Jump to content


- - - - -

Ctd And Freeze Becoming More Frequent?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#21 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 13 2021 - 05:28 PM

DL "unigine Heaven Benchmark" and let it run - this shows if GPU related problems exist

#22 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 03:31 AM

I ran MemTest last night and all OK. PASS. No errors or faults with Ram. I'm starting to suspect an aged PSU. I'm not convinced it's getting enough power to every part of PC.

Edited by Tobodestroyer2020, Feb 14 2021 - 03:35 AM.


#23 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 04:37 AM

Do you have a current meter?
Run Heaven Benchmark and see if the PSU breaks down during current peaks.
At high fps, you can see that the consumption also rises sharply.

PS
default not OC! 2500K + GTX670 needs ~ 500Watt PSU for the peaks

Attached Files


Edited by Cookie, Feb 14 2021 - 04:46 AM.


#24 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 06:33 AM

PSU is 550W. It is old though - 12 years. I used this in my "new" PC as it came with a 250W supply. Maybe I just need to bite the bullet and buy a new one. But, it only CTDs in some mods so perhaps it is a Graphic issue. Aaaargghh. Going slightly mad.

#25 Arturo Pereira

Arturo Pereira

    Denny Hulme

  • Moderator
  • 1,012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Interests:GPL, motorsports
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 09:38 AM

Check the temperature of the CPU and of the graphics card. Also check if the fans are working properly.

#26 Alekhine

Alekhine

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Coding (Pascal Delphi and Assembler 80x86) , Two-strokes motorbike engine , Motorcycle paint specialist Rothmans.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 09:55 AM

If you are using the ThrottleStop software, beware of the undervolt.
I use it but initially I went a little too far, and it caused CTDs, or even blue screen of death.

If you overclock it is even worse :o

#27 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 10:02 AM

If Heaven Benchmark runs flawless, there is nothing wrong with the HW. Memtest too seems ok.

12 years is a lot for PSU, this reminds me of a generation of capacitors that ended ~2013...

Now this is only for specialists
- Open it BUT only with rubber gloves - do not touch any electric metal parts don't take a screwdriver to touch!
Have a look for the capacitors!
-> https://en.wikipedia...apacitor_plague

#28 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2021 - 10:58 AM

I'll try the HW "risking my life" option when I'm feeling brave and made of asbestos.

For now I've reset the Nvidia settings to default and it seems OK. It's still early days but at least I could 10 laps of Pukekohe in the 66 Brabhams and no CTD.The graphics look a bit shimmery but I'll start by chaning just ONE paramenter at a time to see what it is that upsets the card.

#29 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 20 2021 - 06:09 AM

After experimenting on Linux and Windows, it appears that Anisotropic Filtering seems to have the biggest impact. Turn it off and NO CTDs. I'm gradually increasing the setting to see where the "tipping point" is.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links