- - - - -

Visual Pace Notes - The Only Way I Can Make That Work At Present.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jim Pearson

Jim Pearson

Denny Hulme

• Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Interests:Trackmaking, Bike Road Racing, Links Golf, Long Distance Walking.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 23 2017 - 09:15 PM

The attached PDF shows how I have been approaching this topic for my long term project.

Its a system that works and is fairly simple, but does require manual file handling, which is a bit of a pain.

I am not a coder, however I tried to teach myself VB or C++ from UTube tutorials to come up with a "File Swapper" program to perform the same tasks, however it seems coding a "Copy/Paste/Overwrite" function is rather more complicated than I first assumed. See attached images.

So I have given up on that idea at least for the present.

Back to subject though, the fundamentals of this approach remain viable for any track, but requires track makers to recompile the track 3do incorporating new "Direction Arrow" 3do sets and their accompanying textures. This system does not affect the physical driving conditions in the track in any way, its purely a visual change.

For those still curious about the state of my own track work, I have made some little progress and hope to show that in a new video or two in a couple of months time. Its a long way off completion though, as I have other priorities and this is just a nice hobby for when I have time.

Fear not though, for there is a new Bike sim coming out this year which might satisfy any desire to "ride the Mountain". [ Not sure about the riding physics, but the track does look good ]

https://www.youtube....h?v=6hMzmGGWA5w

Attached Files

Edited by Jim Pearson, Aug 24 2017 - 07:46 PM.

#2 marco lenarduzzi

marco lenarduzzi

Denny Hulme

• Members
  • 103 posts
  • Interests:racing sims,cars, F1,cooking,skiing

Posted Aug 24 2017 - 12:28 AM

Looking forward to it :drool: