Jump to content


- - - - -

Problems With Antialiasing


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#46 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 03:46 AM

I conclude, the problem AA I think I solved very well, I will not have eye discomfort. :up:

#47 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 05:48 AM

View Postrdasilva, on Mar 30 2015 - 09:58 AM, said:

the filter structure  lod bias.... how should I put it?
Allow or narrowing edges?

what is best for the graphic quality?


I have the lod-bias to 0 ..... what is it?
I can make improvements? ?

I would try LODBias= -50 and see if there is any improvement.
If not try -40, -30, and so on. Maybe 0 works best on your system. But it is worth a try.

Infos and useful links:

http://wiki.grandpri...tings_Explained

Quote

LODBias = -50 .....Try 0 (blurrier), -50 (sharper), -100 (far textures tend to speckle). Aim for a setting that looks sharp without speckling. "100 brings lower mips exactly 1 mip level closer to the foreground making everything a bit blurrier and anything much lower than -50 starts to make the textures "speckle" a lot in the distance, even if they look sharper"

http://www.vroc.net/...s/readmeD3D.txt

Quote

* LODBias = -50
You can mess with how your graphics card selects which mip level of a texture to display here. The value in this field (number of mip levels to adjust) times 100. 0 is completely normal. 100 would bring lower mips exactly 1 mip level closer to the foreground making everything a bit blurrier. 450 would bring the mips 4.5 levels closer, making the game REALLY blurry. -50 is the default, which pushes the more detailed mips 0.5 mip levels further into the scene, helping make the image a little crisper. Anything much lower than -50 starts to make the textures "speckle" a lot in the distance, even if they look sharper.

GPL And Nvidia Card Settings
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=8894

AA Settings For Latest Nvidia Cards?
http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=6459

Screenshot of LOD settings in NVIDIA Inspector (the other settings are not set for GPL in the screen - so don`t use them):
http://forums.guru3d...741&postcount=5
Posted Image

Edited by Stefan Roess, Apr 01 2015 - 09:52 AM.


#48 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 09:39 AM

thanks Stefan! I tried the lod bias -10-20-30-50 ... seems more defined, but also to zero, there is not much difference. if I put the bias lod -50 ... I have to put in the nvidia quadro allow or edges narrowing? I have this graph problem ... if I go in the vicinity of vehicles parked in 'last curve ..... I tried to put the filter why?

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 04:50 PM.


#49 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 10:25 AM

I understand why my pc is able to have these performances!
nvidia panel must select gpl67.exe not gplc67.exe .... in fact if I select gplc67.exe I collapse of fps ... becomes unplayable !.

patch 4gb  yes  gpl67.exe   36 fps

patch 4gb gplc67.exe   30 fps

Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 04:38 PM.


#50 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 04:01 PM

View Postrdasilva, on Apr 01 2015 - 10:25 AM, said:

I understand why my pc is able to have these performances!
nvidia panel must select gpl67exe not gplc67 .... in fact if I select gplc67 exe I collapse of fps ... becomes unplayable !.


Do you happen to mean gpl.exe??

#51 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 01 2015 - 04:41 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Apr 01 2015 - 04:01 PM, said:

View Postrdasilva, on Apr 01 2015 - 10:25 AM, said:

I understand why my pc is able to have these performances!
nvidia panel must select gpl67exe not gplc67 .... in fact if I select gplc67 exe I collapse of fps ... becomes unplayable !.


Do you happen to mean gpl.exe??
I correct punctuation sorry.

Edited by rdasilva, Apr 01 2015 - 04:41 PM.


#52 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2017 - 02:28 PM

How to get anti-aliasing not greyed out in GPL menu? Why is it greyed out?

I am having jagged white lines such as this screencap shows of Le Mans track.

Cheers.

PH

Attached Files



#53 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,745 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 25 2017 - 02:49 PM

For GPL the anti-aliasing is always greyed out.  That is because the sim was released in 1998 to be used with the current high-powered graphics cards of that year.  Those cards are no longer supported.

So, you must make the anti-aliasing settings within you current graphics card (or chip-set) Control Panel.
See my setting parameters for my Nividia graphics card.  I have individual program setting tabs that may be different from the "global" setting.

Attached Files



#54 Paul Harwood

Paul Harwood

    Jo Bonnier

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Interests:music sports car racing astronomy
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 27 2017 - 06:31 PM

Thank you Greg.

This helps a lot. I am on a Radeon R2 , but I will work in the same way and see. I did try all sorts of changes and I did not see any big change in aliasing on this Le Mans front straight. Other tracks are ok  as they don't seem to have the same type of detail.

I have a new ASUS monitor and it also has a few options that do seem to impact game video quality and look. I can only try different options and combos of settings and hope to go through the process in an efficient way.

Cheers.

PH




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links