Jump to content


- - - - -

New GEM Package ready


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#81 davef

davef

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Auto Racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 09 2016 - 01:35 PM

View PostAndreh, on Oct 08 2016 - 05:49 PM, said:

not being able to download gem, shows a dead page. :(

Try this :)

http://gem.autosimsport.net/

#82 Andreh

Andreh

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Interests:Pre-80's racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 09 2016 - 01:50 PM

much better, thanx Dave.
Always sad when a GPL site vanishes.

#83 Roo

Roo

    Jim Clark student

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France 77
  • Interests:climbing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2016 - 04:50 AM

I have a new GPL install on my re-built pc. I have copied my tracks & seasons folders from my backup.

GEM's season manager does not list all tracks in my tracks folder, there are only 16 listed: the original tracks + east london, clermont & the last 2 tracks I raced at, rhesketh & montlh66.
where does GEM read it's track list from?


GEM 2.5.32

#84 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,999 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2016 - 05:38 AM

View PostRoo, on Oct 17 2016 - 04:50 AM, said:

I have a new GPL install on my re-built pc. I have copied my tracks & seasons folders from my backup.

GEM's season manager does not list all tracks in my tracks folder, there are only 16 listed: the original tracks + east london, clermont & the last 2 tracks I raced at, rhesketh & montlh66.
where does GEM read it's track list from?


GEM 2.5.32

It reads a file called "SGEM.INI" to get its track list. (On my Win 10 PC this file is stored in C:\Users\Public\Documents\GEM+\.) After copying your tracks across, did you click on the SGEM button near the bottom-right of the season manager to update the SGEM.INI file? That could be the problem.

Edited by Saiph, Oct 17 2016 - 05:47 AM.


#85 Roo

Roo

    Jim Clark student

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France 77
  • Interests:climbing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2016 - 07:34 AM

yeh, I updated sgem. it didn't change anything.
I notice also that in GEM, the 67season drop down list, there are only those 16 tracks but if I expand the season file in the season manager, there are 64 tracks shown.
if I open 67season.ini with notepad there are 64 tracks listed.

#86 Roo

Roo

    Jim Clark student

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France 77
  • Interests:climbing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2016 - 10:30 AM

i deleted the tracks folder & pasted in a new one & now it works :idunno:

#87 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,387 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2016 - 11:04 AM

I wonder how that fixed it.  I assume that you didn't actually delete the whole \Sierra\GPL\tracks folder or you'd have lost all the downloaded tracks that you installed.  Did you rename it and then copy back all the tracks contained in that folder?  Or did you have a back up copy of that folder?

#88 Roo

Roo

    Jim Clark student

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France 77
  • Interests:climbing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 21 2016 - 12:22 AM

Bob, I deleted the entire tracks folder then I copied the tracks folder from my backup.

At the time I was also looking at other things to solve the problem, e.g. the gpl.exe version.
If I run gplinspect on my gplc exes, they all say gpl1.2.0.2 not 1.3 so I also ran the gpl v1.3 patch again too.

I guess this might have done something to help too but I don't know what & I can't remember whether I ran the patch before or after deleting/pasting the tracks folder.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links