Jump to content


- - - - -

Windows 10 1803 (May 2018 Creator's Update)


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 Jackseller

Jackseller

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computer stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 12:36 PM

 rcb, on May 15 2018 - 09:49 AM, said:

Turned all of the focus assist rule sliders to off in the settings and GPL is back to normal.

I can confirm too ! Direct3D mode works again correctly.

#22 Lord

Lord

    Mr. Broken Gearbox

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Latina, Italy
  • Interests:Formula 1, Football (Soccer), Grand Prix Legends and rFactor
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 01:16 PM

Re-installed the 1803 update on my Win10 machine.
rcb's workaround works perfectly: just follow these steps.

1. Start > Control Panel (the cog on the left) > System.
2. On the left bar, click on Focus Assist.
3. Click on "Deactivated", then set all the sliders on the left position (off).

Now you can play GPL without that obnoxious bug.

Also, on a different note, if GEM+2 starts making some fuss about some dlls, just run it as administrator and it will shut up about it.

#23 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,929 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 17 2018 - 03:40 AM

I have updated my Windows 10 to build 1803.
Running GPL on OpenGL v2, nVidia GeForce GTX 970.
GPL runs fine. No problems at all. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jul 27 2018 - 01:48 AM.


#24 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 17 2018 - 07:47 AM

 Stefan Roess, on May 17 2018 - 03:40 AM, said:

I have updated my Windows 10 to build 1803.
Running GPL on OpenGL v2, nVidia Geforce GTX 980 (or was it a 970, I will check when back at my race PC).
GPL runs fine. No problems. :)
Ditto - no problems. My GPU is the GTX 760

#25 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,929 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 17 2018 - 07:56 AM

Btw to know which Windows version you are using do this:

Press Windows Logo + R and type "winver" and press enter
or click Start – RUN , type “winver” and press enter.
If RUN is not available, type "winver" in the "search programs and files" textbox.
This will show the Windows Version and Build.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jun 24 2018 - 01:42 AM.


#26 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 18 2018 - 10:29 AM

found an issue.. didn't have before the update to 1803....

GEM screen.. car type = x
i want to switch to car type = y
CRASH (error message that saves to a log file)

also, once this occurs, it also affects just clicking on the GPL button (same result)
the only 'fix' is to REBOOT the PC.......

anyone else?

#27 Lord

Lord

    Mr. Broken Gearbox

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Latina, Italy
  • Interests:Formula 1, Football (Soccer), Grand Prix Legends and rFactor
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 19 2018 - 07:46 AM

Have you tried running it as an admin?

#28 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 19 2018 - 09:40 AM

yes.. default setting is 'admin'

#29 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,467 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 19 2018 - 07:07 PM

Re-install GEM and/or point it again to GPL?
Delete MOD.EXEs and let GEM rebuild them?



:D

#30 MLGathome

MLGathome

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:simracing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 20 2018 - 01:22 AM

Last Friday build 1803 hit my computer, an 6 month old ASUS budget gaming PC: Intel Core i5-7400 CPU @3.00GHz, 8.0GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 340. Thanks to the tips her was able to run GPL graphically but the sound was different. The 1965 Ferrari sounded awfull.
On Saturday my daughter startsup the PC and has to wait for ages before the desktop is loaded. Later that day tried it myself and only after three attempts the desktop is loaded. I rolled back at once to build 1709. Build 1803 is a bug for my PC. Never try to fix something that is not broken.

Greetings, Marcel

#31 smasha

smasha

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 21 2018 - 10:07 PM

Massive controller issues with this sim.

No FFB working and axis disappearing.

Has to be Windows 10-.

#32 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,430 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 22 2018 - 01:46 PM

Found an easy way to prevent Win10 1803 from installing without removing the update capabilites of Win10 itself. You know, for security patches and such. This works only on Pro versions of Win10 though.

Go to Settings > Updates & Security > Advanced Settings
Then click and select "Current Branch for Business", which means that you'll get big updates like 1803 only when they are stable and judged ready for enterprises;
Then select 365 days to defer feature updates, which means that even when updates like 1803 are ready to go for business networks, you'll still have 1 year of delay in getting them;

The third option can be ignored, it simply delays security updates up to 30 days. But you generally want them, so.

Posted Image

Edited by leon_90, May 22 2018 - 01:47 PM.


