Jump to content


G29 Wheel Issue


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 08 2019 - 02:57 PM

Hi everybody. I hope that there is someone here, that can help me with my G29 wheel problem.

So I decided to take the plunge, and buy me a G29 wheel. I plugged it into my PC XP service pack3 system, and wonderfully the wheel was working great, in GPL and in all my other F1 games. The wheel was also recognised in the Windows control panel.

I then realised that I wasn't getting enough force feedback and pull from the wheel and realised that the wheel was working on my PC through having it switched on the PS3 mode.

After some research online, it was stated that you have to switch your wheel to the PS4 mode and also install the Logitech gaming software profiler.

So therefore I downloaded the profile. Some wouldn't install because I'm 32bit and the installers were 64bit and so were incompatible. After finally finding an old 32bit installer though and installing the profiler, the Logitech software doesn't detect my wheel. I then checked the Windows control panel and the wheel is detected there in PS4 mode. Unfortunately though the X and Y axis bars fill up to the top (pressing the pedal) and also face buttons. But doesn't come back down to zero. It's just stuck up full on the X and Y axis bars. Also when I move the wheel left and right, the little calibration cross in the box doesn't move.

I add that I need this sorting for more feedback/pull and to use my H shifter too.

So after trying countless times, without success, I decided to go back to the PS3 mode and live without any feedback/pull or H shifter.

Now though the wheel won't spin and calibrate on the PS3 mode switch and the wheel is not detected in the Windows control panel anymore. If I pull the usb out and reconnect the wheel clicks (as if it's going to calibrate) then stops and the green power light goes off. Also in the bottom taskbar it shows installing driver then ends with driver installation failed.

So now I'm left with an expensive wheel that is unusable. I'm going to try it on my PS3 and PS4 to see if it works and hope the wheel is not corrupted internally?

I've tried system restore on my PC but to no avail. Maybe I'll have to reinstall my system?

If anybodys got any ideas to this mystery, I'd be most grateful!

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 08 2019 - 03:11 PM.


#2 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 09 2019 - 05:44 AM

I would try to find a restore point before the logi driver was installed,
but maybe the drivers files (.inf) will not be removed...

Edited by Cookie, Aug 09 2019 - 05:45 AM.


#3 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 09 2019 - 06:39 AM

Hi Cookie. I've system restored back a few days and weeks but still no joy.

I've since found out that something on the motherboard? Only allows the wheel to run on PS3 mode.
With me switching to PS4 mode I may have corrupted and upset some driver and it won't go back.

There's a YT video on hardware install fail which says you have to go to safe mode and copy the correct driver back into the Windows Cache folder. But that comes from the disc and I don't have a reinstall disc. Only a product key.
I have a folder with all the drivers in, that I backed up on an external HD. I'm hoping the file I need is there.
If not I'm going to have to see if it's available online?

Thanks Cookie

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 09 2019 - 06:40 AM.


#4 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 09 2019 - 07:24 AM

It has often, pretty much always, been my experience that solutions found at the extreme edges of practical and typical use are rarely successful.

Lots of time once spent learning the basics of editing DLL files was a total waste, for instance.

More often things have become a little cluttered and perhaps installed out of proper order or at the wrong time.

Very unusual I think for device install issues to mess with motherboard drivers?

With the G25, apparently, there is no PS3 or 4 issue, (because I cannot find anything like that on mine)?

In WinGameController, (just noticed), there are two devices listed...the pedals are pig-tailed off the wheel and are listed separately.

Also just noticed my wheel and pedals drivers are dated 2010...probably not the latest.
Maybe there are earlier 32-bit LGS software releases that might work?
Ones for/from XP era?

TP, this was not hard to find, so maybe you have seen it:

http/techexplored.io/logitech-gaming-software-not-recognizing-device-fix/
http://techexplored....ing-device-fix/




:D

Edited by John Woods, Aug 09 2019 - 08:01 AM.


#5 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 09 2019 - 07:46 AM

TP look into the inf folder and look for the logi gaming device .inf file that was installed when you did run the installer.

Maybe it's enough to search for *.inf on your system Windows folder...

If you find it, rename or delete it!

Edited by Cookie, Aug 09 2019 - 07:47 AM.


#6 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 09 2019 - 09:14 AM

Thanks everybody for trying to get my head off the block ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

John I'm not sure about the G25 and G27 or whether there is a pure G29 PC wheel? The G29 I purchased is for the Ps3, PS4 and PC and is multifunctional and compatible across those platforms. The G920 is exactly the same but for X-Box and PC. Thanks John for the link. Very interesting ๐Ÿ‘

Thanks Cookie. Done a little research on your suggestion and going to make it the first thing I do. It will be later tonight UK time. So in about 4-5 hours.

