Jump to content


- - - - -

Redline GTP mod v1.1


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#21 BrunoB

BrunoB

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark, Jutland
  • Interests:GTP, GTP and iRacing
  • Sim interest:other

Posted Apr 15 2010 - 06:12 AM

Good idea. These orig 1.0 cars are just great.

Edited by BrunoB, Apr 15 2010 - 06:20 AM.


#22 dario

dario

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 19 2010 - 08:34 AM

whats the deal with old 1.0 cars???

besides I remember some time ago that someone posted on RSC forums images of cars that resembled Audi R10, Peugeot 908 and some other contemporary vehicles. What was that all about, and where can one find those cars?

Edited by dario, Apr 19 2010 - 08:34 AM.


#23 Arturo Pereira

Arturo Pereira

    Denny Hulme

  • Moderator
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 20 2010 - 12:49 PM

View Postdario, on Apr 19 2010 - 08:34 AM, said:

whats the deal with old 1.0 cars???

besides I remember some time ago that someone posted on RSC forums images of cars that resembled Audi R10, Peugeot 908 and some other contemporary vehicles. What was that all about, and where can one find those cars?

Imo, there is nothing wrong with the v1.0 cars, except that their use was forbidden by FIRST (currently iRacing) because of copyrights issues. In any case, they work ok with v1.1.

About the images of more modern cars, they were in the making with a new version of the GTP mod was also forbidden because of copyright issues of the same kind.

#24 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 785 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 22 2010 - 02:54 PM

View Postfrancesco, on Apr 13 2010 - 06:24 AM, said:

Until now I'm not able to find other cars besides the 4 standard.Can someone help me?

There is a link in this forum for the 1970 WSC carset.  

I don't know where to find the originals now, but if there are no objections I'll zip my series directory and upload it (I lost the original downloads when my XP system crashed so don't have the docs to give credit to the original artists).  Contains about 150 cars, an assortment of Group C, IMSA GT, and Grand Am.


-1 ChaD.gtp.car
-2 ChaB.gtp.car
-3 ChaA.gtp.car
-4 ChaC.gtp.car
-2 Silk Cut JAG.gtp.car
-3 Silk Cut JAG.gtp.car
-4 Martini LAN TOY.gtp.car
-7 Marlboro TOY.gtp.car
-11 Leyton House TOY.gtp.car
-12 EC FN TOY.gtp.car
-012_DFish_Benz.gtp.car
-17 Rothmans POR MAZ.gtp.car
-18 Mazda MAZ.gtp.car
-23 Calsonic NIS MAZ.gtp.car
-30 Gebhardt JAG.gtp.car
-33 Silk Cut JAG.gtp.car
-35 Silk Cut JAG.gtp.car
-36 Minolta TOY.gtp.car
-37 Minolta TOY.gtp.car
-38 Denso TOY.gtp.car
-39 Taka-Q TOY.gtp.car
-40 Panason TOY.gtp.car
-43 Italiya POR JAG.gtp.car
-46 EC PL JAG.gtp.car
-47 Jagermeister TOY.gtp.car
-55 Renown MAZ.gtp.car
-56 Mazda MAZ.gtp.car
-60 Castrol JAG.gtp.car
-61 AEG Mercedes SAU.gtp.car
-62 AEG Mercedes SAU.gtp.car
-63 AEG Mercedes SAU.gtp.car
-64 Kouros SAU.gtp.car
-65 AEG BlackBlue SAU.gtp.car
-66 AEG Olympia SAU.gtp.car
-66 Castrol JAG.gtp.car
-67 Michelin SAU.gtp.car
-71 KAPA Productions TOY.gtp.car
-79_WM_CatXjr9.gtp.car
-91 BRD JAG.gtp.car
-96 STP MAZ.gtp.car
-98 Toyota TOY.gtp.car
-111 EC DT  SAU.gtp.car
-201 Art Sports MAZ.gtp.car
-230 NWB MAZ.gtp.car
-1 Silk Cut JAG.gtp.car
-JG_MAZ.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_40a.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_47.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_50a.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_51.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_58.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_59.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_60.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_61.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_75.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_76.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_77b.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_77d.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_78.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_84.gtp.car
-aSz_GA06_89a.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_89b.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_97.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_99.gtp.car
-aSz_GA06_01.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_01b.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_02.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_2.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_3.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_4.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_5.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_5a.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_6b.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_07.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_7.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_8.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_09a.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_10.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_11.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_12.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_16.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_19.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_23.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_28.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_30a.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_30b.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_31.gtp.car
-aSz_GA06_33.gtp.car
+aSz_GA06_39.gtp.car
-jg_grandam.gtp.car
-Pioneer.gtp.car
-54_VisteonPorsche.gtp.car
-mgfrc0613Gulfhr.gtp.car
-mgrfx061Targethr.gtp.car
-mgrfx0692AirFlahr.gtp.car
-mazda63.gtp.car
-mario_kmart_6.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_274_JN.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_291_RK.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_333_MS.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_456_AS.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_385_RK.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_388_GF.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_456_AS.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_466_MK.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_500_AG.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_537_MN.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_622_RG.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_643_WK.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_650_GC.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_968_JK.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_004_DF.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_061_PN.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_063_AS.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_102_NH.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_111_RR.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_177_GR_Orange.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_209_MR.gtp.car
-GRRL_ES_257_MS.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_045_MS.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_059_MK.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_113_FZ.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_122_BL.gtp.car
-GRRL_CS_136_US.gtp.car

