Jump to content


* * * * * 3 votes

GPL 60 fps patch version 1 released


  • Please log in to reply
326 replies to this topic

#31 Luis Babboni

Luis Babboni

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paraná, Argentina.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:28 AM

Thank you brr!!!!

I try it and I note the more great difference in the smoothly movement of the TSOs.
Just looking at the road Im not sure, but I think that the movement are smoothly too.
But in some turns, I note that the screen appears to be divided near the half of its height. Like the things move first its down half than its upper half.

:clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:

Edited by José Raúl Capanegra, Mar 02 2009 - 06:29 AM.


#32 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:35 AM

From the readme:

* 60 fps is compatible online only with 60 fps servers. Make sure the server is patched for 60 fps before joining.


-> if a server is patched for 60 fps, will then only 60 fps patched clients will be able to join or both (patched and unpatched)?

#33 vosblod - guest

vosblod - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:42 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Mar 2 2009, 12:35 PM, said:

From the readme:
* 60 fps is compatible online only with 60 fps servers. Make sure the server is patched for 60 fps before joining.
-> if a server is patched for 60 fps, will then only 60 fps patched clients will be able to join or both (patched and unpatched)?

Stefan, both can join unfortunately and you will get problems if they mix. What I did was put 60fps warning signs on IGOR and password protect it

#34 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:43 AM

Thx for the feedback vosblod.

Must have overlooked this in the readme  :dont_mention:



MULTIPLAYER

Those considering hosting 60 fps races should make sure that everyone joining is using the 60 fps patch. Currently unpatched GPL is not compatible with 60 fps online. Joining is technically possible, but driving does not work properly when on track. Please do not join a 60 fps server with unpatched GPL, and vice versa. It may cause problems for others on track.


#35 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 07:12 AM

VROC users attention. If you join a 60 fps server using VROC, please make sure that gpl.exe is patched for 60 fps. GEM+ will not patch gpl.exe, but instead produces gplc67.exe. VROC does not use the patched exe automatically. Either rename the gplc67.exe to gpl.exe, or launch VROC from GEM+.

#36 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 08:30 AM

Replays don't work with the GPLRA, contrary to what the README says. I forgot that the replay header has been changed in preparation for a future version of GPLRA. I'll try to write a patch to make the current version of GPLRA to (partly) work with the replays.

#37 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 10:59 AM

View PostDennisT, on Mar 2 2009, 08:07 AM, said:

Ken
Where do I look?

In your graphics card settings. You should at least have a basic settings tool installed with the drivers but try this for more enhanced control.

http://downloads.gur...oad.php?det=733

#38 Fast Tommi

Fast Tommi

    ...creature of the night ;-)

  • Moderator
  • 999 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:germany
  • Interests:GPL, of course!!!
    Music.
    My 76 Beetle convertible
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 12:53 PM

Amazing -
this really make a big difference.

Thank you very very much!!!  :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:  


tommi :bat:

#39 Kanzo

Kanzo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Helsinki
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 01:36 PM

View PostDennisT, on Mar 2 2009, 06:07 AM, said:

The only thing I have noticed is this "wobbly " area which I can't seem to get a screen grab of.

It is there when running at 36fps but it is more noticable at 60fps, it seems to give these areas a "wobbly" look, I presume it is pixillation (if that is the word).

The area this happened for me during testing is telephone/power lines at Spa between Malmedy & Masta or indeed even in the trees at L'Eau Rouge on the left, it seems to be at that height all across the screen even at IOM in the trees especially going around corners at speed.


I think I know what you´re talking about. I got that with the new rasterizers and OGLv2. I was using 162.18 drivers. I just tried to upgrade my drivers. 175.16 were useless for me with all kind of graphics trouble (could have been because of some basic setting but I was too impatient to try all possible combinations in nVidia control panel) but then I tried 163.75 and everything works now perfectly both in 36 and 60 fps. No "wobbling" any more.  :thumbup:

I´ve got a GeForce 7600 GT.

#40 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 01:52 PM

GPLRA for hosts of online races added to first post. Please do not report incorrect values when analyzing 60 fps laps, this is a known problem. The only thing expected to work correctly with 60 fps replays is generating race reports. Proper 60 fps GPLRA will come later.

#41 White_Knuckles

White_Knuckles

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 02:23 PM

View Postbrr, on Mar 1 2009, 07:35 AM, said:

The patch modifies GPL to run at a maximum 60 frames per second instead of the original maximum 36 frames per second. If you use an LCD monitor or a projector, are running GPL with Vista, or would prefer higher fps, then try the patch.

