Jump to content


- - - - -

60 Fps


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 01:29 PM

We should put this all in one place. I can't see a summary here of how to do it.

If there's any incorrect info here, let me know and I'll edit this post..

Get the 60fps files at SRMZ:

60fpsaiv1
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4402

60fpsv2newmod
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4584


Then you put the 60fps patch files into the following folders...

60fpsaiv1.xml
Goes into...
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\69-extra\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\GPLGT\options


60fpsv2newmod.xml
Goes into...
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl65\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl66\options  
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gpl67\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\gplf2\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\canm66\options
\Sierra\GPL\Mods\GEM+\canm71\options

You should enable vsync for 60fps in the GEM+ graphics options (Rasterizer button) and your graphics card setup and to make sure, in the core.ini, you should see:
[RasterV2]
VSync= 1

To take part on an race with 60fps, first you check the box in GEM+ after selecting the correct mod. Don't forget to uncheck it if you join a 36fps server!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Which version you use with which mod has mostly to do with AI performance and I think the following is correct:

60FPSv1    -> 69X and GT
60fpsv2newmod   -> 65, 66GP, 67, 67F2, CA66 and CA71

However, if you never race the AI, I don't think it matters. In fact you don't ned to replace the AI ini files if you only race online.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

If you mismatch the right checkbox or forget to check, you won't get on the server (36 fps trying to join a 60 fps server) or get the "every 3sec flash" (60 fps joining a 36 fps server)

If you use the GPLRelay analyzer, you'll need the newest version to make sure that you can view and save 60 fps replays (v.7.91 beta I believe)

Edited by Bob Simpson, May 12 2018 - 01:32 PM.


#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 01:34 PM

However, on my Windows 7 server, only, when I hit the green button in the main GPL menu, I get the message "GPL has stopped working" for this  mod only. 60fpsaiv1 does work with the 66 GP mod.

Everything works OK as stated above with my racing computer (Windows 10)

#3 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 03:37 PM

Even when doing all that. The AI are still messed up.

#4 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 07:38 PM

Well, this has all to do with online races. It's a shame that the AI can't be great again with 60 fps, but it's great for non-AI racing.

#5 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 12 2018 - 08:34 PM

I know. I just tried it and forgot how good 60fps looks. If I was a hot lapper I could at least use it for that but I don't do that either. Oh well.

#6 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 370 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 01:10 AM

It just feels so much better to drive with, especially on tracks where you rotate your car/camera a lot (like Monaco).

I remember reading about a 72 fps patch that was in the making a while ago, any updates on that?

#7 Andy Clegg

Andy Clegg

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banbury, UK.
  • Interests:Long distance sports car racing. Touring cars.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 01:11 AM

I always use 36FPS. Never really tried 60FPS, I should do really.

#8 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 04:23 AM

This is what helps to get the 66 mod working with the V2newmod, UKGPL member Fester posted:

Quote

The 66 mod and 66fpsv2newmod

I was one of those who could only run the 66 mod with 60fpsv1. This is how I fixed it. There's no need to uninstall anything

Run "gpl1966complete_1.1"
Delete the "gpl66" folder from gpl\Mods\GEM+
Run "1966mod_PATCH_v2.0_Setup"
Delete "gplc66.exe" from the gpl folder
Run GEM+, select 66 mod and 60fpsv2newmod

It worked for me. I hope it works for you.

As long as the V2newmod is used by the server, no 36fps driver can join the server!

But if you host 69X or GT mod @ 60fpsV1/aiV1 anyone can join with 36 fps,
I protect my practice server with a password (60fpsV1) and write it in the comments ;)

Edited by Cookie, May 13 2018 - 05:07 AM.


#9 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 13 2018 - 05:15 AM

For the offliners racing with AI's,

Roger_F made some great work -> http://srmz.net/inde...=15#entry131435

#10 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 17 2018 - 08:12 AM

View PostCookie, on May 13 2018 - 04:23 AM, said:

This is what helps to get the 66 mod working with the V2newmod, UKGPL member Fester posted:

Quote

The 66 mod and 66fpsv2newmod

I was one of those who could only run the 66 mod with 60fpsv1. This is how I fixed it. There's no need to uninstall anything

Run "gpl1966complete_1.1"
Delete the "gpl66" folder from gpl\Mods\GEM+
Run "1966mod_PATCH_v2.0_Setup"
Delete "gplc66.exe" from the gpl folder
Run GEM+, select 66 mod and 60fpsv2newmod

It worked for me. I hope it works for you.

As long as the V2newmod is used by the server, no 36fps driver can join the server!

But if you host 69X or GT mod @ 60fpsV1/aiV1 anyone can join with 36 fps,
I protect my practice server with a password (60fpsV1) and write it in the comments ;)

I've found this at http://srmz.net/inde...445

> Post #4, but the link is dead.

EDIT OK, I just did this after the Full DL at the 1966 site at http://www.grandprix...6/downloads.htm
1 - Delete the "gpl66" folder from gpl\Mods\GEM+
2 - Ran the "1966mod_PATCH_v2.0"
3 - Delete "gplc66.exe" from the gpl folder

And it runs fine with 60fpsv2newmod

Edited by Bob Simpson, May 17 2018 - 08:41 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links