Jump to content


* * * * * 3 votes

GPL 60 fps patch version 1 released


  • Please log in to reply
326 replies to this topic

#21 Snev

Snev

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Duvall
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2009 - 04:38 PM

I didn't notice at first that 60fps needs to be selected for each mod.
I cannot enter an offline race with any mod when 60fps is selected.
Oh well, I will just do some hotlaps instead.

#22 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,860 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2009 - 04:46 PM

View PostSnev, on Mar 1 2009, 10:38 PM, said:

I didn't notice at first that 60fps needs to be selected for each mod.
I cannot enter an offline race with any mod when 60fps is selected.
Oh well, I will just do some hotlaps instead.

The reasons for this are explained in the readme.  :)

#23 Snev

Snev

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Duvall
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2009 - 04:53 PM

Ok, I see it now. Sorry, I should of read it more closely, too eager to try iy out.

#24 Nurby Yogi

Nurby Yogi

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:25km from green hell
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2009 - 05:06 PM

Hello BRR, excellent.
Superb Update.
It is like christmas :xmas:
From people like you, living the community.

I will test the patch as soon as I get time to do so.
But first i must reinstall my GEM, it dosn´t run after a media player crash.

Many, many thanks. :cheers:

#25 Rob burns

Rob burns

    Ludovico Scarfiotti

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2009 - 06:05 PM

Great update...feels smoother and more natural. Some of the scenery is a little "wobbly" looking...would love to have the AI as well but this must pose some challenges.
Thank You!!!

#26 DennisT

DennisT

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Tasmania, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 01 2009 - 10:07 PM

View PostRob burns, on Mar 2 2009, 11:05 AM, said:

Great update...feels smoother and more natural. Some of the scenery is a little "wobbly" looking...would love to have the AI as well but this must pose some challenges.
Thank You!!!


Brr
I have tested all the mods I have and they all worked ok.

I get a steady 59-60fps on all the mods with full detail etc.

The only thing I have noticed is this "wobbly " area which I can't seem to get a screen grab of.

It is there when running at 36fps but it is more noticable at 60fps, it seems to give these areas a "wobbly" look, I presume it is pixillation (if that is the word).

The area this happened for me during testing is telephone/power lines at Spa between Malmedy & Masta or indeed even in the trees at L'Eau Rouge on the left, it seems to be at that height all across the screen even at IOM in the trees especially going around corners at speed.

Has anyone noticed it during testing?

GPLglance does not work with the 60fps, I use this at all times, it is a great patch to give that more realistic glance for racing lines. Can this be added to your patch?
Dennis

Edited by DennisT, Mar 01 2009 - 10:40 PM.


#27 Roo

Roo

    Jim Clark student

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France 77
  • Interests:climbing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 01:03 AM

Many thanks to you 2 genius' & the whole test team.  :hat-tip:
Truely a huge step forward for GPL   :clap2:  
:thumbup:

#28 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 01:46 AM

To the people with the "wobble", do you know if you have vsynch on or off?

#29 DennisT

DennisT

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Tasmania, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 02:07 AM

View PostKen, on Mar 2 2009, 06:46 PM, said:

To the people with the "wobble", do you know if you have vsynch on or off?

Ken
Where do I look?

My card ATI mobility radeon HD3650. Running D3D7V2 in GPL.
Monitor 1440x900 60Hz

Dennis     :idunno:

Edited by DennisT, Mar 02 2009 - 02:09 AM.


#30 AndersOE

AndersOE

    John Surtees

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:Simracing and american cars from the fiftees
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 03:59 AM

Thank you, Developers and Test team  :clap2:
I've tested the 69 mod on several tracks.
No problems at all, runs very smoooth. Steady 59-60 fps

Tested with and without vsync.
"Wobbly" pixels without vsync especially in turns, not visible with it on.

One small issue, my flickering menus that sometimes occur have changed,
now there is a black ribbon travelling slowly down the screen.

P4 3,4 GHz
nVidia GeForce 6600, D3D7
SB Audigy 2ZS
23" 1920x1200

Anders

Edited by AndersOE, Mar 02 2009 - 04:00 AM.


#31 Luis Babboni

Luis Babboni

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paraná, Argentina.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:28 AM

Thank you brr!!!!

