Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
487 replies to this topic

#81 dangermouse

dangermouse

    The mobile chicane

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SRMZ/GPLR London, UK
  • Interests:Errrrrr, GPL? :-)
    Music , computing, hi-fi, motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 23 2009 - 01:53 PM

View PostJackseller, on Mar 23 2009, 07:34 PM, said:

It's weird, when i look for my "sent messages" folder, there is nothing inside so i'm never sure if the pm was really sent.
You have to tick the box if you want to save a message ;)

#82 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 23 2009 - 02:17 PM

Ah yes, you're right :).

I thought it was configured by default.

#83 Luis Babboni

Luis Babboni

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paraná, Argentina.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 24 2009 - 04:28 PM

Well... just today I can try the trk23doz, and... and...

IT WORKS!!

Well, at least as I see, and sure Im wrong  :P , now I know the tools I need and, more or less, how they work...

Then it is time to start to work with care.

Thanks and see you.
:thumbup:

#84 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 25 2009 - 01:32 PM

Another question.

About the hsv, is there a way to use the shadow from right to left ? Only left to right seems possible.

#85 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 25 2009 - 03:15 PM

The HSV shadows are applied at the intersection of the start of the section and the trace.
The effect is radiant from that point: to the end of the section and the start of the previous one longitudinally, and to the traces next to it laterally.
See the pic where i applied to the 11th trace of the 4th section (as you see in GTK) a dark value
and the in game result where the grass on the hill has a point of shadow that fades all around it
Attached File  pic1.jpg   144.23K   372 downloads

It all depends on how far are the traces from each other; if the darken trace have a trace very close on one side and a trace very far away on the other, the effect will look unbalanced
even if in an absolute way is always the same from one trace and the ones next to it.
Hope it makes sense :P

Edited by Ginetto, Mar 25 2009 - 03:21 PM.


#86 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 26 2009 - 10:39 AM

Of course it makes sense  :D .

But i don't understand very well Guru's explanations because of my english. I'm a little lost.
In your answer, you say than you can apply the shadow on a specified trace, not only the first one.

An exemple :

0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255

Here, each line corresponds to 3 sections. The first one has a shadow value applied to the first trace.
My question : what i have to do to apply shadow value to the... 4th trace for exemple ? Do i have to repeat the entire line in the same line for each trace ?

Edited by Jackseller, Mar 26 2009 - 10:42 AM.


#87 Border Reiver - guest

Border Reiver - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 26 2009 - 12:57 PM

View PostJackseller, on Mar 26 2009, 04:39 PM, said:

Of course it makes sense  :D .

But i don't understand very well Guru's explanations because of my english. I'm a little lost.
In your answer, you say than you can apply the shadow on a specified trace, not only the first one.

An exemple :

0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 160 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255
0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255 0 0 255

Here, each line corresponds to 3 sections. The first one has a shadow value applied to the first trace.
My question : what i have to do to apply shadow value to the... 4th trace for exemple ? Do i have to repeat the entire line in the same line for each trace ?

Ginetto will be able to confirm this for sure, but my understanding is that in your example above you are applying shading to traces 0-4 in the first of those three sections you have listed, but not anywhere else.

Each triplet of numbers corresponds to one trace, i.e. one group of 0 0 160 is the value for one trace, the next 0 0 255 is the value for the next trace and so on. There are sixteen of these triplets in each line because you can have a maximum of 16 traces per section and you can apply shading at each trace/section end junction.

In all cases you use one line per section of track, so your hsv file should have the same number of lines as the total number of sections in your track, and each of these lines should contain 16 sets of 3 numbers, one set of three per trace.

I hope this helps.

Rob

#88 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 26 2009 - 01:19 PM

View PostBorder Reiver, on Mar 26 2009, 07:57 PM, said:

Each triplet of numbers corresponds to one trace

This is where my english misled me.

