Jump to content


* * * * * 2 votes

Gpl On Linux


  • Please log in to reply
127 replies to this topic

#21 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 865 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 04 2014 - 06:07 AM

Good news, I hope...

http://community.spe...c.php?f=7&t=594

#22 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 04 2014 - 07:18 AM

:up: :up:

Will read it. Thanks!

#23 bart

bart

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Interests:Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 12 2014 - 01:43 AM

Something totally different but still Linux-related that I noticed just yesterday;
I totally forgot that Windows isn't case-sensitive like Linux, and by coincidence I noticed a lot of duplicate files in some track directories when installing addons... :gaah:

So to make sure all the necessary files are being overwritten / replaced I now use these 2 commands to check for duplicate file names, and than convert them to lowercase:

Check file names:
find . -maxdepth 2 -printf "%p\n" | sort -f | uniq -di

- maxdepth determines how 'deep' the search goes (subdirectories)
- printf %p prints the whole file path

Convert to lowercase:
convmv -r --lower --notest *

- default, convmv only shows the possible changes. Use --notest to actually perform those changes
- use --upper to convert to uppercase

#24 willevans

willevans

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:flight sim, gpl, piano
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2014 - 12:11 AM

I prefer to use GPL in wine because it just seems to run much better than in windows or virtualbox but GEM failed to run.

In case it is of use to anyone I found that changing my wine configuration from windows7 to windows xp fixed the problem.
I now have everything running in Linux.
One minor problem is that when starting GPL from GEM, using ESC to get back to your options takes ages (like a minute)
but after that first time it starts to operate as normal.

Regards Pete

#25 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2014 - 04:28 PM

Thanks Pete!

Could you make Force Feedback run on Linux? It was the point in which I abandoned my previous attempt...

Cheers, Marcos.

EDIT... Don't remember having tried the solution in the link provided by Cookie... If I remember well, it worked only on Ubuntu (and not in my Arch)

Edited by mcmirande, Nov 26 2014 - 04:31 PM.


#26 willevans

willevans

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:flight sim, gpl, piano
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2014 - 09:57 PM

Haven't tried to get FF working yet.

Just as a small update on my previous post about getting GEM running. While it does work there are issues
so I am now using it do the changes I need then exit and start gpl seperately.

Not ideal but the only trouble free option I have at the moment.

Of course I could just go back to running in virtualbox. May have another look at that later as it does appear to
run ok in virtualbox but I haven't tested it properly as yet.

[update]
virtualbox - Everything runs as it should if use vbox in fullscreen but the performance is not the best so back to wine for me.

Regards

Edited by willevans, Nov 26 2014 - 11:24 PM.


#27 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 27 2014 - 05:24 PM

Thanks for the info.

Cheers, Marcos,

#28 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2014 - 01:31 PM

I was trying again (not FFB though).

I discovered that it works rather good on Mate desktop, even with 60fps patch (on my laptop with integrated graphic card), but only when no car is close to me. In full-grid starts fps go down to 20-25 (when on Windows I have about 50).

Also I noticed some momentary "freezes", as if the computer were using some resources in other operations while I'm on GPL. I think windows directs all resources to games when running, but apparently wine/Linux doesn't (at least as default). I think some config of wine could help here, but I don't know which...

Other thing I noticed is that the graphic rendering on Linux is far better than in windows. Everything is more briliant and shiny :)

If somebody know how to assign more resources to wine/GPL, would be great to know it.

Cheers, Marcos.

#29 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2014 - 02:31 PM

Two issues are still pendant, in addition to FFB

1) Menus and replays are too slow under opengl. I don't know if somebody got a solution to that.
2) Online racing is not possible... Or at least I did not manage to make it work.

#30 willevans

willevans

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:flight sim, gpl, piano
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 08 2014 - 10:30 PM

I have everything working well under wine so I don't know what to suggest. Maybe make sure nothing else is running might help. Latest version of Wine is probably best (though occasionally it can break something). Another possibilty may be the 60fps patch, I don't use it as I use the AI mostly and I have heard reports the AI and 60fps patch don't play nicely.

I haven't tested online. I did install igor and vroc though and they do connect up ok but I have not tried to join a race.

#31 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 21 2014 - 06:32 PM

Hello new member here.
I use Peppermint Linux 5 and GPL runs great. Not sure if the 60fps patch is working though as I only got Gem to work tonight.

#32 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 21 2014 - 06:59 PM

Interesting Demag!

have you tested ForceFeedback ? Are you using directx or openGL?

Thanks, Marcos.

Edited by mcmirande, Dec 21 2014 - 07:00 PM.


#33 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 22 2014 - 06:13 PM

No never tried force feedback and found 60fps not running but I found some install instructions and I didn't install it right. Running top res graphics but get a headache after an hour so will work on that tomorrow. Also 65mod not running but 69, F2 and sports cars are fine.

I bought the original cd when it came out all those years ago and played against my son many times. I hadn't used it for years but upgraded my computer recently and gave it a go. I updated to the latest version of Wine and the install was very smooth. Dug out the old wheel and here we are. I have some old disks with tracks and car files somewhere as well.

#34 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 22 2014 - 06:17 PM

Oops sorry yes am running OpenGl.

#35 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 22 2014 - 06:34 PM

Then, welcome again, demag!

Thanks for the info.

#36 willevans

willevans

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:flight sim, gpl, piano
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 22 2014 - 09:57 PM

I did manage to get gpl running very well in linux. The only problems were not having FF and also more recently when I joined a server on vroc. Incredibly it was bringing the vroc server down, we did verify this. What was strange was the week before I had no issues online. Anyway, these 2 things forced me to resurrect a windows installation. Shame though as the graphics  were superior in linux.

Regards Pete

#37 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 23 2014 - 07:05 AM

Yes! I don't know why could it be possible... but graphics (not fps) are better on linux!!

I would like to join my online racings directly from linux, but to do it safely, I found the same problems than you: no FFB, no connection to servers (neither through vroc nor by ip) and some erratic working of menus and especially replays that make me feel GPL will eventually crash...

I'm using Manjaro (an Arch derived distro) and Mate as graphic environment. I also tested Gnome (doesn't work for me) and xfce (works just as Mate)

Cheers and thanks for the feedback.

Marcos.

#38 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 23 2014 - 09:13 AM

I managed to get online with VROC and IGOR but not attempted to join a race yet. I'm fairly certain the reason Linux runs better graphics is because Windows pulls so much baggage with it. There's an amazing amount of stuff running in the background which must use extra processing power. You only have to see how much quicker Linux boots because it only opens what it needs.

Peppermint is Debian based and is fairly lightweight although it's puffed out a bit over the years. I tried Manjaro on a laptop and it looked nice but the laptop had memory problems and kept crashing.

Regards,

Dave.

#39 mcmirande

mcmirande

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucumán, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 23 2014 - 09:19 AM

Can you normally reproduce replays or to see AI cars racing?

In my installation, those things are seen in frame by frame mode... really slow...

#40 demag

demag

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Interests:Linux. Building pc's. Old Citroens.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Dec 23 2014 - 03:31 PM

Yes can see all those fine. Got 60fps working now and won two races against AI. :up:




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links