I try it and I note the more great difference in the smoothly movement of the TSOs.
Just looking at the road Im not sure, but I think that the movement are smoothly too.
But in some turns, I note that the screen appears to be divided near the half of its height. Like the things move first its down half than its upper half.

:clap2:  :clap2:  :clap2:

Edited by José Raúl Capanegra, Mar 02 2009 - 06:29 AM.


#32 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,929 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:35 AM

From the readme:

* 60 fps is compatible online only with 60 fps servers. Make sure the server is patched for 60 fps before joining.


-> if a server is patched for 60 fps, will then only 60 fps patched clients will be able to join or both (patched and unpatched)?

#33 vosblod - guest

vosblod - guest
  • Guests

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:42 AM

View PostStefan Roess, on Mar 2 2009, 12:35 PM, said:

From the readme:
* 60 fps is compatible online only with 60 fps servers. Make sure the server is patched for 60 fps before joining.
-> if a server is patched for 60 fps, will then only 60 fps patched clients will be able to join or both (patched and unpatched)?

Stefan, both can join unfortunately and you will get problems if they mix. What I did was put 60fps warning signs on IGOR and password protect it

#34 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,929 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 06:43 AM

Thx for the feedback vosblod.

Must have overlooked this in the readme  :dont_mention:



MULTIPLAYER

Those considering hosting 60 fps races should make sure that everyone joining is using the 60 fps patch. Currently unpatched GPL is not compatible with 60 fps online. Joining is technically possible, but driving does not work properly when on track. Please do not join a 60 fps server with unpatched GPL, and vice versa. It may cause problems for others on track.


#35 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 07:12 AM

VROC users attention. If you join a 60 fps server using VROC, please make sure that gpl.exe is patched for 60 fps. GEM+ will not patch gpl.exe, but instead produces gplc67.exe. VROC does not use the patched exe automatically. Either rename the gplc67.exe to gpl.exe, or launch VROC from GEM+.

#36 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 08:30 AM

Replays don't work with the GPLRA, contrary to what the README says. I forgot that the replay header has been changed in preparation for a future version of GPLRA. I'll try to write a patch to make the current version of GPLRA to (partly) work with the replays.

#37 Ken

Ken

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 10:59 AM

View PostDennisT, on Mar 2 2009, 08:07 AM, said:

Ken
Where do I look?

In your graphics card settings. You should at least have a basic settings tool installed with the drivers but try this for more enhanced control.

http://downloads.gur...oad.php?det=733

#38 Fast Tommi

Fast Tommi

    ...creature of the night ;-)

  • Moderator
  • 999 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:germany
  • Interests:GPL, of course!!!
    Music.
    My 76 Beetle convertible
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 12:53 PM

Amazing -
this really make a big difference.

Thank you very very much!!!  :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:  


tommi :bat:

#39 Kanzo

Kanzo

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Helsinki
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 01:36 PM

View PostDennisT, on Mar 2 2009, 06:07 AM, said:

The only thing I have noticed is this "wobbly " area which I can't seem to get a screen grab of.

It is there when running at 36fps but it is more noticable at 60fps, it seems to give these areas a "wobbly" look, I presume it is pixillation (if that is the word).

The area this happened for me during testing is telephone/power lines at Spa between Malmedy & Masta or indeed even in the trees at L'Eau Rouge on the left, it seems to be at that height all across the screen even at IOM in the trees especially going around corners at speed.


I think I know what you´re talking about. I got that with the new rasterizers and OGLv2. I was using 162.18 drivers. I just tried to upgrade my drivers. 175.16 were useless for me with all kind of graphics trouble (could have been because of some basic setting but I was too impatient to try all possible combinations in nVidia control panel) but then I tried 163.75 and everything works now perfectly both in 36 and 60 fps. No "wobbling" any more.  :thumbup:

I´ve got a GeForce 7600 GT.

#40 brr

brr

    a GPL editor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 02 2009 - 01:52 PM

GPLRA for hosts of online races added to first post. Please do not report incorrect values when analyzing 60 fps laps, this is a known problem. The only thing expected to work correctly with 60 fps replays is generating race reports. Proper 60 fps GPLRA will come later.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links