Jump to content


- - - - -

Low Fps


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 alexaleksic

alexaleksic

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 30 2020 - 06:08 AM

Fps drops from 36 to 20.
Yesterday it was all normal.

#2 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,633 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 30 2020 - 08:45 AM

alexaleksic, we need more information to be able to help you. ;)

Your PC system specs (processor, RAM, graphics card, operating system, ...)?
Which GPL mod?
Which GPL track?
With a full grid of AI cars or are you alone on the track?

Did you change anything? Because you wrote before it was ok?
Ok on which track, with which mod?

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jun 30 2020 - 08:46 AM.


#3 alexaleksic

alexaleksic

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 30 2020 - 10:31 AM

Intel i5 9100f , 8Gb Ram,Amd Radeon r5 M430

1967 Sportscar mod, Tracks: Daytona,Road America, Monza 10k,Reims

#4 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,633 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 30 2020 - 02:27 PM

With your system, you shouldn`t have a problem with GPL.

Are you using rasteriser D3D v2 or OpenGL v2? If you use D3D v2 try OpenGL v2. You can change it in GEM+.

Is anything running in the background that could give you a FPS hit?

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jun 30 2020 - 07:21 PM.


#5 Iestyn16

Iestyn16

    Tom Pryce

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Sports, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 30 2020 - 02:49 PM

I wonder if he uses Windows 10 and/or has updated it recently?

#6 JCarvalho

JCarvalho

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 30 2020 - 08:38 PM

Sounds similar to my problem. Does it happen both offline and online? How might Win 10 be causing it, Iestyn?

#7 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,312 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 02:26 AM

Todays problem is  W10...

It eats lots of a PC's ressources,
if you do not turn off all the 25 little helpers that are waiting for your cellphone or projector or music downloader or whatever,
for playing GPL only little power is left.

I stripped down a W10 to the essentials and it cost me a full days work.
Now it's as rank as a XP or W7, but you never know, if it still works as before
when they decide to "UPDATE" everything with their banana software....
Worse
If you do not prevent them to "update" your NVidia or AMD GPU driver they automatically remove the recent and install a horrible old beta driver...

little helper for W10 user with GPL fps problems...

Use O&O shutup10 https://www.oo-softw...com/en/shutup10 and allow only the absolute necessary ;)

CCleaner helps to uninstall all stupid gimmicks, look what is left...

Posted Image


Rightclick on the PC-symbol lets you switch off the desastrous W10 update of the GPU driver ;)

Posted Image

#8 alexaleksic

alexaleksic

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 06:04 AM

I use Windows 7. Now the game crashes every 5 minutes.

#9 roberto teso

roberto teso

    untitled

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:elsewhere
  • Interests:shoestrings theory
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 07:03 AM

For what you write, appear to be a hardware or virus related problem, have you other software to test to or have problems with other software?

May be a thermal problem, I can't say if CPU/GPU or PSU, first test you can do is to put an hand here and there on the case to check if run hot, best if you use a program like HWiNFO, that collect and show sensors value.

P.S. Please moderators, move this post in the proper subforum.

#10 PTRACER

PTRACER

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Motor racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 08:55 AM

Do a system restore for when it was last working fine. There are a bazillion things it could be though. Given it is a laptop, you should consider heat issues which will slow down the laptop. It is summer after all.

Also make sure you set Control Panel > Power Options to High Performance. And don't play GPL while the laptop is on battery.

#11 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,312 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, MotoGP

    60fps GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 09:11 AM

+1 what PTRACER says,

look for the last good restore point and keep the laptop cool ;)

PS
W7 has also lots of gimmicks in the background running so use CCleaner anyway

Edited by Cookie, Jul 01 2020 - 09:13 AM.


#12 Millennium

Millennium

    ErikGPL

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 615 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 10:15 AM

How did you install Windows 7 on that laptop? It's not officially supported for your cpu as far as I know.

Edited by Millennium, Jul 01 2020 - 10:23 AM.


#13 paul_v

paul_v

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Interests:grand prix legends and mods
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 10:22 AM

I don't think its a win 10 problem.

I'm on win7 for my GPL machine and just last week my pc has been doing this too. When running 60fps it runs instead at 30.2

It doesn't drop to this or even default to 36fps.

Its like it when I enter the game. I tried different carsets and tracks etc.

I have not yet definitely found the problem, but it seems gfx card or driver related. My graphics card was set to auto-update drivers etc... now obviously turned off.

Since the last update whenever I choose a higher graphics setting this problem occurs. I can turn it on and off like a switch..

I'm not at the PC at present so will expand on this a little later.

Paul.

#14 alexaleksic

alexaleksic

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 11:41 AM

Now it is all working fine! Thanks everyone.

#15 paul_v

paul_v

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Interests:grand prix legends and mods
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 11:53 AM

 alexaleksic, on Jul 01 2020 - 11:41 AM, said:

Now it is all working fine! Thanks everyone.

So what was the solution ?

Glad to hear all now working.

Paul.

#16 alexaleksic

alexaleksic

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 01:14 PM

Power Options - High performance

#17 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,810 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 01:51 PM

Well my Windows 10 laptop is experiencing a similar problem.  I used to be able to get 36 fps on battery at every track and every mod with OpenGLv2, but now it seems to max out at 20 fps.  D3D7v2 gets 36 fps just as it always has, but it has always stuttered every 5 to 10 seconds so I don't like to use it.

When plugged in, I get 36 fps with OpenGLv2 as I used too.

I rechecked all my settings and the only thing that looks different over the last months was going from the Nvidia driver of v388.73 WHQL to v442.23 WHQL.  I'm going to try to reinstall the older driver to see if that helps.

I don't drive with my laptop so this isn't a huge deal, but I'd like to fix it if possible.

#18 jgf

jgf

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jul 01 2020 - 04:14 PM

"When running 60fps it runs instead at 30.2"

Sounds like Vsync is on and system cannot maintain 60fps.

#19 paul_v

paul_v

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Interests:grand prix legends and mods
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2020 - 05:10 AM

 jgf, on Jul 01 2020 - 04:14 PM, said:

"When running 60fps it runs instead at 30.2"
.


Sounds like Vsync is on and system cannot maintain 60fps.

Good point.

Will double check for that.

I never bothered with Vsynch before and PC has always been good. But recently have tried it because some of our GPL guru's say to try it.

Thanks, Paul

#20 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,810 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Football
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jul 02 2020 - 01:28 PM

Am happy to report that "downgrading" back to Nvidia v388 drivers fixed the fps problem.  Now get a solid 36 at BOQ at Reims with the SCX mod just like it used to.  :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links