Jump to content


- - - - -

Gpl On Linux Help Please

Linux Help Please

  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,462 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2016 - 05:57 AM

Now that Linux runs FFB and due to other current issues would like to make the transition off a used Win7 tower recently purchased at a pawn shop and begin a new Grand Prix Legends adventure.

Appreciate any comments, advice, recommendations, warnings, discussion, and especially opinions regarding making the change.

Are there choices to make, sites to visit, things to do first...what to do?
What is considered the best current version?

A step-by-step easy install guide would really help.

Edited by John Woods, Oct 03 2016 - 05:58 AM.


#2 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2016 - 06:11 AM

Dual Boot I think John:

http://www.howtogeek...nux-on-your-pc/

http://www.instructa...on-a-PC-with-W/

http://www.everydayl...-alongside.html

Other info and links on Google search. Lot's of work John, but I think it will be worth it. Never attempted this myself(So can't offer specifics) though I am sure others here will be along to offer help and advice.

Hope this helps and you get it sorted John.

TP: :hat-tip:

Edited by twinpotter, Oct 03 2016 - 06:13 AM.


#3 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2016 - 06:23 AM

I did a dual boot putting linux mint 18 xfce over an existing win7  and is quite easy to do.
This site is the one I followed the most, everything is pretty straight forward:
https://sites.google...ipsproject/Home

I don't enter in the specifics because I still have no idea of how to make linux run well with GPL. :P

#4 john roberts

john roberts

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:/.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2016 - 06:11 PM

if you have never used any other OS apart from those from microsoft you might have some trouble , if you have ever used a unix system you will be at home . guessing your in the first group it might be best to test some different linux OS virtually .

a free virtual program that will run different linux iso's is virtualbox     https://www.virtualbox.org/

to find different distros look at distro watch https://distrowatch.com/

that said i would recommend you start with something like ubuntu or linux mint .

so you can test and understand simple things like running different programs and using things like package managers to install software (most software you install on a linux system comes from your system repo and is not downloaded from sites on the internet , like windows) .

i don't recommend you run gpl virtually but you will be able to test the system without messing up your computer .

once you understand how linux works you can then install it for proper .

john

#5 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2016 - 02:11 AM

I will give some hints using mint, as it is the most familiar for me and easy to use.

Wich mint depends on the power of your PC,
- Cinamon for a modern up to date machine,
- Mate and XFCE for the lower powered

The next decision wich release version to use depends on your GPU,
- with an NVidia you can take the last release ( mint 18)
- with AMD GPU you should take one with a previous kernel ( mint 17.3)
I recomment to use a 64bit system as it also can be used by 32bit programms.

Download the iso file at linuxmint.com and burn it on an USB stick with the Universal-USB-Installer at pendrivelinux.com
(During the burning process my AV has to be stopped as it prevents the autorun.inf to be copied)

Now you just make the pc boot from the stick in bios, and choose the testing.

You will be surprised how quick there is a desktop with full functionality.

I will continue with more specific tips if you give us the specs of this PC,
and if you want mint side by side with W7 or exclusive.

#6 Frank_Mueller

Frank_Mueller

    ---

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany
  • Interests:Racing Sims

Posted Oct 04 2016 - 01:43 PM

Linux (since Ubuntu 8.04 LTS) is well known by me for years. But not with gaming :) (OK, a Banana Pi is gaming)
I'm using Mint actual 17.3 (AMD) with LXDE. How to install WINE 1.9? Over 1.6 (you get with the Software Manager)?
And then GPL? Analogue with Windows? Where to install GEM/IGOR? Under Windows i installed them into the SIERRA folder.
And many questions more . . . ;)

#7 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,484 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2016 - 02:23 PM

Cookie,


  I come here because I am curious.  But what us GPlers can expect if we succeed in making it work under Linux, compared with Windows ?

Apart being personaly rewarded by passing the exam to install and run the game, is there any advantage in the future ?

is it also a way to warranty that GPL will run forever on a computer, if one day it  don't work anymore on future Windows OS ??

Edited by M Needforspeed, Oct 04 2016 - 02:29 PM.


#8 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2016 - 04:23 PM

Well, Linux consists of many operating systems that can be installed for free on any computer on the planet so,  if it works well there, who cares about future windows OS ? ;)

Cookie said that his computer behaves the same in linux as in windows so that is great news
I am too waiting for a good explanation of how to proceed with installation for a good similar behavior as win 7 though, for now my very limited experience wasn't that good :)

#9 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2016 - 08:20 PM

Well, the benefit of a Linux OS vs a MS OS is that it is open source software, develloped by a world wide community,
so nobody is there to make profits by spying, collecting and selling your data.
Linux is safer vs spy and malware, viruses are not yet a problem as there are no open doors in the system,
if any safety risks are found they are immediately healed by updates.
The penguin comunity is way less willing to take risks for the user as the comercials do, to make profits.

