Guy Ligier

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Interests:Judo, Chess, Sim racing...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2017 - 02:59 AM

Hi All,

I am new to SRMZ, so again hello everybody !
I used to drive on GPL on an irregular basis since 3 to 4 years, and just reached a pretty poor rank of 152 :).

I changed my old wheel for a G920 with last week, and I am a bit struggeling with the bloody hard brake pedal.
It is easy to tweak the braking range in other games like lfs, in order to reach max braking point before it gets too hard.
I tried to do the same calibrating the pedal axis in gpl (e.g. not pressing the pedal at the maximum during calibration, or playing with the tringle cursor) but I did not manage anything.

Has someone an idea about how to set the braking range in gpl?
I understand what's the cursor for the wheel calibration, it set the neutral/centre point. But what is the cursor doing for the pedal calibration?

Many thanks for your help!

#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

The answer man

• 2,229 posts

Posted Aug 11 2017 - 12:07 PM

I'm not familiar with the G920, but I have a G25 with a load cell.  My procedure is:

After unplugging/plugging in the wheel/pedals unit, it goes through it's self calibration for the wheel.

At any time before I go into the calibration window in GPL, I have to press the brake pedal it's full range.  That's a pretty hard stomp on the brake.  If I don't do that, the calibration is unreliable in GPL.

In the GPL calibration window (sounds like you already do this), I press to a certain number on the scale - 130 usually.  If I want a lighter touch for full braking, I'd go to 120 or so.

#3 shomke

shomke

Guy Ligier

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted Aug 13 2017 - 07:31 AM

Thanks Bob,
I tried again few times. Strangely, when i don't press the pedal to its full range in the GPL calibration window then my brakes gets very weak in game...
I think I will just live with it, waiting for a new pedal rubber from 3DRap :)