The "aSz" cars are a beautifully rendered Grand Am carset, I wish I remembered the artist name.
The GRRL cars are fictional liveries I found at an online racing league years ago, artist(s) unknown.

Edited by jgf, Apr 22 2010 - 02:58 PM.


#25 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 22 2010 - 03:24 PM

View Postjgf, on Apr 22 2010 - 02:54 PM, said:

I don't know where to find the originals now, but if there are no objections I'll zip my series directory and upload it (I lost the original downloads when my XP system crashed so don't have the docs to give credit to the original artists).  Contains about 150 cars, an assortment of Group C, IMSA GT, and Grand Am.
:thumbup:  That would be appreciated  :clap2:

#26 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 785 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 22 2010 - 08:51 PM

I usually use sendspace but this file was too large for them (347meg), so I'm trying this service.  (I think you have to send an email address and they send you the link, but I hate megaupload.)

http://www.filehosti...6996/series.zip

I merely zipped my entire series directory, so you'll have my player cars (Mazdas);  I think they're the only ones I created, be kind to them.  The night versions are also included but I won't guarantee they're completely identical to the day versions as I may have done some minor tweaking after the conversion.

I may have tweaked some graphics on other cars, and several numbers were changed so there wouldn't be several cars with the same number.  Likewise some cars may not have the correct driver as I often had two or more cars with the same driver (I wasn't trying to recreate any specific season, just get a full field of cars).  There are a few fictional cars (other than the GRRL cars) just because I liked them, and wanted some more cars for real drivers;  for example, Mario Andretti is in a Kmart/Texaco car based on his Newman-Haas Lola (nice paint job, have no idea who painted it).  Most of this applies to the GTP list;  I don't think I did much to the Grand Am set.  

If any of the original artists recognize their work and wish it removed from this package, just email me.

#27 francesco

francesco

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:COMO (Italy)
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 23 2010 - 04:21 AM

Thank you for the information.

#28 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 785 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 23 2010 - 04:36 PM

You should also look for BrunoB's GTP AI Hacks file;  it has a lot of data on getting the AI to behave in this mod.

Attached are the generic AI setup files and GTP track.ini additions for use with add-on tracks.  I don't know the source of this file, no author is mentioned in the docs. (Unfortunately there are some tracks at which you'll never get the AI to function well.  The fictional Butibamba, for example, is great fun in a GTP car, but the AI are all over the place in the esses and will rear-end you mercilessly in the banked hairpin.)

Attached Files



#29 robin_j

robin_j

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 23 2010 - 08:08 PM

View Postjgf, on Apr 22 2010 - 08:51 PM, said:


I merely zipped my entire series directory, so you'll have my player cars (Mazdas);  I think they're the only ones I created, be kind to them.  The night versions are also included but I won't guarantee they're completely identical to the day versions as I may have done some minor tweaking after the conversion.


Thanks very much jgf, much appreciated. Downloading now  :hat-tip:

rob

#30 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 23 2010 - 11:11 PM

Thanks jgf for the cars and the ai file  :hat-tip:

#31 fortine_oo

fortine_oo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Location:LosAngeles,Ca,USA

Posted Apr 26 2010 - 02:53 AM

View Postjgf, on Apr 23 2010 - 04:36 PM, said:

...(Unfortunately there are some tracks at which you'll never get the AI to function well.  The fictional Butibamba, for example, is great fun in a GTP car, but the AI are all over the place in the esses and will rear-end you mercilessly in the banked hairpin.)




