    An unlapsed lapsed GPLer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:5 miles from Brooklands
  • Interests:Only the 55 mod will tempt me back onto the track.
    Update: The 55 mod has tempted me back onto the track.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 03 2017 - 04:03 PM

Lee & Will
Thanks I'll give that a go. Strange how you forget these little details in GPL after being away from it for three years.

#25 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,392 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 03 2017 - 05:10 PM

View Postsummerski, on May 03 2017 - 12:27 PM, said:


My only issue is when I race the AI in Novice Mode Only, the pitboard always reads "L1" no matter what lap I'm on. And Prib reads "1" as well the entire race. I've only raced at Zandy and Buenos Aires. Same result on both tracks. I was so bent on fixing the problem, I did a complete reinstall and sadly I got the same result. When I switch back to the 67s,,it works fine.

**Works fine in Intermediate Short

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd be grateful.

THANKS!!!

Will

This a problem when you go to a race, then hit "Accelerated time" to end the practice session.  What you can do is accelerate the time down to 1 minute or so and then let it run out normally.

Edited by Bob Simpson, May 03 2017 - 05:11 PM.


#26 Sid

Sid

    An unlapsed lapsed GPLer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:5 miles from Brooklands
  • Interests:Only the 55 mod will tempt me back onto the track.
    Update: The 55 mod has tempted me back onto the track.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 04 2017 - 04:25 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on May 03 2017 - 05:10 PM, said:

This a problem when you go to a race, then hit "Accelerated time" to end the practice session.  What you can do is accelerate the time down to 1 minute or so and then let it run out normally.

Bob
That worked thanks

#27 summerski

summerski

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted May 04 2017 - 05:36 AM

Quote


This a problem when you go to a race, then hit "Accelerated time" to end the practice session.  What you can do is accelerate the time down to 1 minute or so and then let it run out normally.

Thanks Bob. Works fine now. I also discovered you can hit the button to end practice early and pitboard/prib work fine.... but I start from the back,, where I belong anyway.

Love the mod. The psychics are spot on. This is just what GPL needed. THANKS AGAIN!!!!!

#28 samuelw

samuelw

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted May 09 2017 - 08:46 AM

Just loaded Crystal Palace.  Vanwall front tires treads look like bricks when on track.  Reverts to normal on grass.  Still drives like rubber.  Believe it affects green and silver cars but not the Lancia. Affected front tires look like bricks in replays but not back tires.

#29 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 08:52 AM

Would you please take a few screen captures for us.  Always good to actually see your issue.  Thanks!

#30 samuelw

samuelw

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted May 09 2017 - 11:51 AM

Sorry but taking a screenshot (which I have done), apparently, will require the installation of additional software on my machine as I'm reading Dos exe's wont run in a win 7 64 bit environment?  Further attempts to duplicate the brick tires require the following unlikely sequence:  It happens at Goodwood (not Crystal Palace)  immediately after getting a "cannot load track" for Crystal Palace.  If I load Goodwood without attempting CP first, normal tires.  The first ti,e the tires were yellow brick. The last time more like the texture of concrete blocks.  The tires reverted to normal texture off track and at low speed. Curious.
I'm not bothered, its easily avoided. Just thought you might like to know.

#31 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 12:07 PM

Sam, please try this screen capture software.  All of our Mod Team members use it on various OS.  We run the gamut from XP, Win 7 32-bit / 64-bit, Win 8.1 and Win 10.  No problems or issues encountered.  :)

http://www.fraps.com/

Edited by gliebzeit, May 09 2017 - 12:07 PM.


#32 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 925 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 12:25 PM

I would recommend Bandicam though.

FRAPS isn't being developed anymore, the last update is over three years ago.
Out of personal experience I can say Bandicam is one of the best I have worked with.

#33 samuelw

samuelw

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted May 09 2017 - 01:55 PM

here ya go, I thinkAttached File  gplc55 2017-05-09 15-48-02-44.bmp   5.93MB   50 downloads

#34 samuelw

samuelw

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted May 09 2017 - 02:09 PM

2nd try with bandicamAttached File  gplc55 2017-05-09 16-01-41-945.jpg   111.28K   119 downloads

#35 samuelw

samuelw

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted May 09 2017 - 02:27 PM

Well investigated some more.  If I try to load to load Crystal palace get cannot load track weekend canceled.  Then if I try to go to another track get a variety of different colored  caps on front tires.  If I exit game, return, and avoid Crystal Palace no problem.  Even more odd the colorful tire caps only appear above about 40mph.  Clearly mY CP is haunted and is best avoided.
Let me know if you need more screenshots now that I sorta know how.
Sam

#36 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,640 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 02:48 PM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on May 09 2017 - 12:25 PM, said:

I would recommend Bandicam though.

FRAPS isn't being developed anymore, the last update is over three years ago.
Out of personal experience I can say Bandicam is one of the best I have worked with.

Bandicam looks like a good program.  I think the reason that most of us still use FRAPS is that it is free...at least for the version that saves screenshots as .bmp files which can easily be converted to .jpgs for posting here.  Plus it can show the fps rate on all GPL screen displays.

Sorry I can't help Sam though with his tire texture issue.

Edited by Lee200, May 09 2017 - 02:50 PM.


#37 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 03:11 PM

Did you select snow tires?

#38 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 03:31 PM

:roflmao:  (snow tires)

Sam, investigations underway.  For one thing, the '55 Crystal Palace files have not been released yet.  That can be crossed off the list.   :cool:
My first suggestion is to un-install the Crystal Palace track completely, then re-boot and install it again.

Edited by gliebzeit, May 12 2017 - 12:03 PM.


#39 Gartner

Gartner

    Jo Gartner - Helmuth Koinigg - Hermann P. Müller Karl Kling

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GP History, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 03:33 PM

View PostPete Gaimari, on May 09 2017 - 03:11 PM, said:

Did you select snow tires?

It looks exactly like that. :blink:

#40 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2017 - 05:48 PM

That's the driver suit on the tires. :rolleyes:
Looks more like Crystal ball palace... :wizard:




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links