Jump to content


- - - - -

Spa 1969 Race


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#41 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,261 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 07:57 AM

Oh, original SC mod, not the Xmod...
Thanks for the clarification. :thumbup:

Your guess about a corrupt LP file could be correct if there were specific LP files for 69F1 MOD in SPA67 folder.

#42 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 08:46 AM

I do not have mod specific lp files in spa67.


I am thinking it could be something more simple like a 3do file name conflict.

But I have doubts because of the way it crashes after 3 minutes even if you are not driving and just watching from pit cam.


Paul

Edited by paul skingley, Oct 17 2019 - 08:47 AM.


#43 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 805 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 10:16 AM

Has anyone tried a different ai file from the normal 69x one?

#44 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 10:20 AM

Has anyone tried patching their 69X exe with the 4GB Patch?

#45 rcb

rcb

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Florida, USA
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 10:21 AM

Yes, same freeze with and without the patch.

#46 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 12:44 PM

I can confirm I have same problem too. As soon as first car reaches Stavelot game hangs up :(

View PostCookie, on Oct 15 2019 - 05:59 AM, said:

I just testet a 69x full grid single race at Spa67 5 laps with 60fpsaiV1 -> without problems...
Axel, please, make test without 60 fps patch.

#47 Roger_F

Roger_F

    Fiero NStar V8

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Classic Sports Cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 03:22 PM

I have been following this discussion and did a test of my own.  I just ran a three lap 69-extra novice race at SPA 67 with 19 AI, 60 fps patch, and had no problems?

SPA 67 is in my 67 Season file of my 69-extra game and I ran everything from GEM.

I have recently been stumped by driver 3do files that ran fine on other machines but not on mine?  My final solution was to find a driver / car reference that worked for the track in question on my machine and copy the 3do file; I renamed the file to the car number I wanted and changed the internal reference to the correct car mip and everything worked fine?  I rechecked the 3do and all 12 references seemed to be correct on both files ... still not sure why this worked.

You could test for this by running a mod specific driv69.ini with different driver references than you are currently using.  If it works, you have a clue that maybe something in your current driver 3dos are the problem.  You could also try replacing or removing one driver at a time in the current 69driv.ini and see if you can isolate a single driver 3do as the problem.

Keep trying, there is a solution to your dilemma!


Good luck ... Roger

#48 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 03:35 PM

Previously I have tried a driver ini with just one driver - but I get the same result.

I tried changing the driver car/driver twice but it made no difference. Then ran out of time.


If the problem could be narrowed down to a team or even better a graphics option in a team it should be an easy fix.


With 45 car folders to check the diagnosis will be more time consuming than the cure :)



Paul

#49 Brocky05

Brocky05

    King of the Mountain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Long And Winding Road
  • Interests:I'm Way Too Addicted to GPL For Anything Else
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 08:41 PM

View Postpaul skingley, on Oct 17 2019 - 05:47 AM, said:

We are all trying to help :)


I do not have this EXACT problem at any other track ( including long tracks ). Does anyone else ?

That is why I do not believe it is load related due to extra cars or whatever.

Logic tells me if it works at every other track and not at spa67 the answer must be in spa67 somewhere.



Paul
i just ran a race at Wiesbaden had the same problem as Spa about 3/4 way around

#50 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 20 2020 - 11:43 PM

I'm sorry to bring this discussion again...but just to be sure about it...

The problems of 69x in spa67 are only against ai drivers? Or also online?

We'll race this combination soon in Mybroga and I need to know if we should change to papy Spa.

Thanks, Marcos

#51 Reco21

Reco21

    Jacky Ickx

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 08:28 AM

I remember fixing it this way. My GPL crashed too. I thought of changing the rasterizer to OpenGL (I was always using Direct3D) and it didn't cause me any more problems, that's the last thing I remember, I don't know if the rasterizer has anything to do with it, but it might help to know where the problem is.

#52 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 08:29 AM

afair it has to do with the size of replayMemoryOverride

[ Replay ]
replayMemoryOverride = 98000 ( < 192000)

Posted Image

Edited by Cookie, Jul 21 2020 - 08:34 AM.


#53 Saiph

Saiph

    Still driving 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. simulations, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 09:04 AM

I don't think anyone has come up with a definite answer for this problem. After seeing Marcos' post I've been doing some testing. I've changed my replayMemoryOverride from 200000 down to 180000, then down to 98000, and it made no difference. As the crash happens at one particular place (when cars reach Stavelot) I've tried adjusting the FB view distance in that area of the track to see if that helped, and it didn't. I've tried adjusting every graphics option I can think of (including OpenGL/D3D, 60fps/36fps) and that didn't help either. It's a puzzling problem.

#54 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 09:21 AM

Ok, thanks for the feedback. I think we should change our schedule...

Cheers. Marcos

#55 Reco21

Reco21

    Jacky Ickx

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 09:31 AM

Yeah, I see it's a very, very particular problem with the mod 69x, a pity.

#56 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 04:06 PM

View Postmcmirande, on Jul 21 2020 - 09:21 AM, said:

Ok, thanks for the feedback. I think we should change our schedule...

Cheers. Marcos
Marcos this are offline AI problems, not online!

We raced at UKGPL some races 69X 60fps

https://www.simracin...15448#event6125
https://www.simracin...18572#event8211

#57 Brocky05

Brocky05

    King of the Mountain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Long And Winding Road
  • Interests:I'm Way Too Addicted to GPL For Anything Else
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 06:05 PM

in the last yr i have upgraded my pc

on the old pc i could run this track in hi-res 60fps full grid without a problem

with the new pc  nope no how no way i have tried most fixes people have suggested 4gb patch lowered replay memory to 98000 lo-res patch among others

still carn't get a full lap even hot lapping

next i mite try different ini's see how that goes ok that didn't work

i did remember that two of the drivers had the same car # (Ickx and Rodriguez as it turned out) so i changed that and as per normal i deleted the gplx69exe

there must be something im missing

thinking back to when Spa67 came out i do recall changing the # in the ini was what got the track working for me but not this time hmmmm

what to do

Edited by Brocky05, Jul 21 2020 - 07:10 PM.


#58 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 21 2020 - 07:56 PM

With it only affecting offline races and only with a specific mod I would suspect an AI issue, and I would not be optimistic of finding a solution.  I've encountered this with other Sierra sims, though not with a CTD result, but a particular mod and a particular track just would not play well together;  and people poking into the files could find no reasons, so the "solution" was a mental note to not run that mod at that track.

#59 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 805 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 22 2020 - 01:47 AM

It's all so frustrating because a Grand Prix run in 1969 at the old Spa is one of the great 'what if' races.

#60 Brocky05

Brocky05

    King of the Mountain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Long And Winding Road
  • Interests:I'm Way Too Addicted to GPL For Anything Else
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 31 2020 - 11:21 PM

i just ran the 60fpsaiV1 patch now i can run the track no problem

full grid 60fps back of the grid at the start line no slow down at all




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links