Bruce McLaren

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Interests:Football, Old school and present racing, History
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Oct 09 2017 - 04:23 AM

Hello,

Does anyone around here is knowledgeable about the original F1 Seven mod? Although I regard it as an absolute unsurpassed master piece in terms of graphical detail (where else you can find the 70-5 seasons with all cars and liveries?) I always found the physics to be way, way out.
Compared to the GPL 69 cars per instance, or even the rfactor 79's (which had ground effect for Christ's sake!), the F1 Seven cars are just glued to the track and understeer like pigs.

Although I'm no physics expert I'm looking to at least compile a list of things that are wrong and can be changed for future reference. I know it's an old game but the mod was not wholly converted to rfactor and what was did not seem very well done.

So far one of the things I more or less sorted out are the tyres, which in the original game are entirely wrong and are probably the main culprit for making the cars so tame.
For my private use only, of course, I borrowed the tyres from the rfactor HSO 1972 F5000 mod and F1 Seven became an entirely different game, very much more GPL-wise and akin to vids from those times. In two words: a powerslide party.

I'm also looking to get some other things right, in particular 'mass', which I'm not sure the modders got very right. The cars' weight in those times is usually between 550 and 590 and I see 'mass' values varying wildly from low to high 600's.

So yeah, if you have any further feedback on this mod's physics it will be most appreciated!

Edited by guiporsche, Oct 09 2017 - 05:02 AM.

#2 twinpotter

twinpotter

Richard "Dick"Seaman

• Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 09 2017 - 04:31 PM

Don't know if your aware of the player PLR file.