Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

Gpl Running On Linux Mint - Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#41 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 06 2020 - 07:04 AM

I just installed the new Linux mint20 on my testing PC.

just some teaser pics if you want to try it and get rid of your constant problems with banana w10  :harumph:
A whole office suite and a TV-App make it a complete OS ;)
GPL + teamspeak make it the gaming PC..

Super gimmick - GPL running in window- as long in menu - full screen in game!
So you can modify sound devices and NVidia settings being in GPL on the fly !!!

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#42 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 06 2020 - 07:51 AM

Some pics of 19AI grid 69X mod in Spa67 from the rear - the ultimate proof

i5 4670K at default 3800MHz + GTX 960- 2GB VRAM!!! + 8GB DDR3 + Monitor 2560x1080

FPS allways shown in the steering center ;)

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by Cookie, Jul 06 2020 - 07:56 AM.


#43 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 403 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 08 2020 - 11:39 AM

Axel,

Thanks very much for this tutorial.  

I have finally decided to try Linux & GPL on an old PC.   Few small problems along the way, but it's up and working and GPL is very fast considering the age of the PC.

Currently stuck on pribluda.  I'm getting garbled text (see screenshot below).  Any clues from your experiences?  I have added TrueType fonts and tried some changes in pribluda.ini, but haven't fixed it yet.

Attached File  Screenshot from 2020-07-08 18-26-00.png   1.27MB   33 downloads

#44 Markus_Gras

Markus_Gras

    Jochen Rindt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:hiking, mountains, photography, social sciences
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 01:37 AM

I remember having similar issues... I think the thing I changed was the following line in the pribluda.ini:

outlineOpenglFont = 1

before it was = 0 ; I guess when you use the Open GL V2 rasterizer you need to change the value into 1, otherwise the text looks garbled.
Apart from that, which fontFace is used in your pribluda.ini? Mine is:
fontFace = Consolas

Edited by Markus_Gras, Jul 09 2020 - 01:40 AM.


#45 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 403 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 02:30 AM

I just copied my pribluda.ini from my Windows install (also OpenGL).

Font was Courier New but I tried other fonts that were installed on Linux. Tried adjusting a few settings like font size.

Thanks for the feedback, I will try outlineOpenglFont = 1.

Edited by webfoot, Jul 09 2020 - 02:32 AM.


#46 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 02:45 AM

I use brr's patched pribluda

My pribluda.ini is beginning with:

Quote

[global]
version = 1.1.2.1
blackBarRatio = 0.1041
boldFont = 0
borderSize = 3
defaultColour = 0xffffff
fontFace = Consolas ; Lucida Console ;
fontSize = 12
overlayBoards = 0
outlineOpenglFont = 1
outlineOpenglFontSize = 12
outlineOpenglFontFactor = 1.8

When the fonts get distorted in Windoze or Linux,
I have to look for the settings of CPU (intel speed step) and GPU (max performance) running in full speed

Edited by Cookie, Jul 09 2020 - 02:49 AM.


#47 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 403 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 03:19 AM

Thanks guys fixed now.

outlineOpenglFont = 1.  Helped a bit.  The font was readable but still smudged

Changed to "fontFace = Consolas"  and it's working.

#48 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 03:40 AM

To set the font size i modify this

outlineOpenglFontFactor = 1.8

#49 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 02:52 PM

Is there a tutorial on how to get your G27 H-Shifter working on Linux Mint 20 MATE? I'm stuck at that point...

#50 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 02:36 AM

Fairshift is the way to go, linux + shifter.

#51 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 04:54 AM

I've got Fairshift installed via Wine but it doesn't want to work. :( I'll try again and update you later. The program starts and then returns to desktop.

#52 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 05:08 AM

Ask Marcos Mirande - he has it running...

I've never tried it

#53 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 26 2020 - 02:57 AM

Maybe we need help from the wine forum guys, imo it has to do with the way how G27 is implemented in wine control ( event - js )?

