Jump to content


- - - - -

Nvidia 560Ti Few Fps When Chat In Game


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 gringocordoba

gringocordoba

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jul 24 2012 - 05:01 PM

Windows 7 64 bits, Q6600, 4gb ram

How can i solve that? Open glide v2 I m using because D3Dv2 gives very few FPS.

I tried the last drivers without improve

Thanks for all friends

PS: My old XP core2duo 5500 with 8800GTX original rasterizers and old drivers was WAY WAY BETTER FOR GPL

Edited by gringocordoba, Jul 24 2012 - 07:44 PM.


#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 24 2012 - 07:40 PM

I have an nVidia GTX 580, Windows 7,  and have that problem, only just slightly.  When I updated the drivers to the latest (301.42) it got MUCH worse, so I went back to the 285.62 drivers which are much better.  I also use OpenGL v2.

See http://srmz.net/inde...topic=6459&st=0 post #34 for my settings in nVidia Inspector.

#3 gringocordoba

gringocordoba

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jul 24 2012 - 07:48 PM

Thanks Bob!!!

I have to see if I can use that drivers with the 560ti (older drivers than video card?) I read in another thread a guy using 296.10

#4 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 24 2012 - 11:56 PM

The stuttering on chat and join/disconnect messages when using new rasterisers is well known. Its caused by inefficient text rendering in the new rasterisers. Not much that can be done about it, either use old rasterisers or disable chat (though it does not help with join/disco stutter). Different video drivers might do something, but its unlikely that any driver will solve it completely.

#5 Tussman

Tussman

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2012 - 03:01 AM

In GPL-shift there is a setting for font size. Find the [GPL Font] Auto_Set_GPL_Font_Size and set it to 0. You might find the chat a bit hard to read, the text gets rather small but it helped me with the fps drops anyway.

Göran

#6 Frenchy

Frenchy

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 25 2012 - 11:53 AM

View PostTussman, on Jul 25 2012 - 03:01 AM, said:

In GPL-shift there is a setting for font size. Find the [GPL Font] Auto_Set_GPL_Font_Size and set it to 0. You might find the chat a bit hard to read, the text gets rather small but it helped me with the fps drops anyway.

Göran

I had this problem for ages. Tried everything but Göran's suggestion was my only solution. Thanks for posting mate  :thumbup:

#7 gringocordoba

gringocordoba

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Jul 26 2012 - 04:10 PM

View PostFrenchy, on Jul 25 2012 - 11:53 AM, said:

View PostTussman, on Jul 25 2012 - 03:01 AM, said:

In GPL-shift there is a setting for font size. Find the [GPL Font] Auto_Set_GPL_Font_Size and set it to 0. You might find the chat a bit hard to read, the text gets rather small but it helped me with the fps drops anyway.

Göran

I had this problem for ages. Tried everything but Göran's suggestion was my only solution. Thanks for posting mate  :thumbup:


YOU RE AN IDOL FRIEND!!!!!

THIS THREAD HAS TO BE A STICKY LOL!!!!

MANY MANY THANKS!!!

#8 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 26 2013 - 04:47 AM

Since I don't use a shifter I'm a little afraid to mess something up with GPLshift. Wouldn't it be possible for someone with the skills to build an option for getting rid of chats and server messages into one of these xml-thingies for gem?

#9 Olaf Lehmann

Olaf Lehmann

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 03 2020 - 11:07 AM

Thanks Yngwie for the link to this thread in my thread.
Görans hint was the solution.

Quote

Since I don't use a shifter I'm a little afraid to mess something up with GPLshift. Wouldn't it be possible for someone with the skills to build an option for getting rid of chats and server messages into one of these xml-thingies for gem?

Unfortunately I don't see an xml solution.
But I have an small patch for people which have framedrops because of the gpl own digital dashline.

patch:
http://race.eolc.de/...ann/noDIGI.zip

Readme:

Quote

noDIGI is made to avoid framedrops in online racing with ogl_v2.
The gpl own digital displays like gear, speed rpm, oil pressure... produces with new PCs massive frame drops.
Because the pribluda dashline has all this values (and makes in most cases no or less Problems) the idea of this patch is to eliminate the gpl own displays.

INSTALLATION
Simply put noDIGI.xml into GEM/Optioms folder and activate it in GEM+.

BR Olaf

#10 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,447 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 03 2020 - 01:03 PM

I haven't ried Olaf's patch, but I've done some other testing.

While Tussman/Göran's solution makes a big difference, using no AA will improve the framerate a bit more.

GPL_font = 2 + AA at 16x > framerate with about 20 characters goes to 9 to 11
GPL_font = 0 + AA at 16x > framerate with about 20 characters goes to 14 to 19
GPL_font = 0 + AA at 2x> framerate with about 20 characters goes to 21 to 26
GPL_font = 0 + AA off > framerate with about 20 characters goes to 26 to 30

So with my 1920x1080 screen, no AA isn't too bad, but going up to 2x AA only gives me a small hit and only when there is a text on the screen.

It seems to me that it's the font in GPL's text which is the culprit and not Pribluda.  I've done tests with Pribluda changing font and font size without any framerate difference.

I don't know if there's anything that can be done to improve the GPL font.  Is there any way to change the actual font with a hex editor? In GPLShift, there is "optx15b & 16b" mentioned for font. I guess that the size could be made so small that it's totally unreadable at least.

