Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
472 replies to this topic

#441 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 07 2018 - 04:31 AM

I use these:

4001 0 0 10.0 10.0 sfline
4002 0 0 5.0 2.0 gridbox
4003 0 0 10.0 10.0 groove
The text line is the name of the texture used, you can use other names if you like.

GRVed is not difficult to use.
What you need to do mostly is align the start and finish , then to save polys you can remove the blackness in the straights where the car does not brakes for example.
You can also adjust the lateral position to avoid that the groove polys cross the traces and cause weird effects.
This can also be done by varying the width in particular areas.
Try and experiment, after a while you'll get it. :)

#442 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 07 2018 - 04:54 AM

View Postginetto, on Sep 07 2018 - 04:31 AM, said:

Try and experiment, after a while you'll get it. :)

Thx Ginetto. After all is not the first time we do that :unsure:.

#443 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 18 2018 - 05:45 AM

Hello,

GrvEd went fine once you can find how to start with it. The great work was to reacomodate the polys to make room for the new ones. But good results at the end.


Now I want to know if can be avoided this ugly effect in the pianos:

Attached File  001.jpg   221K   49 downloads


thanks

#444 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 30 2018 - 09:36 AM

Are you talking about the asphalt clipping through the curb?

#445 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2018 - 09:12 AM

Yes, that is.

Also I want to know if it is possible to "brake" a trace, having an altitude at the end of a section, and other value at the beggining of the following section.

Edited by quico, Oct 03 2018 - 09:15 AM.


#446 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2018 - 05:01 PM

For that asphalt clipping you need to put a 2048 wall, even with 0 height and 0 depth at the top of the corner; that will tell GPL to draw in the correct order.
Remember that 2048 wall has no collision unless any of the traces of the track go below 0 meters anywhere; if so 2048 will become hard as marble (bug).

You can brake a trace simply by changing in the GTK the height at start value you want in a  section for that trace.
You cannot use gracED or HeightEd for this while you can use the old Excel method.

#447 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2018 - 05:05 AM

Attached File  01.jpg   240.01K   19 downloads

Thanks Ginetto.


Going to deal with the altitudes.

#448 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2018 - 10:28 AM

I thought that being zero width walls It will be no new polys created but... I have now a thousand new faces in the 3do, (but I can't see where they are). I hope it will not be a big load in defeat of frames.

Altitudes went easy although finally I think I will not need that changes.


Thanks again Ginetto.

#449 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 08 2018 - 07:06 AM

I add that kind of walls only in places where is seen or from a cam view or from driver's view.
Usually they are not that many :think:

#450 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 08 2018 - 01:21 PM

Well, the track has soft turns and polys grow accordingly. There are 2048 walls only where the pianos are.

I'll try to maintain that softnes till the track is finished. If needed then could be reduced.

#451 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 10 2018 - 05:36 PM

trk23doz makes split sections when it wants to, and sometimes -apart the increase of polys- in very inconvenient places. Is there any way to avoid this splits?

#452 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 10 2018 - 06:24 PM

The splits happen when a wall crosses a trace; if the wall has a thickness and both ends crosses a trace then there is a double split.
You need to carefully look where you're gonna place the walls and the traces too :)

Remember also that if you use unk4=2 the split done by a trace does not happens; only thing to look after is that a wall with unk4=2 runs flat from start to end laterally so you'll have gaps if used along traces with different heights.

#453 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 01:30 AM

Thx Ginetto, There will be many places it can be changed.

#454 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 03:41 AM

Optimizing the walls that not neccesarily must cross traces,  I got this: :shock:

Attached File  01.jpg   82.13K   14 downloadsAttached File  02.jpg   81.96K   18 downloads


possibly still are some to adjust.

#455 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 07:34 AM

Check also for walls that have their limit very close to a trace and run parallel to it; you might try to make them touch the trace and have 2 polys instead of 3 for every split section.

Another thing is when a will runs oblique and touch a trace without crossing it; in this case always leave 1 GPL unit from the end of the wall and the trace or an extra section will be created (like when the wall crosses it).


Keep up the good work! :thumbup:

#456 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 08:18 AM

:unsure: It's an endless work! :lol:

#457 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 12 2018 - 06:04 AM

Hello again,

The top of a wall with heigh and width, can't be mapped with the values in the tex file. Also the mip mapping values doesn't work. Is there someway to do it?

Edited by quico, Oct 12 2018 - 06:05 AM.


#458 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 12 2018 - 01:34 PM

What do you mean?
It usually works just fine.


2053 0 0 10.0 1.0 grass    ; ground base mapping that gives the size of the top too, in meters
2053 0 1 10.0 1.0 hay_s   ; side mapping in meters
2053 0 2 1 1 hay_t    ; top mapping relative to the ground base, NOT in meter
2053 0 4 1 1 hay_f    ; front side relative to a whole texture, NOT in meter
2053 0 5 1 1 hay_e   ; end side relative to a whole texture, NOT in meter

2 always need to come with 0 in the TEX; they are linked.

#459 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 12 2018 - 04:11 PM

Now works!
I didn't know the connection between 0 and 2.

Continue optimizing the track, More than 2000 new polys removed.


Thanks Ginetto.

#460 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 13 2018 - 09:31 AM

At least 8000 polys removed after optimizing the track, 99% due to work on walls crossing sections. Somewhere I changed walls made with gtk with 3do objects for the great cost in polys. The track hasn't been affected at all and changes can't be noticed anyway. I think was time well employed!.

Still will be some doublesided walls to change to single faced  but not now :phew: .

Edited by quico, Oct 13 2018 - 09:32 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links