Other way could be using an arduino and make the shifter a standalone device - https://www.youtube....h?v=62ETwZq3P4Q

I have some Arduinos and shifters here...

Edited by Cookie, Jul 26 2020 - 03:00 AM.


#54 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2021 - 04:57 PM

View PostCookie, on Jul 06 2020 - 07:04 AM, said:

I just installed the new Linux mint20 on my testing PC.

just some teaser pics if you want to try it and get rid of your constant problems with banana w10  :harumph:
A whole office suite and a TV-App make it a complete OS ;)
GPL + teamspeak make it the gaming PC..

Super gimmick - GPL running in window- as long in menu - full screen in game!
So you can modify sound devices and NVidia settings being in GPL on the fly !!!

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

How did you get GPL in a window like that?

#55 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2021 - 05:49 PM

Run wine in winecfg "windowed" set the size to e.g. 1280x720 resolution but in GEM+ set in graphics the monitors resolution.

GPL menu will be allways in this native 640x480 window - so you can work aside in the normal desktop an handle the other programs like NV-settings and TS ;)

#56 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2021 - 11:05 AM

MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH for those of you who use an H-SHIFTER.

I have been driving all afternoon on Linux Mint with my G27 wheel and SHIFTER with Fanatec Clubsport V1 pedals. Oh yeah!

I bought a Leobodnar G25 G27 G29  G920 Shifter Adaptor http://www.leobodnar...5403338e0d3d478 and it's the best £20 I ever spent.

No need for FAIRSHIFT. Just select the correct USB device in GPLSHIFT.ini and you're off. ( e.g.Shifter_Model = 2.USB)

This works straight out of the box. My Windows days are OVER. The only downside is you can't select reverse. I can live with that as I prefer going forwards anyway.

I hope this helps and thanks to Cookie who suggested trying this. I'm off for a beer to celebrate on everyone else's behalf.

Edited by Tobodestroyer2020, Feb 17 2021 - 05:42 PM.


#57 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 17 2021 - 03:45 PM

View PostTobodestroyer2020, on Feb 17 2021 - 11:05 AM, said:

MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH for those of you who use an H-SHIFTER.

I have been driving all afternoon on Linux Mint with my G27 wheel and SHIFTER with Fanatec Clubsport V1 pedals. Oh yeah!

I bought a Leobodnar G25 G27 G29  G920 Shifter Adaptor http://www.leobodnar...5403338e0d3d478 and it's the best £20 I ever spent.

No need for FAIRSHIFT. Just select the correct USB device in GPL SHIFT and you're off. ( e.g.Shifter_Model = 2.USB)

This works straight out of the box. My Windows days are OVER.

I hope this helps and thanks to Cookie who suggested trying this. I'm off for a beer to celebrate on everyone else's behalf.

Thanks! I thought this as a possible solution but it's great you tested before.
Here in Argentina, similar adapters are expensive and difficult to get, so your experience is more than welcomed :)

Marcos

Edited by mcmirande, Feb 17 2021 - 03:46 PM.


#58 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 26 2021 - 10:12 AM

I've also got a Logitech G29 working totally smoothly on Linux Minto 20.1.  PyLinuxWheel works straight out of the box and gives you control of the amount of force and resistance as well as degrees of rotation. It feels just as smooth and reliable as my G27. So, don't ditch your G29, ditch Windoze.

Attached Files



#59 Carsi

Carsi

    Guy Ligier

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted Feb 28 2021 - 07:01 AM

Hi,
I gave it a try and works good for me. At the begin I struggled with the buttons on my Logitech Momo but now I use AntiMicroX and that works for me.

The only thing that no works is WinVroc. I start GEM+ then push the winvroc button, winvroc starts and then it crashes. Sometimes immediately sometimes when I choose the race I want to join.

Any ideas??

#60 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    let's have a free choice
    Linux
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 28 2021 - 11:01 AM

I get this: Posted Image

As I allways use iGOR I haven't yet looked for this gdi32.dll




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links