Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
401 replies to this topic

#1 ferraif40

ferraif40

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 05 2007 - 01:40 AM

Hi

Bassically how do you make a track for GPL 1998?

Jon

#2 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 05 2007 - 02:35 AM

A good question.  One that unfortunately could take years to fully explain.

You can get up and running with this tutorial relatively quickly though:
GPLEA Track Creating Tutorial

Some notes:
trk23dow is no longer used.  The latest version is trk23doz, which requires a different format for the .tso file (the purpose of this file is outlined in the tutorial)

Some other useful programs (attempt the tutorial first before progressing to these!!)
GTK Alt
http://gplea.rscsite...alt/gtkalt.html
Allows graphical editing of the altitude traces in your track

GTK Maker
http://gplea.rscsite...r/gtkmaker.html
Makes a .gtk file that can be opened in GPLTrack from an image.

If you have trouble finding any of the programs you need, search on these forums, or ask, you should be able to find them!

Any questions, feel free to ask.

#3 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 01 2007 - 09:41 AM

I have always been interested in learning to build a track. With the recent masterpiece addition of Brno 1949, Thanks to Sergio and the team,  I have been inspired. I would love to be able to do that.

A couple of problems:

I have been through the tutorial, once using trk23dow, but couldn't bring my track up in GPL to drive on it, it doesn't even show up as you scroll through.

Then I started again using trk23doz in place of dow as I went through the tutorial, but it seems that it was not written for doz as there is no trk23doz.cfg. Are the two programs interchagable in the tutorial ?

I would really like to be able to give something back to the GPL community, and I think I will really enjoy this, any help would be appreciated.

#4 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,622 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 02 2007 - 06:34 PM

Tidge, don't worry about the trk23doz.cfg , it can run with default values.
The difference between dow and doz are the diferent way of write the tso file and the presence of a new file with the extention hsv that has 16 triplets of values separated by a tab on a single row for every track section.
You can just build one full of "0 0 255"  :)


example of  dow tso file:

# Trackside 'Sets': 61
Set List
[ 0]:, 3, 5.0, -4.6, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, starter
[ 1]:, 3, 9.0, -24.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, tree4
[ 2]:, 3, 12.0, -26.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, tree8
[ 3]:, 3, 14.0, -24.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, tree6



example of  doz tso file for the same track:

Trackside Objects
obj 3 5 -4.6 0 0 0 0 1 starter
obj 3 9 -24 0 0 0 0 1 tree4
obj 3 12 -26 0 0 0 0 1 tree8
obj 3 14 -24 0 0 0 0 1 tree6


HSV example for 4 sections:

0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255



About the fact that your track doesn't even shows up in gpl is because you have to insert the reference values in the season.ini file in gpl/seasons directory; open it and you'll see what i mean.

There's a track building guide on autosimsport called: Track Building with Lou Magyar   in three parts , the first part ins in the number january 2006, scroll down the page and  you'll find it, it will give you lots of hints, specially will tell you the real meanings of different track surfaces( a must have!)  ; even if I think now you can build things in a more simple way.

Ask if you don't get something, I'll try to help you out ;)

Edited by Ginetto, Dec 02 2007 - 06:51 PM.


#5 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 03 2007 - 03:33 AM

Thank you Ginetto, for the info, the link, and your fast response. I will try again.  I want to get this part working before delving further into this massive endeavor. I'm sure I will have more questions and I see from your signature you are working on Targa Florio, WOW what a project. You are obviously one of the right people to ask for help, Thanks.

#6 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Dec 03 2007 - 06:04 AM

View PostTidge, on Dec 3 2007, 09:33 AM, said:

You are obviously one of the right people to ask for help, Thanks.
Have a look at what other lovely goodies he has done over HERE.


:wave:

#7 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 03 2007 - 03:18 PM

View Postdangermouse, on Dec 3 2007, 07:04 AM, said:

View PostTidge, on Dec 3 2007, 09:33 AM, said:

You are obviously one of the right people to ask for help, Thanks.
Have a look at what other lovely goodies he has done over HERE.


:wave:

Thanks for that Dangermouse, Monza Junior is the only one of those I didn't already have. It's in my Download Manager now. My track folder has 282 tracks, all road courses. I would love to be able to give back to the community for all the thrills I've had on these tracks.

This is what I enjoy about this forum, there is always someone willing to help, I have never been left hanging, unlike some other forums.  Point is, Ginetto is obviously a gifted track builder and involved in some really big projects, but still takes time to answer a question on the forum from a relative newbie. You guys are awesome.  Thanks again.

Edited by Tidge, Dec 03 2007 - 03:19 PM.


#8 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 10:56 AM

After adding the necessary files from Silver to "mytrack" at the end of the first part of the tutorial, I pulled up my DOS command and typed the line using "doz" instead of "dow" and it went straight to trk23doz.  After selecting mytrack.gtk , the information window shows mytrack, but when I select "compile"  it reads:

Could not open .DAT
Could not open .N3D
Could not open .HSV
Could not open .TXT
Some files are missing, read-only, or in use by another application.  TRK23DOZ may not function correctly, but it will have a go...

I have a DAT file that I got from Silver.dat and I made and .HSV file as shown above, but there is no .N3D file or .TXT file.

Also I have added mytrack to the 67season and gp ini files but mytrack still does not show up.

However, If I open GEM season manager, mytrack shows up in the left column but will not allow me to make it active in the right column.

Edited by Tidge, Dec 08 2007 - 11:03 AM.


#9 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 11:29 AM

Hi Tidge.

.N3D, .TXT and .DAT are not necessary to compile a track.

