Jump to content


- - - - -

Looking For Good Tutorial For Camera Control Master


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 04 2011 - 08:41 AM

As I understand, the great GPL-Movies are made with CCM.
I'd like to try to make a nice one either. I dtill don't have a plan what it is about, but I'm using my fantasy for that :)

Now, I'm absolutlely unknown with this tool. I'm looking for a an accurated tutorial for Rookies for CCM.

#2 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 28 2011 - 12:02 PM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on May 04 2011 - 08:41 AM, said:

As I understand, the great GPL-Movies are made with CCM.
I'd like to try to make a nice one either. I dtill don't have a plan what it is about, but I'm using my fantasy for that :)

Now, I'm absolutlely unknown with this tool. I'm looking for a an accurated tutorial for Rookies for CCM.

Most stuff is explained in the helpfile of the program.
So i suggest you install the program and read it first.
If that still leaves unanswered question post here.

The only thing you need to be aware of is that the program is designed for the 67 season so it can't handle mods which have more then the 7 default cars. Iirc the program hooks into memory adresses which are altered in other mods. It is possible to use it with some of these mods by using other physics but that's mostly trial and error :think:

#3 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 02:27 AM

I'd read it but I still do not really figured it out.
HOw 'bout posting a tutorial on YouTube how to work with CCM?

#4 nes

nes

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 04:14 AM

Hi all,

there is someone that try CCM with Win7?

it works?

#5 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 05:09 AM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Jun 29 2011 - 02:27 AM, said:

I'd read it but I still do not really figured it out.
HOw 'bout posting a tutorial on YouTube how to work with CCM?

Sorry but i haven't got the time nor the tools to start something like that.

In short this is what you need to do get it working (iirc, i'm not at home so can't check it):

1. Install the program and set the path to gpl (if you have set it wrong you can change it in Extra - Preferences)
2. click on File - Open en choose the default.cmf for the camera settings in GPLFccm.
3. There will be a new camera tab Default. Select it.
4. Export the camera fileset by clicking on Set - Distribute - OK(this is essential for the program to work)
5. Start GPL (by the button or manually) and either run a replay or start a race (it works for saved replays or on the live replay data)
6. Select a player car this can be an ai driver or your own movements in the car (if you use it during a life race you either need to drive first or need to select an ai driver in the preview/replay screen)
7. Choose the pitlane or rollbar camera (again essential for the program to work properly)
8. press delete to move around in pitlane view and insert to rotate around a car in the rollbar camera

Note: Make sure you don't run too many programs in the background.
There are some programs that use the same hookup and cause GPLFccm to loose focus.
I now for fact that Photoshop and VNCviewer disfunctions the program.

Edited by MECH, Jun 29 2011 - 05:11 AM.


#6 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 08:24 AM

View PostMECH, on Jun 29 2011 - 05:09 AM, said:

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Jun 29 2011 - 02:27 AM, said:

I'd read it but I still do not really figured it out.
HOw 'bout posting a tutorial on YouTube how to work with CCM?

7. Choose the pitlane or rollbar camera (again essential for the program to work properly)
8. press delete to move around in pitlane view and insert to rotate around a car in the rollbar camera


So, with which buttons you move around? With the arrow buttons or where..?

Edited by GrandPrixYannick , Jun 29 2011 - 08:26 AM.


#7 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 08:25 AM

---

Edited by GrandPrixYannick , Jun 29 2011 - 08:27 AM.


#8 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 09:08 AM

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Jun 29 2011 - 08:24 AM, said:


So, with which buttons you move around? With the arrow buttons or where..?

From the helpfile:

The following key (and mouse) assignment are used to control cameras:

· Mouse Up/Down. Forward/Backward in x/y plane or Pitch Up/Down (see L key)
· Mouse Left/Right. Turn Left/Right in x/y plane. Using the pit camera it automatically banks. Banking can be switching on or off for pit camera as well as for the rollbar camera.
· Mouse Left/Right button Move Down/Up in z-direction
· -/+ (num-pad) Zoom out/in
· Up/Down. Pitch Up/Down or Forward/Backward in x/y plane. (see L key)
· Left/Right. Strafe Left/Right.

· D/F Change bank angle of camera
· A/Z Change pitch of camera.

#9 GrandPrixYannick

GrandPrixYannick

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Check out my channel for some nice GPL content :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2011 - 09:54 AM

View PostMECH, on Jun 29 2011 - 09:08 AM, said:

View PostGrandPrixYannick, on Jun 29 2011 - 08:24 AM, said:


So, with which buttons you move around? With the arrow buttons or where..?