For the daily use of your PC you will find a program equal to your Windows ,
e.g. Libre Office is fully compatible to your old office files.

For those programs like GPL wich were written for MS systems, there is a compatibility platform in Linux called wine.


To get wine1.1.19 you have to go to their homepage winehq.org and maybe read in their wiki.
Mint user have to take the ubuntu version.

One thing every Linux beginner has to learn is the use of the console. It's not a big deal!

Ginetto's link is very good! https://sites.google...ipsproject/Home
if you have done an install go to  https://sites.google...-cinnamon-first
this helps you to optimize your system.

When we have a running Linux OS we begin to add wine.

@ Frank
You first have to remove your old wine1.6 to make an update to 1.1.19 ,
there is a good how-to in the winehq wiki.
Mint 17.3 is fine for ATI GPUs, I use it with my HD6870 and the fglrx drivers with Catalyst.
The wine drive_ C: can be found when you right click in your folder and check show hidden files -> picture
You can use the GEMPackage_2.5.0.32.exe and start it with wine.
I install it like in Windos directly in C:\Gplsecrets, my copied full GPL folder is in C:\GPL
Delete the gem.ini after the install and then start GEM+ from the desktop icon.

@ Michel
As you see the manifold problems with W10 updates, MS cuts its downwards compatibility more and more.
They don't want the users to be satisfied with what they have, the user has to buy or rent a new software if the old one does no longer work, or becomes "unsave" as XP...
With Linux you can upgrade the kernel of a running operating system to keep it up to date.


Posted Image

Edited by Cookie, Oct 04 2016 - 08:26 PM.


#10 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2016 - 08:49 PM

View Postginetto, on Oct 04 2016 - 04:23 PM, said:

Well, Linux consists of many operating systems that can be installed for free on any computer on the planet so,  if it works well there, who cares about future windows OS ? ;)

Cookie said that his computer behaves the same in linux as in windows so that is great news
I am too waiting for a good explanation of how to proceed with installation for a good similar behavior as win 7 though, for now my very limited experience wasn't that good :)

Ginetto the main problem is the same as it is in windows, the GPU does not recognize GPL as a 3D program and keeps idling.
So you have to make some tweaks in your NV GPU settings to make it work in 3D mode.

Posted Image

#11 Frank_Mueller

Frank_Mueller

    ---

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany
  • Interests:Racing Sims

Posted Oct 05 2016 - 01:57 PM

Thanks Axel, i will try that at the weekend. My goal is a  24/7 GPL Server under Linux/WINE.

#12 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,462 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 10 2016 - 08:53 AM

Just an update...shopping for a video card and some more memory and will get on with this soon.
Thanks everyone for the comments and links.

#13 Frank_Mueller

Frank_Mueller

    ---

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany
  • Interests:Racing Sims

Posted Oct 10 2016 - 01:50 PM

Can not get GPL running in a window as a server. I set "full screen = 0" and also "run in a window" in IGOR. GPL runs full screen when WINE is configured to serve each windows program in it's own window. When WINE is set to emulate a virtual desktop, GPL grabs the whole window, so no other Wine using application can be running.
Im' running a Ubuntu with LXDE. A 14.04 LTS upgraded to 16.04. WINE 1.8, because a server needs no FFB.
I will test a new install. Hope i will find time in the next weeks.

#14 john roberts

john roberts

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:/.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 10 2016 - 02:12 PM

View PostFrank_Mueller, on Oct 10 2016 - 01:50 PM, said:

Can not get GPL running in a window as a server. I set "full screen = 0" and also "run in a window" in IGOR. GPL runs full screen when WINE is configured to serve each windows program in it's own window. When WINE is set to emulate a virtual desktop, GPL grabs the whole window, so no other Wine using application can be running.
Im' running a Ubuntu with LXDE. A 14.04 LTS upgraded to 16.04. WINE 1.8, because a server needs no FFB.
I will test a new install. Hope i will find time in the next weeks.

does LXDE have multiple desktops(screens) ? if it does why don't you just go to another one .

john

#15 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,823 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2016 - 03:02 AM

A reminder; V2 rasterizers don't work in window mode, you nee to use V1 rast for that.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Linux, Help, Please

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links