Jump to content


- - - - -

Race Length %age - How Does It Work?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Millennium

Millennium

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Aug 03 2017 - 01:12 PM

I want to adjust the amount of laps for a race. I usually do Professional Short races, but for some tracks the races are a too short and on others too long. I've read that 'Race Length %age' in GEM should be able to change the race distance on Grand Prix races, but I can't figure out how.

I'm using the Thundercars mod on St-Jovite, but whatever I set the 'Race Length %age' to, it still shows a 90 lap Grand Prix.

Edited by Millennium, Aug 03 2017 - 01:14 PM.


#2 MLGathome

MLGathome

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:simracing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 04 2017 - 07:19 AM

Laps are set in the season.ini.
Long races are 30% of the gp race lap set.
Short races are 15% of th gp race lap set.

Greetings, Marcel

#3 Millennium

Millennium

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Aug 04 2017 - 10:12 AM

Thanks for the percentages, I did not know that. So it's easier to just change the amount of laps of a certain track in the season.ini. file with notepad?

Because using the 'race length %age' function in GEM doesn't seem to do anything.

#4 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 646 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 04 2017 - 10:57 AM

yep

#5 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 04 2017 - 07:25 PM

And in GEM > Seasons, you can select the season file that has the track you want to adjust.  Then in GEM highlight that track and edit it right there, rather than going into Windows Explorer.

#6 Millennium

Millennium

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Aug 05 2017 - 02:48 AM

Thank you, setting the amount of laps now works.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links