OkieSimRacer

Jackie Ickx

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Interests:History, motorsports, sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 11 2019 - 11:25 AM

Hi everybody! My name is Aaron and I am completely new to sim racing. I literally just stumbled on to Grand Prix Legends the other day, reading this article from 2005 about the game. I've been poking around SRMZ, and I am amazed by your community's passion and dedication. It is really amazing! I'd like to get started, but I have no idea how. In 2019, what is the best way to acquire a copy of the game? Are there any plans to publish an anniversary edition of the game, with all the mods and improvements included? What kind of hardware do I need to run the game well? I'm assuming I don't need a high-end PC, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking forward to getting more involved with the GPL community!

Sincerely,
Aaron (OkieSimRacer)

#2 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

oAo Admin

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)

Posted Apr 11 2019 - 11:40 AM

hey Aaron ~
ohhh the joy of being new to this sim :)   i have been racing w/ it since the original demo came out :o  in '97-98... and its progressed by TONS since.
new mods, now over 500 tracks.... it truly is amazing!   and to my knowledge, unlike some sims, no one charges for their work!!

i will keep this short, as other with better handle on some of your questions will reply today, or by the weekend.
no anniversery edition as the orig publisher has long gone away. the people now doing iRacing ($$) were the core of GPL.

any modern hardware will handle GPL, but if you plan to race online (vs Humans) my opinion is cable - wifi is somewhat iffy - others may say different.
there used to be OPEN races.. but now, most serious sim racers are in leagues.