Getting ai to function well is not impossible, it just takes a lot of time. Getting ai to drive a course like a human player is not impossible, it just takes more time. It is almost impossible to get ai to drive a course like a human player at every spot on a roadcourse, but by applying some tricks you can get it pretty close (or at least tolerable).

The most important factor is having a good race.lp for the ai to follow. It is best to have a race.lp that was made at racing speed because the ai will drive that line very close to how it was driven when it was made (using reflap). When a race.lp is made without regard to correct speed/braking, the ai interpret the data of the track, via the exe, and intepolate the resulting actions rather than applying the data of an actual race lap. (It's a little more complicated than this short explanation, but this is the crux of it.) The track.ini is just a way to fine tune the ai to the race.lp. That's why you'll seldom get very good results by just importing track.ini sections sections from another track.

Judging from the look of the the raceline for ButiBamBa, it looks to me like the race.lp was not made "at speed". I still found it works pretty good. The min/maxrace lp's are a little close together at a couple of places which leads to crowding and collisions. The min/maxpanic lp's could have been spaced farther from the min/maxrace lp's and that would give some additional avoidance space. The rear-ending is partly an exe problem, and a track.ini adjustment could help that. [ai_panic_decel= higher value, and ai_squeeze_pcnt = 0.10/0.15 (although with the close spacing of the supporting lp's it may not help).]
The other fix requires altering the ptf, changing asphalt default values to concrete values 0.005 to 0.010 higher than the asphalt values at braking zones where the ai are able to outbrake the player. Sometimes, especially in gtp, the ai can outbrake the player no matter the ini values ( often happens at the end of an 'accelerating straight' to a heavy braking corner ). So, when the ai brake correctly (you don't rear-end them and they don't rear-end you) for most situations/corners, but at one or two they just have more braking ability and brake much later than the player has to, you raise the grip level for that braking zone. The ai don't gain as much benefit as the player when there are small discrepencies between asphalt and concrete values. The higher grip braking zone lets the player brake later, provides better stopping power, and allows a quicker return to the throttle, thereby reducing the chance of getting rear-ended. Of course, this helps more when the player is more proficient at braking.

More detailed ai creation information can be found here:  http://www.nrtracks.com/nr2k3.html

fortine_oo

#32 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,069 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 14 2010 - 01:57 PM

Hi,

I hope someone can help me.
I did a fresh install of NR2003, installed the Patch 1.2.0.1 and the v1.2.0.1 Securom Fix.
But I get an error message, that I don`t have the right to access NR2003.exe.
I even get this without installing any patch.
See screenshot

Windows XP Pro, SP3 here.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Stefan

Attached Thumbnails

  • NR2003 start problem.jpg

Edited by Stefan Roess, May 14 2010 - 01:58 PM.


#33 Arturo Pereira

Arturo Pereira

    Denny Hulme

  • Moderator
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 14 2010 - 03:47 PM

View PostStefan Roess, on May 14 2010 - 01:57 PM, said:

Hi,

I hope someone can help me.
I did a fresh install of NR2003, installed the Patch 1.2.0.1 and the v1.2.0.1 Securom Fix.
But I get an error message, that I don`t have the right to access NR2003.exe.
I even get this without installing any patch.
See screenshot

Windows XP Pro, SP3 here.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Stefan

Hi Stefan,

I am also using XP Pro, SP3 and, in spite of having to instal NR2003 again a couple of times, never had that problem. However, I never installed other patch than the 1.2.0.1.. I know of the existance of the Securom Fix but never used it.

Btw, did you hear of the no_cd patch?

#34 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 785 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 14 2010 - 11:36 PM

Not certain, but doesn't XP Pro treat files much like Vista?  Check for permissions, admin rights, etc.  Also XP Pro has DEP, which senses is that something is trying to modify a registered exe and prevents it.

#35 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,069 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 25 2010 - 09:41 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on May 14 2010 - 01:57 PM, said:

Hi,

I hope someone can help me.
I did a fresh install of NR2003, installed the Patch 1.2.0.1 and the v1.2.0.1 Securom Fix.
But I get an error message, that I don`t have the right to access NR2003.exe.
I even get this without installing any patch.
See screenshot

Windows XP Pro, SP3 here.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Stefan


Solved:
Kaspersky Internet Security blocked the NR2003.exe (and GTP). :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, May 25 2010 - 09:41 AM.


