Jump to content


- - - - -

Problems With Antialiasing


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#41 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 09:13 AM

screen 1366x 768   SPA 67  low  texture oglv2

incredible!
I installed gamebooster and now I can also use the version spa67 low resolution, improvements are seen at large, thanks to game booster and perhaps even to 4gb patch!
details almost to the maximum, 19 cars on the track, no problem!
Pribluda to a minimum and replay decreased to 20 minutes.
I remember that my computer is a laptop, with window7 geoforce-430-intel 2.1 ghz more ..... I do not think I can get, I am satisfied !!

I tried spa 67 in high resolution ... I have little problems .... I prefer the low resolution ... with my pc is best seen and I have no problems ... 36 fps stable



what do you think?

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Mar 31 2015 - 12:28 PM.


#42 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 09:58 AM

the filter structure  lod bias.... how should I put it?
Allow or narrowing edges?

what is best for the graphic quality?


I have the lod-bias to 0 ..... what is it?
I can make improvements? ?

Edited by rdasilva, Mar 30 2015 - 10:59 AM.


#43 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 12:53 PM

screen  1366x768   oglv2

f1 extra mod

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Mar 31 2015 - 05:22 PM.


#44 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 01:41 PM

with a good pc  I can still improve?

30-40%?

with my pc lights and reflections have no effect.

Edited by rdasilva, Mar 30 2015 - 02:09 PM.


#45 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 31 2015 - 12:14 PM

pc portable + monitor full hd 1920x 1080  oglv2

I changed from 1366x768 to 1920x1080 .

[RasterV2]
Device=0
TossBiggestMips= 0
MaxMipSize= 0
MirrorSize=0
DirectMirrorRendering= 1
DrawMethod= 1
ZBufferType= 0
AnisotropicFiltering= 8
TrilinearFiltering= 1    Anisotropic filtering and  anti-aliasing turned  on only by the panel  nvidia , AA 32x  , anisotrof filter 16x  
LODBias= 0
32Bit=1
Width= 1920
Height= 1080
FogDensity=1000
VSync= 0

[ Replay ]
replayMemoryOverride = 10000


spa 67  standard version,

targa florio standar version  +  calta_rock HR +  cronotower HR + targa horiz 2024x 1080
the plate florio I added these 3 update ... I amazingly the best results.
are self-employed, I put them all three.

zandvoort.

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 06:38 AM.


#46 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 03:46 AM

I conclude, the problem AA I think I solved very well, I will not have eye discomfort. :up:

#47 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,937 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 05:48 AM

View Postrdasilva, on Mar 30 2015 - 09:58 AM, said:

the filter structure  lod bias.... how should I put it?
Allow or narrowing edges?

what is best for the graphic quality?


I have the lod-bias to 0 ..... what is it?
I can make improvements? ?

I would try LODBias= -50 and see if there is any improvement.
If not try -40, -30, and so on. Maybe 0 works best on your system. But it is worth a try.

Infos and useful links:

http://wiki.grandpri...tings_Explained

Quote

LODBias = -50 .....Try 0 (blurrier), -50 (sharper), -100 (far textures tend to speckle). Aim for a setting that looks sharp without speckling. "100 brings lower mips exactly 1 mip level closer to the foreground making everything a bit blurrier and anything much lower than -50 starts to make the textures "speckle" a lot in the distance, even if they look sharper"

http://www.vroc.net/...s/readmeD3D.txt

Quote

* LODBias = -50
You can mess with how your graphics card selects which mip level of a texture to display here. The value in this field (number of mip levels to adjust) times 100. 0 is completely normal. 100 would bring lower mips exactly 1 mip level closer to the foreground making everything a bit blurrier. 450 would bring the mips 4.5 levels closer, making the game REALLY blurry. -50 is the default, which pushes the more detailed mips 0.5 mip levels further into the scene, helping make the image a little crisper. Anything much lower than -50 starts to make the textures "speckle" a lot in the distance, even if they look sharper.

GPL And Nvidia Card Settings
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=8894

AA Settings For Latest Nvidia Cards?
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=6459

Screenshot of LOD settings in NVIDIA Inspector (the other settings are not set for GPL in the screen - so don`t use them):
http://forums.guru3d...741&postcount=5
Posted Image

Edited by Stefan Roess, Apr 01 2015 - 09:52 AM.


#48 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 09:39 AM

thanks Stefan! I tried the lod bias -10-20-30-50 ... seems more defined, but also to zero, there is not much difference. if I put the bias lod -50 ... I have to put in the nvidia quadro allow or edges narrowing? I have this graph problem ... if I go in the vicinity of vehicles parked in 'last curve ..... I tried to put the filter why?

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 04:50 PM.


#49 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 10:25 AM

I understand why my pc is able to have these performances!
nvidia panel must select gpl67.exe not gplc67.exe .... in fact if I select gplc67.exe I collapse of fps ... becomes unplayable !.

patch 4gb  yes  gpl67.exe   36 fps

patch 4gb gplc67.exe   30 fps

Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 04:38 PM.


#50 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 04:01 PM

View Postrdasilva, on Apr 01 2015 - 10:25 AM, said:

I understand why my pc is able to have these performances!
nvidia panel must select gpl67exe not gplc67 .... in fact if I select gplc67 exe I collapse of fps ... becomes unplayable !.


Do you happen to mean gpl.exe??

#51 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 04:41 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Apr 01 2015 - 04:01 PM, said:

View Postrdasilva, on Apr 01 2015 - 10:25 AM, said:

I understand why my pc is able to have these performances!
nvidia panel must select gpl67exe not gplc67 .... in fact if I select gplc67 exe I collapse of fps ... becomes unplayable !.


Do you happen to mean gpl.exe??
I correct punctuation sorry.

Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 04:41 PM.


#52 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2017 - 02:28 PM

How to get anti-aliasing not greyed out in GPL menu? Why is it greyed out?

I am having jagged white lines such as this screencap shows of Le Mans track.

Cheers.

PH

Attached Files



#53 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,076 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2017 - 02:49 PM

For GPL the anti-aliasing is always greyed out.  That is because the sim was released in 1998 to be used with the current high-powered graphics cards of that year.  Those cards are no longer supported.

So, you must make the anti-aliasing settings within you current graphics card (or chip-set) Control Panel.
See my setting parameters for my Nividia graphics card.  I have individual program setting tabs that may be different from the "global" setting.

Attached Files



#54 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jimmy Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 27 2017 - 06:31 PM

Thank you Greg.

This helps a lot. I am on a Radeon R2 , but I will work in the same way and see. I did try all sorts of changes and I did not see any big change in aliasing on this Le Mans front straight. Other tracks are ok  as they don't seem to have the same type of detail.

I have a new ASUS monitor and it also has a few options that do seem to impact game video quality and look. I can only try different options and combos of settings and hope to go through the process in an efficient way.

Cheers.

PH




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links