Check that your files are not being saved with a .txt extension, e.g. mytrack.hsv.txt rather than mytrack.hsv

In explorer go to tools>folder options then under the view tab uncheck "hide extensions for known file types" to see if this is the case.

Remember the HSV file must have 1 line per track section, and each line must contain 16 '0 0 255' entries.

Once you are sure everything is correctly named and formatted run trk23doz again (BTW, only version W is run from the command line)

It will output an .N3D or .3DO depending on whether the "Save as 3DO (Not N3D)" option is selected.  They are the same file, but the N3D must be changed to 3DO for your track to work.


Quick summary:
To compile track
<trackname>.HSV
<trackname>.TSO (can be blank)
<trackname>.TEX
<trackname>.SET
<trackname>.FB
<trackname>.GRV (can be blank)
<trackname>.INI
<trackname>.GTK
<trackname>.TRK
And any 3do files referenced in the .TSO file.

To run track
Track.ini (same as <trackname>.ini)
<trackname>.TRK
<trackname>.3DO
All 3dos required (including horiz.3do!)
All mips and srbs required
page0.pbf (program cover)

Edited by pirenzo, Dec 08 2007 - 11:36 AM.


#10 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 12:07 PM

Thanks for that Pirenzo.  The "hide extensions" box was checked and I only had 6 sections in my .hsv instead of 7.   This time it compiled okay and created 3do.  Still no track to drive.  GEM allowed me to install it in the season manager, but it's not there when you scroll through the tracks in testing mode.

#11 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 12:23 PM

DUH,  no page0.pbf.   Silver now shows up in the seasons but "Could not load track" when selected.

My track.ini is a PreGem file, is that a problem ?

Also I don't have any .srb files, which ones are required ?

#12 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 02:23 PM

You won't necessarily need any.

.mip and .srb are image files related to 3dos.

In your .TEX file you will have specified something like

0 0 0 10 10 error
1 0 0 10 10 asphalt
2 0 0 10 10 concrete
4 0 0 10 10 grass
2056 0 0 10 10 armco
2056 0 1 10 10 armco
etc

The string names (armco, error, concrete, etc) are the mips you need.

Horiz.3do is needed, along with its mips normally sky.mip, ground.mip and horiz01 through to 11
I am assuming for now that you have no objects referenced in your .tso file, in which case these should be all the mips and 3dos that you need.

I've attached a full set of horizon files

EDIT: You should have track.ini AND track.ini.PreGEM now.  The PreGEM one is GEM+2's backup, which it must have made from the original!

Attached Files


Edited by pirenzo, Dec 08 2007 - 02:25 PM.


#13 Tidge

Tidge

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Interests:GPL, F1, Private Pilot, R/C Pilot

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 02:43 PM

Thanks for your responses Pirenzo, I am correcting as we go along. I am downloading the zip now, but I do not have a track.ini, where can I get one ?

#14 pirenzo

pirenzo

    TwoPedalsOneFoot

  • Staff Crew
  • 2,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Interests:GPL (of course), rock and progressive/experimental rock.
    Enjoy many motorsports as well as football and a passing interest in a dozen other sports as well.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 02:56 PM

borrow one from another track and edit it to suit yours for the time being, but there is a whole section in the GPLEA tutorial on how to write your own.

The important sections for the time being are:
[ track ]
track_name = Birmingham Superprix Circuit
track_name_short = Birmingham
track_num_turns = 11
track_length = 2.467m
Basic information that shows up on the event info screen and program set

[ pit_lane_0 ]
lane_on_right = 0			; 0 if lane on left, 1 if on right
lane_has_wall = 1			; 0 if no pit wall, 1 if pit wall exists
lane_bounds_dlong = 0.0 287.748	; start/end dlong of the pit lane
lane_bounds_dlat = 30.00 6.00		; start/end dlat of the pit lane
pit_board = 6.0 130.0 -100.0 100.0	; dlat of board, dlong of board, dlong LOS start, dlong LOS end (last 2 not used)
stall_0 = 183.6 18.5
stall_1 = 175.4 18.5
stall_2 = 167.2 18.5
stall_3 = 159.0 18.5
stall_4 = 151.8 18.5
stall_5 = 142.6 18.5
stall_6 = 108.1 16.0
stall_7 = 99.9 16.0
stall_8 = 91.7 16.0
stall_9 = 83.5 16.0
stall_10 = 75.7 16.0
stall_11 = 67.5 16.0
stall_12 = 59.4 16.0
stall_13 = 51.2 16.0
stall_14 = 43.0 16.0
stall_15 = 34.8 16.0
stall_16 = 191.8 17.5
stall_17 = 200.0 17.5
stall_18 = 208.2 17.5
stall_19 = 216.4 17.0


[ starting_grid_0 ]
 ; 2x2 staggered grid
 ; polesitter on right
 ; track length is <3974.47>
 ; grid front center at <3974,0>
 ; width between boxes  3.00
stall_0 = 3970 -1.50
stall_1 = 3970 1.50
stall_2 = 3955 -1.50
stall_3 = 3955 1.50
stall_4 = 3940 -1.50
stall_5 = 3940 1.50
stall_6 = 3925 -1.50
stall_7 = 3925 1.50
stall_8 = 3900 -1.50
stall_9 = 3900 1.50
stall_10 = 3885 -1.50
stall_11 = 3885 1.50
stall_12 = 3860 -1.50
stall_13 = 3860 1.50
stall_14 = 3845 -1.50
stall_15 = 3845 1.50
stall_16 = 3820 -1.50
stall_17 = 3820 1.50
stall_18 = 3805 -1.50
stall_19 = 3805 1.50
Pit lane and starting grid locations

#15 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,622 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2007 - 03:14 PM

Without track.ini you have a can't load track error ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links