Jump to content


- - - - -

Moving From Windows 7 To Windows 10, Which Updates Should I Avoid For Gpl?


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2019 - 01:44 PM

With W7 support being dropped on january next year I'm soon moving over to a new pc with W10.
Now I've read some stories here about random updates being a major pain in the ass with GPL and I wonder if that's still the case.
And have there been certain updates that I should look out for to avoid?

I'm soon starting from scratch on a new systeem so it will probably download a lot of updates the first couple of days.

Also:
I suppose I can just copy and paste my current GPL install and use that with a fresh install of GEM+2 on the new W10 pc?

Edited by Millennium, Nov 25 2019 - 01:46 PM.


#2 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2019 - 03:37 PM

As W10 is a W7 blown up with a lot of spyware and an unstoppable keylogger, you can handle GPL as before,
the latest upgrades (1903) let you stop automatic updates for some days. So you can hope to not be interrupted by automatic reboots.
You can initiate the updates manually, hours before you race...
If you make a fresh install with the MS download tool there are not much updates needed.
Just get the proprietary HW drivers before MS does it and don't let W10 install them ( in settings)!

I go the linux/wine way, if you use a NVidia GPU with proprietary drivers, GPL runs in linux without any problems ;)

For AMD gpus and intel iGPUs linux is problematic as they offer no proprietary drivers with full gaming support...

You get a good GPL menu with Direct 3d V2 but poor fps when driving
- with Open GL V2 you get unreadeable menues but good fps in racing...

PS
I run several PCs with different OS, I would never give my banking data to MS .
W10 has all its settings based on W7 and shows it itself in the settings when you want to make a backup :shh:
W10 accepts every W7 key!

Edited by Cookie, Nov 25 2019 - 04:24 PM.


#3 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2019 - 04:32 PM

I'm also not that excited for W10, I still like my W7 system and I don't see myself using Linux. It's also why I don't want to upgrade my current pc, I want to keep that as it is.

That download tool is a great suggestion by the way, I had not thought of that. I have a seperate W10 key, but I could also use my current W7 key on another system?

With hardware drivers do you mean Intel software for the cpu and such?

Edited by Millennium, Nov 25 2019 - 04:41 PM.


#4 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2019 - 05:49 PM

The difference is: you own W7, but W10 is only a leasing contract with MS to their conditions, so they can do what they want with it...
If you stop going online with your old PC, or do not use it anymore,
you can use the W7 key for any new pc to install W10, wich will be then finally locked to the current HW.

My 67 year old sister uses a linux pc for many years now and my maintenance services are rare, as it just runs as it should.
Try a live-linux-system on an USB stick if you don't want MS to know all about your income and bank data and e-mail and phone contacts ;)

HW driver are meant for graphics and ethernet  and so on. MS is not allways up to date with them...

Edited by Cookie, Nov 25 2019 - 05:55 PM.


#5 KARTM

KARTM

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada
  • Interests:karting vintage racing gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2019 - 07:23 PM

paranoia  is  the new trend

#6 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2019 - 09:02 PM

I have zero problems with Win10. I let it update whenever it feels like it.

What I really like about Win10 is how fast everything loads now.

#7 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 02:52 AM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 25 2019 - 09:02 PM, said:

I have zero problems with Win10. I let it update whenever it feels like it.

What I really like about Win10 is how fast everything loads now.

+1
I also have no problems with Windows 10 updated to the latest build version.
GPL and any other game run fine.

#8 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 03:30 AM

Only issue I have is going from 32bit to 64bit for my older games.

I know GPL is okay with 64bit. But some games have a compatibility problem with it. I know 64bit is faster but sometimes it concerns me a little bit.

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Nov 26 2019 - 03:31 AM.


#9 KARTM

KARTM

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada
  • Interests:karting vintage racing gpl
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 07:28 AM

no problem whatsoever with the window 10 64 bit  OS with GPL, the mods the Logitech wheels and old gpl related prog like the replay analyser etc ,  more i read on many place that many old program couldnt run on it , well i did install my 20 years old jasc paint shop pro 7 .and many other thing without problems , and for people who dont like to have there stuff in the cloud . many old  prog and game of MS can be reinstall on window 10  like the old windows movie maker  or even the mahjong , as  for confidentiality that war was lost 20 years ago

#10 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 08:41 AM

Good to also hear positive stories about W10. If everything just continues to keep working under the new OS that's all I want.

#11 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 08:58 AM

I never said GPL runs bad under W10, and yes W10 runs faster, as it has removed lots of old stuff.
The W10 kernel is the same as W7, so it works...

But you pay for it with your personal private data

"as  for confidentiality that war was lost 20 years ago" - not if you know what you are doing!

Edited by Cookie, Nov 26 2019 - 09:07 AM.


#12 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 09:35 AM

My personal data won't do anybody any good.

#13 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 09:47 AM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Nov 26 2019 - 09:35 AM, said:

My personal data won't do anybody any good.

But if MS sells them with your banking data they get 10-25 bucks

#14 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 09:49 AM

This helps a lot controlling W10: https://www.oo-softw...com/en/shutup10

Yeah, it's not like we had to use similar stuff ever since XP... anyone remember XP Antispy? ;)

#15 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 09:53 AM

but you never can stop the built in keylogger!


About the worth of yout data:
https://www.forbes.c...h/#6a0e799970fc

#16 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 10:00 AM

Dude, it's ok. If you don't want to use it and use Linux instead: more power to you.
But I'm sorry to inform you that the built in logger is absolutely to disable. If you don't want to to that via ShutUp tool, do it manually: https://www.privatei...-heres-disable/

#17 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 10:03 AM

Did you read it to the end?

Quote

Keyloggers are a very real privacy and security threat. If you must use Windows 10, make sure to disable the default enabled Microsoft keylogger, but be aware that Microsoft has other holes that make keystroke logging possible still.


PS
The thing is that if you want to use GPL and have an AMD or intel GPU, you have no choice but W10!

Edited by Cookie, Nov 26 2019 - 10:08 AM.


#18 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 10:18 AM

View PostCookie, on Nov 26 2019 - 09:47 AM, said:

But if MS sells them with your banking data they get 10-25 bucks

It won't do anybody any good. My bank protects me and others very well. They know what I buy and where. Anytime it looks different they stop it and call me to see if it's mine.

It's the small town way. Everybody knows everybody. I go hunting and fly fishing with the bank president.

Edited by Pete Gaimari, Nov 26 2019 - 10:20 AM.


#19 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 10:41 AM

Congrats Pete, if you have a local independent Bank that keeps your data , but if you ever make an online buy your data are known...

I made a fresh W10 install with shutup10 active
some time later I found that my PC was automatic uploading 1.5GB to MS ! This can't be only the HW data...

#20 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 26 2019 - 12:06 PM

Living in a small town means I buy everything online. I've never had a problem.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links