Jump to content


- - - - -

Problems With Antialiasing


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#21 gliebzeit

gliebzeit

    Targa Fan

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,073 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida - USA
  • Interests:Old guy stuff...
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 09:24 AM

rdasilva, you are observing "track making" problems with some tracks that were either made long ago (relatively) or not completely finished.  We all have the same issues with Goodwood, etc.  :)

(BTW, that is not Spa67 in one of your screen captures)

Attached Files


Edited by gliebzeit, Jan 10 2015 - 09:31 AM.


#22 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 09:44 AM

View Postrdasilva, on Jan 08 2015 - 02:17 AM, said:

l 'only flaw I notice are the two white lines on the edge of the track that are distant jagged, I tried everything but I have not solved.

the car 's setting, the buildings ... it's all ok .... just the two white lines (in the distance) are a bit jagged ..... but I can not improve the situation.
the strange thing is that if I put everything  AA off nvidia panel and in the game, does not change anything, if I raise or Down  the change  of AA does not change anything, why?


Regarding the original issue of jagged lines, your images look pretty good to me.  I don't see any noticeable jagged edges - unless you look with a magnifying glass.

#23 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 09:51 AM

ferrand ..targa....monaco.

note the difference between Ferrand and monaco .... Ferrand very jagged.

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Jan 10 2015 - 10:24 AM.


#24 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 09:57 AM

View Postgliebzeit, on Jan 10 2015 - 09:24 AM, said:

rdasilva, you are observing "track making" problems with some tracks that were either made long ago (relatively) or not completely finished.  We all have the same issues with Goodwood, etc.  :)

(BTW, that is not Spa67 in one of your screen captures)
sorry ... how you say? because you see, for a 'moment, the car in half?

Posted Image

Edited by rdasilva, Jan 10 2015 - 10:00 AM.


#25 Remco Hitman

Remco Hitman

    Hitman Industries

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Interests:Simracing
  • Sim interest:rFactor

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 10:02 AM

The jagged edges on the white lines are affected more by the texture clamp setting in the nVidia panel. Try one or the other, I always forget which setting does what!

#26 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 10:05 AM

View PostRemco Hitman, on Jan 10 2015 - 10:02 AM, said:

The jagged edges on the white lines are affected more by the texture clamp setting in the nVidia panel. Try one or the other, I always forget which setting does what!
clamp setting  in the  nvidia panel?

#27 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 10:06 AM

View PostRemco Hitman, on Jan 10 2015 - 10:02 AM, said:

The jagged edges on the white lines are affected more by the texture clamp setting in the nVidia panel. Try one or the other, I always forget which setting does what!
which voice you have to change?

#28 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 10:21 AM

I have a laptop connected to tv full hd led panel nvidia ... I have to put multi-screen or single screen?

#29 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 10:35 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Jan 10 2015 - 09:44 AM, said:

View Postrdasilva, on Jan 08 2015 - 02:17 AM, said:

l 'only flaw I notice are the two white lines on the edge of the track that are distant jagged, I tried everything but I have not solved.

the car 's setting, the buildings ... it's all ok .... just the two white lines (in the distance) are a bit jagged ..... but I can not improve the situation.
the strange thing is that if I put everything  AA off nvidia panel and in the game, does not change anything, if I raise or Down  the change  of AA does not change anything, why?


Regarding the original issue of jagged lines, your images look pretty good to me.  I don't see any noticeable jagged edges - unless you look with a magnifying glass.
then the fault is not in my pc but the circuits? thanks Bob

#30 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 11:39 AM

My settings, using nVdia Inspector

Attached Files



#31 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 11:46 AM

View Postrdasilva, on Jan 10 2015 - 10:35 AM, said:

then the fault is not in my pc but the circuits? thanks Bob

I think a TV monitor will show a rougher image when you look close than a monitor - possibly because everything is larger if it's a large screen.

You'll probably need to push the Anti-aliasing as far as you can to reduce the jagged lines.

I tried to make some screenshots with different settings, but they looked different in GPL and all the same in the resulting screen shots.