From the helpfile:

The following key (and mouse) assignment are used to control cameras:

· Mouse Up/Down. Forward/Backward in x/y plane or Pitch Up/Down (see L key)
· Mouse Left/Right. Turn Left/Right in x/y plane. Using the pit camera it automatically banks. Banking can be switching on or off for pit camera as well as for the rollbar camera.
· Mouse Left/Right button Move Down/Up in z-direction
· -/+ (num-pad) Zoom out/in
· Up/Down. Pitch Up/Down or Forward/Backward in x/y plane. (see L key)
· Left/Right. Strafe Left/Right.

· D/F Change bank angle of camera
· A/Z Change pitch of camera.

Thanks  :hat-tip:

#10 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 27 2012 - 09:00 PM

View PostMECH, on Jun 29 2011 - 05:09 AM, said:

1. Install the program and set the path to gpl (if you have set it wrong you can change it in Extra - Preferences)
2. click on File - Open en choose the default.cmf for the camera settings in GPLFccm.
3. There will be a new camera tab Default. Select it.

There does not open a new camera tab, when I open the default.cmf. Nothing happens. :idunno:
Windows 7 64-bit here and I run CCM as administrator.


EDIT:
I gave it a try without having a new camera tab default.cmf opened like on this picture of the CCM homepage
and it works! :)
Posted Image


So, CCM only shows the main tab opend and it works, like in this tutorial video for NR2003 on a Windows 7 system:


Edited by Stefan Roess, Jan 28 2012 - 04:12 AM.


#11 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 28 2012 - 03:57 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Jan 27 2012 - 09:00 PM, said:

View PostMECH, on Jun 29 2011 - 05:09 AM, said:

1. Install the program and set the path to gpl (if you have set it wrong you can change it in Extra - Preferences)
2. click on File - Open en choose the default.cmf for the camera settings in GPLFccm.
3. There will be a new camera tab Default. Select it.

There does not open a new camera tab, when I open the default.cmf. Nothing happens. :idunno:
Windows 7 64-bit here and I run CCM as administrator.
Any ideas, please?

What's the location of the program? Try a location other then program files.
Is the default.cmf file read only?
Have you set the preferences already?

#12 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 28 2012 - 04:14 AM

View PostMECH, on Jan 28 2012 - 03:57 AM, said:

What's the location of the program? Try a location other then program files.
Is the default.cmf file read only?
Have you set the preferences already?

Thx for the feedback Martin.
It works even witout an opened camera tab default.cmf.
See updated post above.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jan 28 2012 - 04:45 AM.


#13 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 28 2012 - 05:04 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Jan 27 2012 - 09:00 PM, said:


EDIT:
I gave it a try without having a new camera tab default.cmf opened like on this picture of the CCM homepage
and it works! :)
Posted Image

You don't need to open the default.cmf everytime to have it working.
It's just for a first install to have everything working properly.
The default.cmf is just for the standard camera viewpoints and the movement scripts.

The actual camera distribution is to make sure the right camera files are used.
GPLFccm can be quite picky when it comes to the camera file selection.
You have a default tab in your picture showing so it must have worked like it should.

#14 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,918 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jan 28 2012 - 06:05 AM

View PostMECH, on Jan 28 2012 - 05:04 AM, said:

You have a default tab in your picture showing so it must have worked like it should.

The picture above is the one of the original CCM homepage: http://www.buli.demo...forever/ccm.htm

Mine looks like this:
Posted Image


As you said I don`t have to load the default.cmf every time I start CCM. It works straight away. That`s what I didn`t expect. I always tried to open that default.cmf that shows/lists the available cameras, e.g.
GPLForever1, GPL Alternative Views, GPL Original Views, circle strafe, matrix spin, rotate, ...
but it just did not open. :rolleyes:

I can`t do anything in the menus "set" or "camera".
I only can set the preferences in the "extra" menu.

But in GPL everything seems to work as it should. So it`s fine, but I still would like to know why I can`t open the default file and show/list them in the CCM program. :) :idunno:

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jan 28 2012 - 06:11 AM.


#15 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 28 2012 - 06:11 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Jan 28 2012 - 06:05 AM, said:

As you said I don`t have to load the default.cmf every time I start CCM. It works straight away. That`s what I didn`t expect. I always tried to open that default.cmf that shows/lists the available cameras, e.g.
GPLForever1, GPL Alternative Views, GPL Original Views, circle strafe, matrix spin, rotate, ...
but it just did not open.

I can`t do anything in the menus "set" or "camera".
I only can set the preferences in the "extra" menu.

But in GPL everything seems to work as it should. :)

Ah i see, the image confused me :)

So if you use File Open you can't see a file called default.cfm?

Attached Files






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links