Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
469 replies to this topic

#451 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 10 2018 - 05:36 PM

trk23doz makes split sections when it wants to, and sometimes -apart the increase of polys- in very inconvenient places. Is there any way to avoid this splits?

#452 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,799 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 10 2018 - 06:24 PM

The splits happen when a wall crosses a trace; if the wall has a thickness and both ends crosses a trace then there is a double split.
You need to carefully look where you're gonna place the walls and the traces too :)

Remember also that if you use unk4=2 the split done by a trace does not happens; only thing to look after is that a wall with unk4=2 runs flat from start to end laterally so you'll have gaps if used along traces with different heights.

#453 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 01:30 AM

Thx Ginetto, There will be many places it can be changed.

#454 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 03:41 AM

Optimizing the walls that not neccesarily must cross traces,  I got this: :shock:

Attached File  01.jpg   82.13K   13 downloadsAttached File  02.jpg   81.96K   17 downloads


possibly still are some to adjust.

#455 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,799 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 07:34 AM

Check also for walls that have their limit very close to a trace and run parallel to it; you might try to make them touch the trace and have 2 polys instead of 3 for every split section.

Another thing is when a will runs oblique and touch a trace without crossing it; in this case always leave 1 GPL unit from the end of the wall and the trace or an extra section will be created (like when the wall crosses it).


Keep up the good work! :thumbup:

#456 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 11 2018 - 08:18 AM

:unsure: It's an endless work! :lol:

#457 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 12 2018 - 06:04 AM

Hello again,

The top of a wall with heigh and width, can't be mapped with the values in the tex file. Also the mip mapping values doesn't work. Is there someway to do it?

Edited by quico, Oct 12 2018 - 06:05 AM.


#458 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,799 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 12 2018 - 01:34 PM

What do you mean?
It usually works just fine.


2053 0 0 10.0 1.0 grass    ; ground base mapping that gives the size of the top too, in meters
2053 0 1 10.0 1.0 hay_s   ; side mapping in meters
2053 0 2 1 1 hay_t    ; top mapping relative to the ground base, NOT in meter
2053 0 4 1 1 hay_f    ; front side relative to a whole texture, NOT in meter
2053 0 5 1 1 hay_e   ; end side relative to a whole texture, NOT in meter

2 always need to come with 0 in the TEX; they are linked.

#459 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 12 2018 - 04:11 PM

Now works!
I didn't know the connection between 0 and 2.

Continue optimizing the track, More than 2000 new polys removed.


Thanks Ginetto.

#460 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 13 2018 - 09:31 AM

At least 8000 polys removed after optimizing the track, 99% due to work on walls crossing sections. Somewhere I changed walls made with gtk with 3do objects for the great cost in polys. The track hasn't been affected at all and changes can't be noticed anyway. I think was time well employed!.

Still will be some doublesided walls to change to single faced  but not now :phew: .

Edited by quico, Oct 13 2018 - 09:32 AM.


#461 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 14 2018 - 01:39 PM

I should thought of this when started the track, but untill now that I'm beggining with lp files didn' realize that it could be a problem. In my track the pitlane is not parallel to the centre line of the track. Cars running in the pitline takes reference in the pit.lp?

#462 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,799 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 14 2018 - 05:11 PM

The cars park in pits parallel to track center line. They run along the pits following the pit.LP

#463 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Yesterday, 03:24 AM

Didn't park in their stall places? In the beggining they do and is not a parallel line but the places I asigned to them. When entering at the pits from the track, don't they return to the stall places?. Haven't time to try now, I hope in a couple of days I can test if it works ok.

I have RpyToLp prog and follow the GPLEA Track Creating Guide and the Track.ini files page from the wiki.


Thanks Ginetto

#464 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,799 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Yesterday, 04:29 AM

Get AIEdit and read well the tutorial by MECH included:
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=2991

#465 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Yesterday, 05:35 AM

Thanks a lot Ginetto.


I always thought about ask for help to do the AI files. After readding that topic I reaffirm in that :D.

What I'm looking for is not to drive against the AI, but make simple files to test the track online. I think very accurate files are not needed.


What I'm now involved is in removing all the top polys of narrow walls as armco, wire fences... those that are a few units wide. I didn't be aware to do these despite seen the 131072 unk4 effect in the GPLEA guide time ago. I think the amount of polys that can be removed will be the same as with the walls-traces crossing, but so much work.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links