Jump to content


- - - - -

Spa 1969 Race


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#21 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 11:10 AM

The GPU of this linux PC is a GTX 960 with 2GB of VRAM! The CPU is an i3 4170 and 8GB DDR3 RAM ...

Can you give me concrete instructions of your settings in GPL and circumstances that lead to the freeze please, so I can try these.


PS

2 laps with my race PC: https://www.sendspace.com/file/fczr3j

Edited by Cookie, Oct 16 2019 - 11:38 AM.


#22 rcb

rcb

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Florida, USA
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 11:50 AM

8gb card here and it always freezes the moment the first car reaches mid stavelot.  I've tested a bunch of configs with no luck.   Also found no 3do or mip naming conflicts either between the carset and the track.

#23 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 01:37 PM

View Postpioujd428, on Oct 16 2019 - 08:08 AM, said:

Well unless someone else finds a solution, which I hope they do, this is the final word from me and my tests on this against the ai.

Original 69x physics: spa67 freezes about 3 minutes in no matter what

Original sports car physics with 69x 90.xml: no freezes

:thumbup:

What does the 90.xml file do?

#24 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 02:27 PM

View PostJonnyA, on Oct 16 2019 - 01:37 PM, said:

What does the 90.xml file do?

Without it you don't have 69mod

#25 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 02:37 PM

Sorry, I'm still confused.

#26 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 03:10 PM

It's simple - if you take away some of the mod's physics and replace it with stuff from another mod the cars will not drive the same.

:)


Anyway my focus would be the track and not the mod.



Paul

Edited by paul skingley, Oct 16 2019 - 03:12 PM.


#27 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 06:04 PM

I'm surprised that the 90.xml from the 69X mod will even run with the original sports car mod.  :confused:

#28 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 06:17 PM

View PostLee200, on Oct 16 2019 - 06:04 PM, said:

I'm surprised that the 90.xml from the 69X mod will even run with the original sports car mod.  :confused:


Me too :)


Curt, thanks for the feedback which means the problem is probably not video ram related.


Paul

#29 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,362 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 06:24 PM

Anyone have the system specs to use the 4GB Patch on their 69X exe file?
I've found that getting the extra system memory for Spa67 works wonders.
I don't have 69X Mod ... so cannot test this.

#30 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:1967 and 1968 F1, Tasman Series
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 06:53 PM

View Postpaul skingley, on Oct 16 2019 - 03:10 PM, said:

It's simple - if you take away some of the mod's physics and replace it with stuff from another mod the cars will not drive the same.

:)


Anyway my focus would be the track and not the mod.



Paul

How can it be a problem with the track when it works perfectly with every other mod? If I remember correctly even the original 69s.

Edited by pioujd428, Oct 16 2019 - 06:56 PM.


#31 Brocky05

Brocky05

    King of the Mountain

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 270 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Long And Winding Road
  • Interests:I'm Way Too Addicted to GPL For Anything Else
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 16 2019 - 08:35 PM

before i upgraded my mobo  cpu n ram i could run a full field race @ spa with the 69x mod now i carnt i have used every trick i could think of to get it goin still wont work for me

on the bright side i can run it at a solid 36fps  with a single car

oh btw i have still got my old 1070gtx 8gig card so im tippin its not that

#32 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,322 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 04:00 AM

View Postpioujd428, on Oct 16 2019 - 06:53 PM, said:

How can it be a problem with the track when it works perfectly with every other mod? If I remember correctly even the original 69s.

I guess because the 69 Extra uses the most car slots of any mod. Therefore it is much heavier on the system.
It can happen that a track crashes with one car mod but not with another car mod. We have this every now and then when beta testing.
We also experience this at GPLRACER online races. A final track can run fine (or almost fine) with mod A but can cause freezes and CTDs with mod B.
This also happens on strong PC systems.

But Lee and Paul know way better than I do. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Oct 17 2019 - 04:00 AM.


#33 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:1967 and 1968 F1, Tasman Series
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 04:41 AM

I would agree with that thought Stefan if I couldn't get the 69s to run with the old sportscar physics. Here's a pic of the ai finishing their first lap heading into La Source. All I can think of for proof haha. As I have mentioned before I get the same freeze as others at Stavelot with the original 69x physics. Obviously as I have done both tests on my own pc with all the same settings it at least 100% rules out anything to do with my pc as my issue. :thumbup:

I am not trying to hate on the 69x physics. They work great. For whatever reason something doesn't work at Spa67 though and I am just trying to help figure out what it is.

Attached Files


Edited by pioujd428, Oct 17 2019 - 04:58 AM.


#34 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,322 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 05:22 AM

View Postpioujd428, on Oct 17 2019 - 04:41 AM, said:

I would agree with that thought Stefan if I couldn't get the 69s to run with the old sportscar physics.

But the many 69x car slots stay the same, even if you manage to run 69x with the old GT physics.
GPL always loads all cars of a mod.

View Postpioujd428, on Oct 17 2019 - 04:41 AM, said:

I am not trying to hate on the 69x physics. They work great. For whatever reason something doesn't work at Spa67 though and I am just trying to help figure out what it is.

I know. I also only try to help. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Oct 17 2019 - 05:22 AM.


#35 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 05:47 AM

We are all trying to help :)


I do not have this EXACT problem at any other track ( including long tracks ). Does anyone else ?

That is why I do not believe it is load related due to extra cars or whatever.

Logic tells me if it works at every other track and not at spa67 the answer must be in spa67 somewhere.



Paul

#36 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 05:51 AM

Chris, I wasn't doubting that you got it run, but am totally flabbergasted how that could work.  The physics files are very mod specific and normally are totally incompatible with another mod.

I assume you have the 69X and original Sports Car mods in the same installation; otherwise there would be many missing files and the mod wouldn't run.  One thing that is different with the 69X mod is that the physics are split between three separate files unlike most mods where there is only one.  I no longer have the original Sports Cars installed so don't know if it were the same.

Just weird.

Regardless, I've no clue how to fix the 69X and Spa67 incompatibility.

Edited by Lee200, Oct 17 2019 - 05:54 AM.


#37 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 06:02 AM

As Lee said;
could be possible that by using only the 90.xml together with SCxmod other physics files, it just don't let all the 40 and more slots load; while using the whole physics set, they do load and together with the hugeness of SPA67 cause problems.
Can that be the reason why 69xmod works in the first configuration? :unsure:

#38 paul skingley

paul skingley

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 06:35 AM

Interesting, but 66 works fine and has the same structure although not as many graphic options.


Good to see some of the A team looking at this problem :thumbup:



Paul

#39 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,322 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 06:55 AM

View Postpaul skingley, on Oct 17 2019 - 06:35 AM, said:

Good to see some of the A team looking at this problem :thumbup:

I couldn`t hold back. :D

Attached Files



#40 pioujd428

pioujd428

    Chris

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perth Australia
  • Interests:1967 and 1968 F1, Tasman Series
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 17 2019 - 07:46 AM

Lee I think only the 90 and 91 xmls are used to load the cars folder so replacing those it is simple to get a mod to run. In all my testing none of the other xmls cause problems getting into a track that I can remember. Maybe I just know what I am doing now though after fiddling about with my projects for so long.

There are only the 2 sets of physics I know of that can load all 51 car folders, the original sports cars and 69x. All the 45 69x car folders definitely load with the original sports car set.

Maybe the freeze is caused by a bump, ai line or something else at stavelot that the physics can't handle in 69x? That seems unlikely to me but I can't think of anything else. :thumbup:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links