Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

Gpl Running On Linux Mint - Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#61 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2021 - 09:08 AM

 Carsi, on Feb 28 2021 - 07:01 AM, said:

Hi,
I gave it a try and works good for me. At the begin I struggled with the buttons on my Logitech Momo but now I use AntiMicroX and that works for me.


I've now tried AntiMicroX and QJoyPad to configure the extra buttons on the G29. I can even programme PAUSE, ESCAPE and ENTER and they all work brilliantly. I hardly ever have to take my hands off the wheel now.

#62 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2021 - 02:06 PM

Great to read, these buttons work still in wine?

Could be a solution for the missing 4 buttons on my G27 too - re TS activate

#63 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2021 - 04:43 PM

Yeah Pete you made my day! Thanks :yipee2:

I installd AntiMicroX and solved 2 problems:

- the push to talk button on my G27 now works
AND
- my clutch pedal gives a C what is needed to flaten my rear wing of my dream car :tongue2:

now the last things that did not run as in Wdoze are done...

#64 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2021 - 05:12 PM

Glad you're sorted. I've stuck with QJoyPad as it will automatically load my profile on startup. I couldn't get it to stick with AntiMicroX.

The only thing I can't get to work on Windoze is Lee's Head movement exe file. I use this on W10 to set FOV for each mod but on Linux it seems to clear its ini file each time and throw an error.

In its absence, where do I set the FOV manually before I drive? I can't seem to find which in file GPL reads this from. I'm using shift and arrow keys on the keyboard at the moment.

So, 99% happy with Linux. I guess it was about 95% on Windoze. Still, nothing in life is perfect.

#65 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2021 - 03:19 AM

in the gplshift.ini it's the ZOOM section

Quote

[ ZOOM ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Zoom_In_Out_Mode = KA   ;OPTIONS: OFF #.BUT #.POV KA   ;EFFECT:

;OFF = ZOOM In/Out CAR view support Disabled   
;BUT = You select a game device # HERE, and buttons
;   below (up to 4 #) for Zoom In/Out/Reset,
;POV = Point Of View hat:   
;KA  = Keyboard ARROW Keys:

;   Down  =  Zoom In   (back)
;   Up =  Zoom Out (forward)
;   Right =  Zoom Set to UserDefineFov position
;   Left  =  Zoom Reset to default position (78)
;--------------------------------------------------
;N.B. If you have choicen POV or KA then you don`t
;   need to setup any button # below

;No game device # below, ONLY buttons (up to 4 #)  

Zoom_Out_Button =    ;Select a # for zoom out

Zoom_In_Button = ;Select a # for zoom in   

Zoom_Reset_Button = ;Select a # for reset zoom to default position (78)

Zoom2UserDefineFOV_Butt =   ;a # for setting ZOOM to "UserDefineFOV =" position
;--------------------------------------------------
;OPTIONS:   ##   ##.# ;EFFECT:

UserDefineFOV = 67 ;Field Of View in degrees: minimun 45.2 - max. 86.2
;(78.0 = Default position)   

;You can use the keyboards HOME key to save the
;present FOV ZOOM positions and the setting will be
;uset next time you starting GPL, if you still have
;enabled this [ ZOOM ] support, and will overwrite
;GEM+2´s Field Of View setting   

;--------------------------------------------------
[ DRIVER VIEW ]----------------------------------------------------------------
Up&Down = 1 ;OPTIONS: 0    1 ;EFFECT:

;0 =   OFF
;1 =   Move the Driver View up or down by using
;   left SHIFT key with ARROW keys:
;   Up =  Up   
;   Down  =  Down   
;   Right =  Not uset   
;   Left  =  Back to default position

Forward&Back = 1 ;0 =   OFF
;1 =   Move Driver View forward or back by using  
;   left CTRL key with ARROW keys:   
;   Up =  Forward
;   Down  =  Back   
;   Right =  Not uset   
;   Left  =  Back to default position
;Notice: These 2 functions has no effect in LOOK  
; AROUND TrackIR Vector Expansion mode.   
;--------------------------------------------------

As I copied my complete gpl folder I have not yet used Lee's Head Movement - I will try it asap...

#66 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2021 - 06:11 AM

And this in the following folder will set Nvidia Power to Max on startup. (obviously change pete for your own username)

/home/pete/.config/autostart


UPDATE: After two days of testing, my GTX670 runs BETTER on Auto settings. Weird but true. If you get tearing with it on MAX POWER, try AUTO settings instead.

Attached Files


Edited by Tobodestroyer2020, Mar 05 2021 - 03:42 PM.


#67 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 18 2021 - 12:13 PM

Could you remap buttons of your wheel with antimicroX ???

That is, for example, putting your reverse where it's supposed to be?

Marcos

#68 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 18 2021 - 12:22 PM

By the way I got a completely functional G27 shifter on Linux!!

I bought an arduino-based adapter to connect my pedals and shifter through an independent USB port and there, just tweaking a few things in gplshift.ini, it worked great. Indeed I was driving more than two hours yesterday (about one hour online).

My new computer is a monster. I can drive Assetto Corsa with full graphics and grid at solid 100 fps. But I also tested Spa67 with full grid and 60fps patch and it works great, without a single cough.

The single "problem" is that the Reverse isn't in the position of the shifter it should be, but in the uppermost black button of the base of the shifter. To put Reverse you should put the shifter in neuter (press the clutch if mandatory) and keep that button pushed.

I was to try to program the arduino to swap the positions of that black button with that of the Reverse in the shifter, but if it can be done also in antimicroX or qjoypad, maybe that could be less bloodie...

Thanks Axel and Pete for all your help!

I may hope now to not use my windows anymore :)

Marcos

Edited by mcmirande, Mar 18 2021 - 12:26 PM.


#69 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 20 2021 - 10:45 AM

Glad you've got it working. I've just installed Linux on Will's PC so he now has one OS purely for GPL. He got so fed up yesterday as he had to quit an online CA66 race at St. Jovite as his G29 totally re-calibrated itself mid-race without any warning on Windows10. It now works flawlessly on Linux Mint. No more GPL/Windoze woes.

#70 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 27 2021 - 03:55 AM

Yesterday I installed Winetricks from the Software store. This makes it really easy to install any .NET and SDK files needed to get older Windows software working. I now have fully functioning DooDat, Datman, PapyBMP, Head Movement and others.You can also find individual dll and ocx files which you may need. Another nail in the Windoze coffin.

#71 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 27 2021 - 08:15 AM

Hi all!

I installed Lutris, which is great for Assetto Corsa. It works on Linux at the same fps than on Windows.

I tried it also for GPL and it works great too, BUT the wheel, pedals and shifter are recognized with different number of axes and buttons. MAYBE it could be useful to somebody with problems to configure the shifter.

Just a note also to say that I already attended to two online races using full GPL on Linux. Results weren't good but the problem was between the wheel and the seat...

Marcos

Edited by mcmirande, Mar 27 2021 - 08:26 AM.


#72 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 03 2021 - 02:57 AM

On Windoze I regularly had to re-calibrate my wheel and pedals. I've only ever had to do it once at initial set-up on Linux and that was over a month ago. Sorry Windoze. Another reason to switch.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links