Jump to content


- - - - -

One Day My Host Will Come


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#16 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2017 - 06:58 PM

I'm not getting any firewall messages, dunno if that means anything.
win7 here btw

#17 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2017 - 07:09 PM

This might be something
server ini. in GPL has
[ ip0 ]
addr = 192.168.1.4       ; Informational only!
auto_launch = 1          ; Allow connects when launched?
max_players = 5          ; Max players allowed

but the ports forward bizo says 192.168.1.1

should I change the 1.4 to 1.1 ?

#18 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 08:33 AM

View PostTransit, on Jan 22 2017 - 06:51 PM, said:

Using my mate Andrew as the join tester she no go
saying timed out.


Have tried this lot too
"net_mdm_client_send_every = 3 ; Client packet freq on dialup
net_mdm_client_send_size = 84 ; Client packet size on dialup
net_mdm_server_send_every = 3 ; Server packet freq on dialup
net_mdm_server_send_size = 132 ; Server packet size on dialup
net_use_mdm_bandwidth_for_tcp_ip = 1"



You should set that line to net_mdm_server_send_size = 384    ; Server packet size on dialup

The bandwidth patch requirement is that the server has an equal or larger number than any of the clients trying to join.

#19 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 01:58 PM

Thanks Bob :)

#20 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,637 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 02:47 PM

I have these ports open in the router to host GPL

Attached Files



#21 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 03:00 PM

thanks ginetto :)
is the IP number in there the same as the one in your GPL server ini. at all ?

#22 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Cod, USA, in a shack down by the river
  • Interests:Lots of stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 04:07 PM

That's the local ip addy behind the router. That's the ip addy you would use to join locally.

Edited by Warren Hall Jr., Jan 23 2017 - 04:09 PM.


#23 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 04:27 PM

trouble is I'm totally at sea with all this. I don't know what even the simple terms mean.
i.e 'join locally'

Should the IP in the GPL server ini. be the same as the one in the port forward menu ?
cheers

#24 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 04:30 PM

View Postginetto, on Jan 23 2017 - 02:47 PM, said:

I have these ports open in the router to host GPL

I'm using the instructions on the GEM+ page
http://gem.autosimsp...ting6steps.html
seems to have a lot more numbers :(

#25 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Cod, USA, in a shack down by the river
  • Interests:Lots of stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 04:43 PM

Routers requirements vary. My router only needs the car or user ports. UDP ANY 32766-32786 are the stock ports.
With this router (Actiontec) that's all I need. It varies with the router.

Edited by Warren Hall Jr., Jan 23 2017 - 04:46 PM.


#26 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2017 - 04:51 PM

Thanks Warren.
Maybe the extra ones are igor things

#27 MLGathome

MLGathome

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:simracing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2017 - 12:58 AM

Hi Transit,

Read these pages, helped me a lot to understand setting up a server.

http://www.jamesonli..._setup_menu.php

I choose to give my computer a fixed high IP adress, my router makes 50 adresses, to not interfere with all the mobiles, tablets and laptops.

Hope this helps.

Greetings, Marcel

Edited by MLGathome, Jan 24 2017 - 12:59 AM.


#28 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2017 - 05:04 AM

Thanks Marcel, I read it.
I am really wanting to host IP directly with my NZ friend
so our ping is better than going to igor server.

#29 Warren Hall Jr.

Warren Hall Jr.

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Cod, USA, in a shack down by the river
  • Interests:Lots of stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2017 - 12:23 PM

Your race would be listed on iGOR race list. The actual connection would be direct to your race server.

#30 Transit

Transit

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Photography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2017 - 03:31 PM

Far out, i didn't realise that. must be a better option




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links