For me, using:
AF = 4x
AA = 32xS
Texture Filtering Negative LOD Bias = Clamp

looked the best, but there wasn't a huge difference between them all.

It's possible that your card won't have all those options available.  I use an nVidia GTX760.

Edited by Bob Simpson, Jan 10 2015 - 11:47 AM.


#32 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 12:11 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Jan 10 2015 - 11:46 AM, said:

View Postrdasilva, on Jan 10 2015 - 10:35 AM, said:

then the fault is not in my pc but the circuits? thanks Bob

I think a TV monitor will show a rougher image when you look close than a monitor - possibly because everything is larger if it's a large screen.

You'll probably need to push the Anti-aliasing as far as you can to reduce the jagged lines.

I tried to make some screenshots with different settings, but they looked different in GPL and all the same in the resulting screen shots.

For me, using:
AF = 4x
AA = 32xS
Texture Filtering Negative LOD Bias = Clamp

looked the best, but there wasn't a huge difference between them all.

It's possible that your card won't have all those options available.  I use an nVidia GTX760.
i use an nvidia geforce 430

#33 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 05:41 PM

With the 430, I think you have those options, as I have them with a GTX 285

I don't really see the problem in all your captures.Jagged lines?Where ??

But there is something you cld improve, depending  on your taste: i wld add more light. Use your dashboard as a reference; they are really dark on your shots.
Use the trees around Targa Florio  They look too much darker, for race time, in Sicily.

I don't understand what you say about those Clermont Ferrand things, as you didn't post a capture, there.The starting grids cuts in twice is an artifact that appears at some tracks. You can't get rid of them whatever video settings you use.

about Lod Bias,  I had it to Clamp, but Leon said it shld be set to Allow.

Edited by M Needforspeed, Jan 10 2015 - 06:08 PM.


#34 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 10 2015 - 05:54 PM

Bob, why you don't push much more anisotropic filtering settings .They do a lot to not strain the eyes, after you look at textures in the faraway distance.You don't feel it immediatly, but after a long driving session.


At 16X , they give the best results.But I am with a CRT monitor.

Edited by M Needforspeed, Jan 10 2015 - 05:58 PM.


#35 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 05:01 AM

................. :hithead:

Edited by rdasilva, Mar 30 2015 - 05:43 AM.


#36 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 05:01 AM

screen  oglv2

I did other tests ... what you think of the quality of the images?
l 'AA  32 x   is much better.

same results with 19 cars on the track and details the max, without lights and reflections.
36 fps stable.

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Mar 31 2015 - 12:10 PM.


#37 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 07:22 AM

screen  SPA 67 standard version oglv2

These screens are the spa 67 standard edition .... I think they are very good quality if you think that my PC is a portable ... nvidia 430 - 2.1 ghz intel x2 ... what do you think?

I tried the low-resolution version, I have problems in the area pit line .... I prefer the standard ... with all the cars and Pribluda to max no problem.

Attached Files


Edited by rdasilva, Mar 30 2015 - 02:32 PM.


#38 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 07:32 AM

View Postrdasilva, on Mar 30 2015 - 07:22 AM, said:

These screens are the spa 67 standard edition .... I think they are very good quality if you think that my PC is a portable ... nvidia 430 - 2.1 ghz intel x2 ... what do you think?

Looks good to me.

One tip: In case you should get FPS problems turn off some Pribluda features as they are FPS hungry.
I only use "Track Position". Besides FPS issues, too many activated Pribluda features also distract me from racing, especially when racing online.
Just my 2 cents. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Mar 30 2015 - 07:33 AM.


#39 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 07:37 AM

yes, you're right, it is only for demonstration, I tried spa67 low texture ..... no ... I Pribluda some problems at the pit line ... little thing ... why I prefer the standard ... which is very beautiful lostesso.
do not forget that I have the details about the max and some cars in high resolution.
not bad.

#40 rdasilva

rdasilva

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy\ maranello
  • Interests:simulazione di guida.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 30 2015 - 07:40 AM

a question ..... panel nvidia is better to put in the bias lod Allow or  shrinkage edges?

Edited by rdasilva, Mar 30 2015 - 07:41 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links