Thanks again and hopefully it'll work?๐Ÿ™

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 09 2019 - 09:28 AM.


#7 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2019 - 04:53 AM

Long night last night trying to figure out my problem with the G29.

Tried your idea Cookie. Couldn't find anything related to the Logitech wheel. I searched in the Inf folder, Windows and all the system folders. No joy ๐Ÿ˜ 

I then looked in a couple of back up folders (when I first got the PC) but couldn't find any drivers.

Then to John's idea but still with no joy. I did use the Oblivion software and all was good. So maybe that cleared the way for the next step.

So I then decided to try my other Logitech wheel a Logitech Pro. Not as good spec as the G29, but finally success. The Pro worked, installed the drivers, was recognised in the Windows control panel, calibrates up and works plus loads of feedback running with an old Logitech gaming software programme. An old version I had on one of my ext HDD's.

So a kind of good news really. I'm still kind of feeling bitter sweet, about the G29, but then again a little more happier than the other day.

The G29 ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค” I'm going to connect it to my PS3 and my PS4 to hopefully eliminate any wheel faults. If it doesn't work on any of those consoles then it's going back to the store.

I'm getting a feeling that the G29 just doesn't work with an old OS system and is just not compatible ๐Ÿค”

Unless someone can tell me different here and as their G29 wheel working on XP ๐Ÿค”

Thanks all again for your advice, support and help ๐Ÿ‘

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 10 2019 - 04:59 AM.


#8 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,616 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2019 - 05:00 AM

Edit: Okay, wait...just remembered there is that other recent TP thread about buying an XP computer?

So now thinking...move the G29 to another computer?
Win10 and iGOR?
CU on track?

Then keep going with the XP theme by picking up a barely-used period correct DFGT?
That way, newer for new stuff like AAIOM and older for...old stuff.

Sort of on topic, attached pics of still working WinMe start screen, (to prove it is really working still), and pic of motherboard that has worked on one capacitor for several years.
(If you zoom in on the big ones you will see 3 of 4 are blown).

Still use it for GPL because that's where all the editing programs are.


They just don't build'm like they used to.
:D

Attached Files


Edited by John Woods, Aug 10 2019 - 06:18 AM.


#9 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2019 - 06:23 AM

Good ideas John. Windows ME another classic rig there ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘

Before I went for the G29 I was looking at a G27 on eBay. Not sure if they would have sufficed ๐Ÿค”

What is the Thrustmaster brand like on XP ๐Ÿค”

Time to keep my eyes peeled for a decent second hand wheel ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿคญ

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 10 2019 - 06:25 AM.


#10 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2019 - 06:43 AM

G27 would have worked!

XP can't know G29 and Logitech will not provide an XP driver! So no chance to get it working with its goodies...

The only time it worked was when it was recognized as a standart USBHID device, but you can't expect FFB then.

An other way would be a linux OS with wine but your very old PC would not have enough power...
https://www.gamingon...ing-wheel.11157

#11 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2019 - 07:33 AM

Thanks Cookie.

I guess I'm learning the hard way ๐Ÿคจ๐Ÿคจ

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 10 2019 - 07:33 AM.


#12 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 10 2019 - 02:20 PM

I'm really buzzing now, with my Logitech driving force pro wheel.

No shifter, just the up and down gear nob and shifter. I have to therefore, take one hand of the wheel to change gears.
So slightly a bit realistic.

Excellent force feedback too and wheel weight ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 10 2019 - 02:22 PM.


#13 paul_v

paul_v

    Jack Brabham

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Interests:grand prix legends and mods
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2019 - 07:10 AM

Hi twinpotter..

Well done. For a while I would forget about the G29 issues and grab yourself a GPL fix.

Paul.

#14 twinpotter

twinpotter

    Richard "Dick"Seaman

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeds,England
  • Interests:Motor Racing
    Motorbikes
    computer gaming-
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 11 2019 - 11:26 AM

Cheers Paul. Too right about that.

Had a fantastic single race against the ai in a Lotus at Spa 67. Up until about a third of a full race, was up in about 12th and enjoying some battles, when on the inside (think it was Bob Anderson) at La Source, I locked tyres and the car became undrivable. So much so the next lap I skidded off and into a barrier, with terminal damage, at Stavelot ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ˜ 

No really enjoying now. Should have gone desktop and wheel years ago.

Lessons learnt though, not just on the latter, but sometime in the future, going to upgrade to a better system and newer OS. With plenty of HD space.

Along with that Cookies idea of looking at the Wine programme, for older games. Thanks for that prompt Cookie ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜ Then my G29 will come in to fruition. Until then it's staying with frugal gaming and racing with what I've got ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ˜Ž

Thanks all again ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘ Now time to go GPL gaming ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ

TP:

Edited by twinpotter, Aug 11 2019 - 11:29 AM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links