Please read the included README very carefully, since there are certain issues everyone using the patch should be aware of. If you have problems which the README (or Bob Simpson's GPL FAQ) does not answer, read this thread and look for the answer. If there is still a problem, post it here with all the relevant information.

UPDATE: current version of GPLRA does not open 60 fps replays due to different header information in the replays. Below is a patched version, the only change is to accept 60 fps replays. It will not analyze 60 fps laps correctly, so please do not report back on this. It is intended for those hosting online races, since 60 fps race reports are generated correctly. A proper update to GPLRA is in the works.

This is a fabulous mod. I've been running it in the 66 mod, at Brands. (A particular favourite) I can really start to hustle my P83. I use a G25 and it really feels good, I can catch a slide quicker and not lose momentum so easily.

My laptimes are in the same area, but consistency will certainly be better.

I look forward for the AI solution.

So Smooth...

Don't give up on this major improvement (GPL for the 21st century)

With Thanks Steve T :thumbup:

#42 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,727 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 02:45 PM

View PostKanzo, on Mar 2 2009, 07:36 PM, said:

............. I just tried to upgrade my drivers. 175.16 were useless for me with all kind of graphics trouble (could have been because of some basic setting but I was too impatient to try all possible combinations in nVidia control panel) but then I tried 163.75 and everything works now perfectly both in 36 and 60 fps. No "wobbling" any more.  :thumbup:
I´ve got a GeForce 7600 GT.

That's interesting Kanzo. I tried the 60FPS patch today, and I can't get it to work satisfactorily at all. Previously, with the OpenGL v2 rasterizer and 175.16 drivers, I could run at 1280x1024 with 32-bit colour, full anisotropic and trilinear filtering, 4x anti-aliasing and all the other nice bells and whistles, and everything was nice and smooth, even at Monaco Rocks. Pribluda usually floated at about 33-36 FPS.

With the 60FPS patch in place, Pribluda tells me that I'm getting better framerates, but all my eyes see is the scenery jerking left and right every time I go around a corner. With Vsync, Prib says I'm getting  ~42/43 FPS (obviously this is locked to half my refresh rate, which is 85Hz). Without Vsync, it says I'm getting between 50-60 FPS. But my eyes totally disagree. As I'm going round Curva Grande at Monza, the tree textures seems to be scrolling to the left at about 2 FPS! Very strange.  :confused:

I've just found the 163.75 drivers by Googling for them (they're so old that I couldn't find them directly on the nVidia website!) and I'll try installing them and see what happens. But if (as I suspect) some of my other games/software breaks, I'll be reverting to 175.16 and turning off the 60FPS patch. I just hope that if I want to try on-line racing in future that I can find an unpatched server and unpatched drivers to drive with.

#43 lonestarr

lonestarr

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 03:10 PM

Very awesome BRR! Thanks for all your work.

I have a bug to report though:
Using the step by step instructions, i tried to install the patch. Here's what i have done:

- Install GEM+
- copy the patch into that options folder
- start GEM+
- check the checkbox for the patch
- hit the offline racing button on the far right ->> the game starts, but i cannot hit the green button to turn to practice or anything else but MP

so i renamed the exe to gpl.exe, but to no avail. If i start with iGor or VROC i get the 36fps edition (prolly to do with linking with the proper exe - i will have to look into that again)

Now how i got it to run:
- same steps as before, but checked the "patch carset for carsound". and now it works. Wierd though. Also, is there a way to get the old sounds back? the sounds i have now sound pityful. or do the sounds i have now only now really reflect how they should sound in the engine? whatever engine sound pack i ever used it sounded the same. So i might want to convert back to get the old ones?

Edited by lonestarr, Mar 02 2009 - 03:12 PM.


#44 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 03:20 PM

View Postlonestarr, on Mar 2 2009, 11:10 PM, said:

Very awesome BRR! Thanks for all your work.

I have a bug to report though:
Using the step by step instructions, i tried to install the patch. Here's what i have done:

- Install GEM+
- copy the patch into that options folder
- start GEM+
- check the checkbox for the patch
- hit the offline racing button on the far right ->> the game starts, but i cannot hit the green button to turn to practice or anything else but MP

Does GPL work if you do the above without checking 60 fps patch?

#45 lonestarr

lonestarr

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 04:05 PM

View Postbrr, on Mar 2 2009, 04:20 PM, said:

Does GPL work if you do the above without checking 60 fps patch?

It does work when i uncheck the 60fps patch and leave the sound mod on. when i uncheck both i cannot access training, single race or championship, but only multiplayer.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links