#36 nasdriv87

nasdriv87

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted Aug 27 2010 - 07:46 AM

View PostArturo Pereira, on May 14 2010 - 03:47 PM, said:

View PostStefan Roess, on May 14 2010 - 01:57 PM, said:

Hi,

I hope someone can help me.
I did a fresh install of NR2003, installed the Patch 1.2.0.1 and the v1.2.0.1 Securom Fix.
But I get an error message, that I don`t have the right to access NR2003.exe.
I even get this without installing any patch.
See screenshot

Windows XP Pro, SP3 here.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Stefan

Hi Stefan,

I am also using XP Pro, SP3 and, in spite of having to instal NR2003 again a couple of times, never had that problem. However, I never installed other patch than the 1.2.0.1.. I know of the existance of the Securom Fix but never used it.

Btw, did you hear of the no_cd patch?

Hi arturo, could u pls help this guys here at srd... it's all about lemans2008 ai behave http://www.simracing...html#post215879

thxs in advance!!!

#37 fortine_oo

fortine_oo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Location:LosAngeles,Ca,USA

Posted Aug 27 2010 - 04:56 PM

[/quote]

Hi arturo, could u pls help this guys here at srd... it's all about lemans2008 ai behave [url="http://www.simracingdesign.com/nr2003-general-discussion/23128-major-problems-gtp-le-mans-2006-a.html#post215879"]http://www.simracing...html#post215879[/url]

thxs in advance!!!
[/quote]


At RSC forums, before the last big crash, someone, it might have been jgf, was addressing some problems with Lemans 2004 (or 2006 or 2008). Those threads are long gone, but perhaps those involved will recall what was addressed, and the outcome.

#38 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 785 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Aug 27 2010 - 05:42 PM

Can't speak for the 2008 track, I use "bsarthe"  (Lemans 67), but it seems many of the Lemans tracks had AI trouble and there were numerous "patches" (everything from basic track.ini edits to full lp file updates).  But the major problem seemed to be the AI grip was too high (on bsarthe the AI would actually bounce high into the air, and often fall on top of you).

But first the obvious question - are you using the GTP version of the track (http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=4960)?  or the N2k3 version?

#39 Arturo Pereira

Arturo Pereira

    Denny Hulme

  • Moderator
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 28 2010 - 06:57 AM

View Postnasdriv87, on Aug 27 2010 - 07:46 AM, said:

View PostArturo Pereira, on May 14 2010 - 03:47 PM, said:

View PostStefan Roess, on May 14 2010 - 01:57 PM, said:

Hi,

I hope someone can help me.
I did a fresh install of NR2003, installed the Patch 1.2.0.1 and the v1.2.0.1 Securom Fix.
But I get an error message, that I don`t have the right to access NR2003.exe.
I even get this without installing any patch.
See screenshot

Windows XP Pro, SP3 here.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Stefan

Hi Stefan,

I am also using XP Pro, SP3 and, in spite of having to instal NR2003 again a couple of times, never had that problem. However, I never installed other patch than the 1.2.0.1.. I know of the existance of the Securom Fix but never used it.

Btw, did you hear of the no_cd patch?

Hi arturo, could u pls help this guys here at srd... it's all about lemans2008 ai behave http://www.simracing...html#post215879

thxs in advance!!!

Sure. I will see what I can do :)

#40 fortine_oo

fortine_oo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Location:LosAngeles,Ca,USA

Posted Aug 28 2010 - 07:59 AM

I didn't find the major ai racing problems that n310 alluded to. The race.lp seems to have a glitch at the chicane before pit entrance. While the ai check up, and it's a pain for the player, it certainly doesn't cause any major catastrophe among the ai.
There are entry and exit pitting issues, and the only real fix are new pit lp's and track.ini adjustments.
(see attachments)
I only checked for ai driving cleanly into and out of the pits, not for pitting infractions (if there are any).

It seems n310 didn't supply all the information.
After checking it all out and fixing the pitting, I ran a full pace for the heck of it. Surprise, that's where the trouble occurs. Once the race starts there's no problem.
By setting the X-sections to absolute mode, I got rid of some of the ai slowing and stopping, but it seems that I can't keep the absolute mode at all locations (Posted Image ).
I give up. Just don't run a full pace lap or yellows.

Attached Files






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links