Jump to content


- - - - -

3.1 Update


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 17 2015 - 06:29 PM

I had the download P&G again. I got the 3.0 installed fine, and it runs good. For the life of me I can't get the 3.1 update downloaded. I keep getting an error. I tried all the sites that are offered the download.

A couple of them will give me the whole 434mgs, and just as it finalizes the download I get the error. What can I try doing different?

#2 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 17 2015 - 06:46 PM

Just tried again, and same deal. I got the whole 434 mgs, and then a pause of a few seconds, and it says failed-download error.

I thought maybe it was a problem with Chrome, so I tried the download on IE, and got the same thing. Why the problem with 3.1, and not 3.0, or any other download?

#3 tdurrett

tdurrett

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 17 2015 - 07:37 PM

No problems with the DrivingItalia site d/l  -- and the file passed my Norton Antivirus.  D/l took a little time to be able read about 3.1 updates--I'm "testing" it tomorrow.

#4 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 17 2015 - 07:52 PM

I tried that site 3 times. # failed downloads. I'm not saying there's something wrong with the web sites. They all do the same thing for me.

#5 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 18 2015 - 02:58 AM

Suggestion Pete.
Could it be your AV stopping it ? Unless you already know!

TP:

#6 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 18 2015 - 08:51 AM

I would think that, but why didn't it stop it when I downloaded 3.0? Same web sites.

#7 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 18 2015 - 01:04 PM

Will have a look myself Pete on download.
I have P&G installed also but can't remember how I went about it now or what I downloaded.

TP:

#8 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 18 2015 - 01:15 PM

I know the problem now. There's an error in my install, and the update won't install, or complete the download, because it can't install.

When I start the 3.0 install it says err-unpacking. I just click ok, and then it starts up and plays fine, but won't update. I downloaded the whole thing again. Even install GPR2 again. I still get the error. I'm not doing anything different than the past installs, so i have no idea what's doing it. I'll just run it without the update. I'm driving the Porshe, and it's not on the list for any updates, so maybe i'm not missing anything.

Edited by Pete Gaimari, Mar 18 2015 - 01:15 PM.


#9 David Wright Lo67

David Wright Lo67

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 19 2015 - 08:07 AM

This might help identify the problem if you want to.

http://www.nogriprac...863&postcount=2

#10 cicciori

cicciori

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted May 21 2015 - 08:36 AM

Hello everybody,

i'm trying to download PnGv3.1_updater.exe from many servers, but my AVAST always blocks it, stating it has found a Win32:Malware-gen !

Do you perhaps know if everything is ok and it is only a false-positive or maybe is it really infected ???

Many thanks for now

#11 David Wright Lo67

David Wright Lo67

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 21 2015 - 10:44 AM

View Postcicciori, on May 21 2015 - 08:36 AM, said:

Hello everybody,

i'm trying to download PnGv3.1_updater.exe from many servers, but my AVAST always blocks it, stating it has found a Win32:Malware-gen !

Do you perhaps know if everything is ok and it is only a false-positive or maybe is it really infected ???

Many thanks for now

I think this has been resolved at NoGrip.  For any others reading, its a false positive.

#12 cicciori

cicciori

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted May 21 2015 - 10:49 AM

View PostDavid Wright Lo67, on May 21 2015 - 10:44 AM, said:

View Postcicciori, on May 21 2015 - 08:36 AM, said:

Hello everybody,

i'm trying to download PnGv3.1_updater.exe from many servers, but my AVAST always blocks it, stating it has found a Win32:Malware-gen !

Do you perhaps know if everything is ok and it is only a false-positive or maybe is it really infected ???

Many thanks for now

I think this has been resolved at NoGrip.  For any others reading, its a false positive.

Thanks a lot man !

#13 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2015 - 07:19 AM

Well, I finally got I working. The new 15.7.1 drivers seem to fix whatever the problem was, because nothing else is different.

The best part is I can use supersampling in GTR2, GTL, and P&G. It has taken out all jaggies completely. I still get between 150-200fps. They're the best looking smoothest running sims I have. For some reason supersampling doesn't help at all with AC, GPL, and Pcars. I still get jaggies in those sims.

So, i'm pretty much driving P&G full time now, because it looks so good. GTL is easier to drive than P&G, and P&G has so many more cars that it's an easy choice on which one to drive. I wish it had the era tracks to go with the cars.

#14 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucum├ín, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 12 2015 - 09:39 AM

Is there some P&G online league? I always thought that many GPLers would like this sim-mod too.

#15 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 12 2015 - 02:09 PM

View Postmcmirande, on Aug 12 2015 - 09:39 AM, said:

Is there some P&G online league? I always thought that many GPLers would like this sim-mod too.

I had some good P&G (and GTL) races here:
http://www.gamers-crib.com




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links