Jump to content


- - - - -

Can't Get A Server Running (W10)


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 05:30 AM

Hi all!

ATM I'm struggling to get a GPL server running on a new (old) computer.

Specs:

Dell Optiplex 755
Windows 10 Pro
2 gHz Dualcore
8 gigs ram
Intel Q35 graphics.
resolution set to 1920x1080

GPL folder copied from old server; GPL Secrets freshly installed.

I can't get GPL running, wether through GEM or directly by the .exe

Everything is set up to run as admin.

Settings tried in GEM and their symptoms:
  • ogl - nothing happens
  • ogl v2 - screen goes black 2 secs, comes back and switches to 640x480 (presumeably), only option then is to restart the machine via task manager, because killing tasks wouldn't work.
  • d3d - nothing happens
  • d3dV2 - screen goes black. That's it.
Any ideas on how to fix that? i got an old Radeon card to put in if the Q35 is the issue. (Would have to make sure that the Dell power supply has the plug for that...didn't look for now.) forget about that, no support by the power supply.

Edited by Yngwie, Mar 07 2021 - 07:06 AM.


#2 PTRACER

PTRACER

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 07:40 AM

Everything you said suggests it is graphics related. Are the Intel graphics drivers actually installed?

If so, then depending on the wattage of the PSU and the connection on the card, you could buy one of these and then you can power your Radeon card:
https://www.ebay.com...9xoCNCcQAvD_BwE

#3 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 07:52 AM

The drivers are provided by windows, Intel drivers are only available as legacy for win7.
I'm gonna go for an old 8600gt on ebay. Cheap AF and should do the trick ; plus the PSU only gives a bit more than 300W, I guess it's a bad idea to connect a HD6850 to that ;)

#4 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 08:35 AM

Why not try linux mint?

My 3 server run with it - using the intel iGPU - under wine 5.03 GPL runs in a window with d3dV2 - no need for any driver!

look at iGOR all server with 0/20 driver run linux...

Attached Files


Edited by Cookie, Mar 07 2021 - 08:41 AM.


#5 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 08:45 AM

View PostCookie, on Mar 07 2021 - 08:35 AM, said:

Why not try linux mint?

I might give it a try if everything else fails.
I guess the Q35 is the limiting element, so it would fail under a different OS also.

#6 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 08:49 AM

Look what I use in CPU-X you see the specs! Celeron 1.6-2.08 MHz.

If an old CPU is supported then in linux...

It does not cost a cent and you can not loose anything,
You can install it on 50GB (with GPL all mods!)  besides W10!
mint manages this automaticly at the installation...

Just found Q35 express is supported in linux kernel! in Ubuntu = Mint

Edited by Cookie, Mar 07 2021 - 09:01 AM.


#7 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,843 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 09:39 AM

Maybe try installing a Demo and see if result is the same?
No need to get on track with server, so no need for better graphics card.
If GPL will not open properly and click thru screens thinking perhaps it is something else?

That said, agree Linux is the way to go.
:)

Edited by John Woods, Mar 07 2021 - 09:41 AM.


#8 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 09:59 AM

Yeah... I kinda shot quick and already ordered the 8600gt, which will arrive in 2 or 3 days. I'll check that out.
I admit that it's due to pure laziness, but I hope to be able to do stuff in a way I'm familiar with. If that doesn't work I'm gonna check on the Linux tutorials. Not before  ;)

#9 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 08:30 PM

It looks like your computer should run GPL with no problem, but I wouldn't ever try using the old OpenGL rasterizer.

This sounds like it might be your virus checker not being happy with GPL. Do you have an anti-virus program running? In Windows 10, you have no option but to run Windows Defender. Go to settings > Update and Security > Windows Security > Virus and threat protection > Virus and threat protection settings > Manage settings > Exclusions and make sure that any GPL related folders are included in the exclusion list.

#10 lalb2001

lalb2001

    Lasse Albrecht

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:football, F1, motorsports in general
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 07 2021 - 09:11 PM

Have you installed Nigels New Rasterizers v2.5? http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=3727 I missed out on them for god knows how long because they're not included in the GPLPS All-In-One installer v1.08.

#11 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 12:57 AM

@lalb2001: Yes, the installation has them.

@Bob Simpson: I'm going to check that later today and report back then. Didn't think of that because I didn't have to do that on my main machine.

#12 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 08:59 AM

View PostYngwie, on Mar 08 2021 - 12:57 AM, said:


@Bob Simpson: I'm going to check that later today and report back then. Didn't think of that because I didn't have to do that on my main machine.
I’ve even had my GPL.exe disappear, I assume due to an antivirus program.

#13 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 09:27 AM

Sorry to report that the added exclusion didn't do the trick. Same as before.
To double-check I did a fresh install with the 1.08 gplps-installer, added that to the exclusion list, but the results are the same.
I'll play the waiting game until the addon card arrives...

#14 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 10:09 AM

I just tried Knoppix live 16GB USB Stick with allready installed wine, installed GEMpackage and copied a working GPL folder and hosted monza 67s at igor!

#15 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 01:15 PM

View PostCookie, on Mar 07 2021 - 08:35 AM, said:

Why not try linux mint?

My 3 server run with it - using the intel iGPU - under wine 5.03 GPL runs in a window with d3dV2 - no need for any driver!

look at iGOR all server with 0/20 driver run linux...

Sorry for off topic but I see GPL is in window mode so you are not using the V2 rasetizer.
How do you manage to load the big tracks? kind SPA67 ... :o

#16 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 02:09 PM

GPL runs in fullscreen but wine runs windowed (1200x700)
I use D3DV2 Rasterizer - wine keeps the 640x480 pixel so the menue is fullscreen.

#17 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 08 2021 - 02:40 PM

View PostCookie, on Mar 08 2021 - 02:09 PM, said:

GPL runs in fullscreen but wine runs windowed (1200x700)
I use D3DV2 Rasterizer - wine keeps the 640x480 pixel so the menue is fullscreen.
Oh yes ok, thanx.

#18 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Manager of lateral movements

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 09 2021 - 09:26 AM

Problem solved by the new (old) graphics card :)

My guess is, that the q35 might be capable to run a GPL server with the original drivers, which aren't available for Windows above 7.
The WDDM driver provided by Microsoft seems to have limited access to everything the q35 offers.

Shoutout to Nvidia for providing an up-to-date driver for an old card model B)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links