Jump to content


- - - - -

Cannot Lockup My Brakes (Abs Always On)


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 04:17 AM

Hi lads,

as per title, the brakes have abs not matter the car :( I know that ABS was implemented for the BMW CSL and it's turned off for other cars, but it is not the case for me. All cars have the tipical ISI abs on, I know it too well not to recognize it. It severly impacts my driving performance. Is there a way to get rid of it?

#2 David Wright Lo67

David Wright Lo67

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 07:11 AM

That's a strange one - not had it before.  Note ABS is enabled for all cars in the game, but the physics files are such that it only has an effect in the BMW.


I did wonder if you had left the game in novice difficulty which has braking assist by default but I've just tested this and braking assist doesn't stop the brakes from locking.  I'm also puzzled by why ABS would severely impact your driving performance.

What controller are you using?   Have you checked you are getting full range of input in the Controls menu for whatever you are using to activate the brakes?

Edited by David Wright Lo67, Apr 09 2016 - 07:12 AM.


#3 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 07:44 AM

My controller is a Thrustmaster GPX, you can see it in my signature inside my profile page. I tried a lot of different things but brakes do not lock up :( driving is affected because it needs more space to stop the car than without abs

#4 David Wright Lo67

David Wright Lo67

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 09:19 AM

Did you check you are getting full range of input for your brake controller?  Does the red bar go all the way to the right? Are you using a button for brakes or the little joystick?

Attached Files



#5 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 09:31 AM

I use the trigger axis for throttle and brake

my settings
Attached File  GTR2_1.jpg   94.9K   10 downloads
Attached File  GTR2_2.jpg   89.99K   9 downloads

#6 David Wright Lo67

David Wright Lo67

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 09:58 AM

Either there is some way GTR2 can bypass the physics files and apply ABS when using a joypad, or you are not getting maximum braking.

Its interesting ABS is set on low.  For my G25 in P&G ABS is set to high and I can't alter it in the in-game menu.

Just to prove to me the ABS is somehow on could you try driving the Zakspeed Escort on slicks in 100% rain and see if you can lock the front wheels?

#7 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 10:24 AM

View PostDavid Wright Lo67, on Apr 09 2016 - 09:58 AM, said:

Either there is some way GTR2 can bypass the physics files and apply ABS when using a joypad

I fear it might be that :(

View PostDavid Wright Lo67, on Apr 09 2016 - 09:58 AM, said:

Just to prove to me the ABS is somehow on could you try driving the Zakspeed Escort on slicks in 100% rain and see if you can lock the front wheels?

Will do and report back, check this post again as sometimes double posts get incorporated

#8 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 10:34 AM

Yes they did, halfway through the braking! I don't know what's wrong then..

Edited by leon_90, Apr 09 2016 - 10:43 AM.


#9 David Wright Lo67

David Wright Lo67

    Denny Hulme

  • GTLW Crew
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL, GTL and P&G
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 02:10 PM

The brakes in P&G do not lock easily when braking in a straight line in the dry.  Some won't lock at all unless its wet or you try braking and steering at the same time.  In addition when cold they are not very effective, and definitely won't lock.   This is probably why they only locked half way through braking in your test.

So if you are not getting 100% of the maximum brake input with your controller this might explain the problem.  

Unless you've already tried it you might try changing brake sensitivity to 100%

The Zakspeed Escort should be able to lock its front brakes in the dry in a straight line once they are warm.

Edited by David Wright Lo67, Apr 09 2016 - 02:15 PM.


#10 leon_90

leon_90

    Lorenzo Bandini

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy/Puglia
  • Interests:everything that has a Ferrari V12 inside
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 09 2016 - 03:10 PM

Understood ;) thank you for the explanation David and your patience, as always :) have a nice weekend!

View PostDavid Wright Lo67, on Apr 09 2016 - 02:10 PM, said:

Unless you've already tried it you might try changing brake sensitivity to 100%

Will do!

Edited by leon_90, Apr 09 2016 - 03:45 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links