#11 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 04 2020 - 07:50 AM

Yes, the culprit is the openGL font rendering in the OGLV2 rasterizer, maybe we need someone who is able to overhaul it to "modern" times.

But the biggest problem is that GPL is not detected by the OS-CPU and GPU drivers as a 3D program, so you have to put the CPU in high mode (disable intel speed step) and to set high quality in graphics drivers to get the 3D mode.

#12 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Breathing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 04 2020 - 08:15 AM

Thanks for the Patch, Olaf! :up:

#13 Olaf Lehmann

Olaf Lehmann

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 04 2020 - 10:28 AM

It's sad that people with very fast PCs have problems to get 60fps in an old game.
But we have seen in this thread with some tricks it works.

I try to summarize what we find out in this thread. So people have lesser excuses not to drive 60fps...

SO - IF YOU SAY: "I CANNOT DRIVE 60FPS BECAUSE MY PC IS TO SLOW" - READ THIS (especially if you have problems with oglv2):

I have only 25/30/35 fps all the time:

More than likely the gpl own dashline (OIl pressure, speed, gear, rpm, etc.) is the reason.
Solution 1: Deactivate GPLDigitalDisplayModifier! It means: Open this tool and set the radio button to "Analogue Meters Only" (For safety please make a copy of your gpl.exe before)
Solution 2: Use the patch in post 9 of this thread! In this case the dashline will be deactivated in F10 view too.

Solution 3: Use Lees Letterbox patch!

Too display the dashline values use pribluda. Pribluda is decreasing framerate minimalistic.


When I see in Online racing a chat message or messages like: "Driver XXX has joined." or "Driver XXX has left the server." the framerate drops for a second.

Solution: The Göran trick: Activate GPLShift. Find the [GPL Font] Auto_Set_GPL_Font_Size in GPLshift.ini and set it to 0!



Do you still have to less fps try lesser AA values. See Bobs post (post 10)!


I hope this could animate anyone to give 60fps another chance!


BR Olaf

Edited by Olaf Lehmann, Feb 04 2020 - 10:31 AM.


#14 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 04 2020 - 11:03 AM

To have a smooth GPL @ 60fps all CPU+GPU clocks should be constant at maximum!
I have just a minimal flicker when there are chat messages, never disturbing!
Görans settings are in my gplshift.ini.

My NV GPL settings +
Just online training at 69X Montjuich:

Attached Files


Edited by Cookie, Feb 04 2020 - 11:18 AM.


#15 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,648 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 15 2020 - 03:24 PM

View PostOlaf Lehmann, on Feb 04 2020 - 10:28 AM, said:

When I see in Online racing a chat message or messages like: "Driver XXX has joined." or "Driver XXX has left the server." the framerate drops for a second.

Solution: The Göran trick: Activate GPLShift. Find the [GPL Font] Auto_Set_GPL_Font_Size in GPLshift.ini and set it to 0!

Olaf, thx for the sum up.


Sadly it does not help much for me when I set the font size in GPLshift.ini to 0. I still have a flicker when GPL displays the text that a driver has joined to the server or has disconnected. The flicker can be so bad that I don`t know where my car is for a moment and I crash. That is deadly at an online race.

Is there no other way than to reduce the AA settings according to Bob?
http://srmz.net/inde...98
I really would like to keep my eye-candy settings.

Is there any way to completely turn off GPL`s join or disconnect chat messages?

Edited by Stefan Roess, Apr 16 2020 - 12:33 PM.


#16 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 15 2020 - 06:10 PM

Stefan does your CPU and GPU are in the highest clock state when you run GPL?

Afaik you use a PhenomII , do you use Phenommsrtweaker? Look at my pic above the open Hardware Monitor is showing the clocks.
The clock of the CPU has a big impact to the graphic quality of GPL, if not in max clock especially the fonts of pribluda look blurry!

When you drive 36fps maybe the flicker lasts longer than with 60fps?

Edited by Cookie, Apr 15 2020 - 06:18 PM.


#17 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,648 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 15 2020 - 06:31 PM

Thx Axel.

Looks fine, isn`t it?

Attached Files



#18 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 16 2020 - 02:10 AM

Stefan can you activate the "show plot" in ohwm and check the boxes of the clocks.

in phenommsrtweaker go to services and disable the throtteling down. fix it to P0

Now please drive a lap or two and look at  the graph...

You should have flat lines!

#19 Olaf Lehmann

Olaf Lehmann

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 16 2020 - 02:32 AM

Quote

Is there any way to completely turn off GPL`s join or disconnect chat messages?

I don't know. And I don't know how much time is needed to do that.

But I have an idea: Somewhere in gpl.exe is written "Verbindung abgebrochen" and "Verbunden" (that's the german message - for non german guys). It's possible to open gpl.exe with Hex Editor, searching for the text (it's unicode) and set spaces for the complete text (or space for the first letter and hexadecimal double 00 for the second letter). Then only the driver will be displayed. So the framerate should be better.
To test it you need a second paricipant. But I have tried this technology with the the help text ("F1 für Hilfe drücken"). In this case the framerate is significant better if I deactivate the Göran trick.

If I find the time I'll if it's possible to deactivate the messages total.

BR Olaf

#20 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 16 2020 - 03:42 AM

Great idea Olaf

I may help, I can host and join with other pcs.


where did you find the sentence "F1 für Hilfe drücken"
All I found yet is the german translated text of the menues...

Attached Files


Edited by Cookie, Apr 16 2020 - 04:18 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links