Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

Gpl Running On Linux Mint - Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#41 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 06 2020 - 07:04 AM

I just installed the new Linux mint20 on my testing PC.

just some teaser pics if you want to try it and get rid of your constant problems with banana w10  :harumph:
A whole office suite and a TV-App make it a complete OS ;)
GPL + teamspeak make it the gaming PC..

Super gimmick - GPL running in window- as long in menu - full screen in game!
So you can modify sound devices and NVidia settings being in GPL on the fly !!!

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#42 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 06 2020 - 07:51 AM

Some pics of 19AI grid 69X mod in Spa67 from the rear - the ultimate proof

i5 4670K at default 3800MHz + GTX 960- 2GB VRAM!!! + 8GB DDR3 + Monitor 2560x1080

FPS allways shown in the steering center ;)

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by Cookie, Jul 06 2020 - 07:56 AM.


#43 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 08 2020 - 11:39 AM

Axel,

Thanks very much for this tutorial.  

I have finally decided to try Linux & GPL on an old PC.   Few small problems along the way, but it's up and working and GPL is very fast considering the age of the PC.

Currently stuck on pribluda.  I'm getting garbled text (see screenshot below).  Any clues from your experiences?  I have added TrueType fonts and tried some changes in pribluda.ini, but haven't fixed it yet.

Attached File  Screenshot from 2020-07-08 18-26-00.png   1.27MB   26 downloads

#44 Markus_Gras

Markus_Gras

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:hiking, mountains, photography, social sciences
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 01:37 AM

I remember having similar issues... I think the thing I changed was the following line in the pribluda.ini:

outlineOpenglFont = 1

before it was = 0 ; I guess when you use the Open GL V2 rasterizer you need to change the value into 1, otherwise the text looks garbled.
Apart from that, which fontFace is used in your pribluda.ini? Mine is:
fontFace = Consolas

Edited by Markus_Gras, Jul 09 2020 - 01:40 AM.


#45 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 02:30 AM

I just copied my pribluda.ini from my Windows install (also OpenGL).

Font was Courier New but I tried other fonts that were installed on Linux. Tried adjusting a few settings like font size.

Thanks for the feedback, I will try outlineOpenglFont = 1.

Edited by webfoot, Jul 09 2020 - 02:32 AM.


#46 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 02:45 AM

I use brr's patched pribluda

My pribluda.ini is beginning with:

Quote

[global]
version = 1.1.2.1
blackBarRatio = 0.1041
boldFont = 0
borderSize = 3
defaultColour = 0xffffff
fontFace = Consolas ; Lucida Console ;
fontSize = 12
overlayBoards = 0
outlineOpenglFont = 1
outlineOpenglFontSize = 12
outlineOpenglFontFactor = 1.8

When the fonts get distorted in Windoze or Linux,
I have to look for the settings of CPU (intel speed step) and GPU (max performance) running in full speed

Edited by Cookie, Jul 09 2020 - 02:49 AM.


#47 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 03:19 AM

Thanks guys fixed now.

outlineOpenglFont = 1.  Helped a bit.  The font was readable but still smudged

Changed to "fontFace = Consolas"  and it's working.

#48 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 09 2020 - 03:40 AM

To set the font size i modify this

outlineOpenglFontFactor = 1.8

#49 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 16 2020 - 02:52 PM

Is there a tutorial on how to get your G27 H-Shifter working on Linux Mint 20 MATE? I'm stuck at that point...

#50 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 02:36 AM

Fairshift is the way to go, linux + shifter.

#51 Tobodestroyer2020

Tobodestroyer2020

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, French Horns, Cycling
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 04:54 AM

I've got Fairshift installed via Wine but it doesn't want to work. :( I'll try again and update you later. The program starts and then returns to desktop.

#52 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 17 2020 - 05:08 AM

Ask Marcos Mirande - he has it running...

I've never tried it

#53 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 26 2020 - 02:57 AM

Maybe we need help from the wine forum guys, imo it has to do with the way how G27 is implemented in wine control ( event - js )?

Other way could be using an arduino and make the shifter a standalone device - https://www.youtube....h?v=62ETwZq3P4Q

I have some Arduinos and shifters here...

Edited by Cookie, Jul 26 2020 - 03:00 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links