#33 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 30 2018 - 02:20 PM

Yesterday my laptop actualized with the 1803 and gpl stoped working. I don't race with the laptop but I use it for build the Jarama and use the replay option continually. I searched this thread and solved the problem. Thanks!

#34 roberto teso

roberto teso

    Subtitled

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere
  • Interests:Shoestrings theory
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 01 2018 - 06:24 AM

A little update about 1803 progress.

Installed Windows 10 cumulative update, KB4100403 May 23, no trouble so far, Windows build now is 17134.81

Installed latest Nvidia 397.93 WHQL, May 24, no trouble at all.

That partially solved some HDR issue:
difficulty or crashes when a decent video player switch to HDR and back to SDR (MPC-HC and branches, PotPlayer and VLC)
washed SDR contents if HDR is set on giving the possiblity to modify brightness for SDR contents (Start > Settings > Display > HDR and WCG settings then change settings for SDR contents).

Then I modify Focus assistant, as read here, to disable.

During the first boot after 1803 installation I was asked to enable it and I choose to not enable but, after updating to May 8 and then to May 23, I, not surprisingly, found it enabled, without having a question or a notification.

After I set it off (Start > Settings > System > Focus assist) GPL run perfectly in full screen even with D3Dv2 rasterizer.

Only problem so far, and I suppose unsolvable, is to set resolution to 3820x2160 if I do, via core.ini, there's no 3820x2160 in OGLv2 and it run in 1920x1080, in D3Dv2 i can choose 3820x2160 but when I click green button GPL CTD, IIRC DirectX 7, that GPL use, is limited to max 2048x1536 resolution.

Edit a mistyped settings.

Edited by roberto teso, Jun 01 2018 - 06:25 AM.


#35 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 11 2018 - 03:00 PM

Hi all,

Thanks for the info on this update issue. I did get affected by the Win 10 Spring 2018 update and the info above worked in fixing GPL using D3Dv2.

Cheers.

PH

#36 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 12 2018 - 07:21 AM

For me the update came only a few days ago.

I am expressing utter annoyance by the extended loading times.

Moreover am I experiencing the TV cams flipping upside down when my car passes by a little too close, for a couple of tenths of a second.
I don't think I had this before, but boy, does it annoy me.

#37 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 12 2018 - 01:57 PM

 GrandPrixYannick, on Jun 12 2018 - 07:21 AM, said:

.......
Moreover am I experiencing the TV cams flipping upside down when my car passes by a little too close, for a couple of tenths of a second.
I don't think I had this before, but boy, does it annoy me.

For me, this has been going on for a long time. I'm sure it has nothing to do with the latest Windows update, especially as I haven't allowed the latest update to install on my PC. I don't often view replays, so I've never bothered to mention it on the forums. But it looks as though, for most of the mods since the GT/Sports mod, that something has happened to the cameras. Sometimes they appear to be positioned too close to the track, so that (as Yannick says) the cars pass by too closely, and something weird happens to the camera image. As the car approaches, the zoom factor increases, and becomes extreme. It's almost as though the car passes "through" the camera, and then the camera starts to display a "reversed" image, mirrored and upside-down. As the car passes and starts to recede, the image reverses itself again, becoming an extremely zoomed normal image. As the car moves further away, the image becomes more normal as the zoom reduces.

Edited by Saiph, Jun 12 2018 - 02:00 PM.


#38 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:1967 and 1968
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 18 2018 - 10:05 PM

I had this problem with the TV cams flipping a while ago. If I remember correctly it was gpl shift causing it for some weird reason because I had to turn it off and the cameras started working normally for me again. Maybe it was just a coincidence though.

#39 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,863 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 23 2018 - 10:48 AM

As I have a few hours to spare today, I've reactivated Windows 10 updates in the winaero tweaker and allowed update 1803 to be installed. After all the restarts had finished, I went to the control panel and turned off all the "focus assist" options. I then went into GPL and tested OpenGLv2 and Direct3Dv2 and both are working fine.

Thank you to everybody who posted about the 1803 update in this thread, [a] to let us know that there was a problem, and especially [b] those who searched around, found the cause and came up with the solution.
:thankyou: :bravo: :up:

I shall now turn off Win 10 updates again, and allow the rest of the world to be my beta tester for the next update! :tomato: :D :wave:

Edited by Saiph, Jun 23 2018 - 10:48 AM.


#40 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 23 2018 - 11:00 AM

What were the two factions called who loved technical 'gadgets' back in the 80s - early adopters and cautious people?  :)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links