When Guru wrote "As you may have guessed, you need to type one triple for each trace.section", i thought i have to repeat the entire line three times.

Thanks Border Reiver, i'm going to try your tip ;).

#89 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 26 2009 - 01:48 PM

It works perfectly now.

Thanks a lot guys !  :thumbup:

#90 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 26 2009 - 05:29 PM

Here is how I work with HSV

Attached Files



#91 Luis Babboni

Luis Babboni

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paraná, Argentina.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 28 2009 - 03:46 PM

View PostGinetto, on Mar 16 2009, 09:11 AM, said:

To create 3do for the srb graphic files you use:
srb23do

Where can I found it?

Thanks.

#92 Luis Babboni

Luis Babboni

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paraná, Argentina.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 28 2009 - 03:49 PM

View PostGinetto, on Mar 16 2009, 09:11 AM, said:

To create 3do for the srb graphic files you use:
srb23do

Where can I found it?

Thanks.

#93 Luis Babboni

Luis Babboni

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paraná, Argentina.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 28 2009 - 03:51 PM

Where can I found srb32do?

Thanks.

#94 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 28 2009 - 04:14 PM

It is actually called:
SRB Mini 3do Editor,
srb23do is the name of the icon of the program so I scewed up :rolleyes:

You find all the tools at the GPL Repository> Editing Forums > Editors Hangout > GPL Editing Tools
:wave:

#95 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 29 2009 - 09:41 AM

Ginetto,

You work on Targa Florio and i suppose that you have found an easier way to add objects on the track than the boring routine : excel tso "i add datas" + compilation + "i launch GPL to see the result".

I'm right ? (i hope  :D )

#96 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 29 2009 - 05:15 PM

Well, let's say that I've optimized the way I work and now I imagine pretty well the changes I'm doing before to compile the track.
Consider that when I compile the Targa, it takes around 40 minutes of trk23doZ and then I have to restart the computer because everything got stuck... :rolleyes:

Attached Files


Edited by Ginetto, Mar 29 2009 - 05:18 PM.


#97 Jackseller - guest

Jackseller - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 30 2009 - 10:57 AM

It's time to buy a big new processor with plenty of cores  :lol: .

Fortunately, you don't have to use Trk23doW  :P .

#98 Otavio Silveira

Otavio Silveira

    Keyboard nutter

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campo Mourao - Brazil
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2009 - 06:47 PM

View PostGinetto, on Mar 29 2009, 08:15 PM, said:

Well, let's say that I've optimized the way I work and now I imagine pretty well the changes I'm doing before to compile the track.
not sure if I have the best procedure, but always if possible it is good to analise your track map in GTK to get a close position.

If necessary:
- visual check of GTK file to define the object position
- Excel or any other kind of calculation
- using a screenshot (from the track in GPL or better from the GTK image in GPLTrk) place in a image editor your objects and then apply my first item above.



Ginetto, I wonder your computer will thank after Targa being finished, after all these hardwork to compile multiple times that 3DO (wow, by the other side I have a 6.6km track I am working at where I spend about 5 seconds to compile, of course, not as rich in details as Targa)

#99 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,998 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 31 2009 - 05:06 PM

View PostJackseller, on Mar 30 2009, 04:57 PM, said:

It's time to buy a big new processor with plenty of cores  :lol: .

Fortunately, you don't have to use Trk23doW  :P .

:rofl:   :clap2:

#100 Jhalli

Jhalli

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 02 2009 - 10:34 AM

i tried today trk23doz, its working fine but one thing wondering, it doubles 'track.3do' size

when i compiled my track with trk23dow *.3do was about 4000kb, and trkdoz is about 8000kb.(yes my track is about 6 km long)
All my trk23doz and trkdow files are same files,and i changed even *.TSO file to work with trk23doz.

is there some default settings that trk23doz uses and trk23dow not ?  thanks  :)  i know *.HSV but guess its not a problem.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links