Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
472 replies to this topic

#436 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 05 2018 - 07:07 AM

Had the temptation yesterday but not really animated to do it untill reading you now. Adding three values in 3rd column has been enough to solve.

Thanks Ginetto.

Edited by quico, Sep 05 2018 - 07:15 AM.


#437 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 03:57 PM

I've started with grv file to know the incidence of the increased load of polys.


I have used GPL Replay Analizer to begin with it. Is the best option?

The GPLRA has two options, old and new way, and seems to be better the old way. The resolution used 0.5m (minimum) but I don't know if it's better to use a medium value to have a file with less lines to handle. Frames are affected by resolution or only by the amount of goove polys?

Have taken a groove.mip from other track, but in mine it can't be seen. What step I miss?

It seems to need a lot of work this file, not even using a spreadsheet.

#438 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 04:11 PM

To work the grv file grab the GrvEd utility
http://srmz.net/inde...rved#entry18937

You can try to experiment with the GPLRA options and see what gives the best result.
Frames are affected by the poly count.

Groove.mip might be rotated by 90 deg? (the ones from original tracks are).
You also need a line in the TEX file:
4003 0 0 10.0 10.0 groove
But I guess you already know that  :)

#439 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 04:48 PM

View Postginetto, on Sep 06 2018 - 04:11 PM, said:

Groove.mip might be rotated by 90 deg? (the ones from original tracks are).
You also need a line in the TEX file:
4003 0 0 10.0 10.0 groove
But I guess you already know that  :)

Reading you I remember now have red about tex.file not so long ago, but it's difficult to remember WHERE each thing is. Also remember now about start/finish line that must be in tex.file, isn't it? Wich code?

I don't no the use of rotate the groove.mip, Can you explain?

Going to get the GrvEd.


Many many thanks again, Ginetto

Edited by quico, Sep 06 2018 - 04:49 PM.


#440 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 05:48 PM

GrvEd installed: :yikes: :yikes: :yikes:


I'm thinking seriously to return to Mario Kart :sleepy:

Edited by quico, Sep 06 2018 - 05:48 PM.


#441 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 07 2018 - 04:31 AM

I use these:

4001 0 0 10.0 10.0 sfline
4002 0 0 5.0 2.0 gridbox
4003 0 0 10.0 10.0 groove
The text line is the name of the texture used, you can use other names if you like.

GRVed is not difficult to use.
What you need to do mostly is align the start and finish , then to save polys you can remove the blackness in the straights where the car does not brakes for example.
You can also adjust the lateral position to avoid that the groove polys cross the traces and cause weird effects.
This can also be done by varying the width in particular areas.
Try and experiment, after a while you'll get it. :)

#442 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 07 2018 - 04:54 AM

View Postginetto, on Sep 07 2018 - 04:31 AM, said:

Try and experiment, after a while you'll get it. :)

Thx Ginetto. After all is not the first time we do that :unsure:.

#443 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 18 2018 - 05:45 AM

Hello,

GrvEd went fine once you can find how to start with it. The great work was to reacomodate the polys to make room for the new ones. But good results at the end.


Now I want to know if can be avoided this ugly effect in the pianos:

Attached File  001.jpg   221K   48 downloads


thanks

#444 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 30 2018 - 09:36 AM

Are you talking about the asphalt clipping through the curb?

#445 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2018 - 09:12 AM

Yes, that is.

Also I want to know if it is possible to "brake" a trace, having an altitude at the end of a section, and other value at the beggining of the following section.

Edited by quico, Oct 03 2018 - 09:15 AM.


#446 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2018 - 05:01 PM

For that asphalt clipping you need to put a 2048 wall, even with 0 height and 0 depth at the top of the corner; that will tell GPL to draw in the correct order.
Remember that 2048 wall has no collision unless any of the traces of the track go below 0 meters anywhere; if so 2048 will become hard as marble (bug).

You can brake a trace simply by changing in the GTK the height at start value you want in a  section for that trace.
You cannot use gracED or HeightEd for this while you can use the old Excel method.

#447 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 04 2018 - 05:05 AM

Attached File  01.jpg   240.01K   18 downloads

Thanks Ginetto.


Going to deal with the altitudes.

#448 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2018 - 10:28 AM

I thought that being zero width walls It will be no new polys created but... I have now a thousand new faces in the 3do, (but I can't see where they are). I hope it will not be a big load in defeat of frames.

Altitudes went easy although finally I think I will not need that changes.


Thanks again Ginetto.

#449 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,819 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 08 2018 - 07:06 AM

I add that kind of walls only in places where is seen or from a cam view or from driver's view.
Usually they are not that many :think:

#450 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 08 2018 - 01:21 PM

Well, the track has soft turns and polys grow accordingly. There are 2048 walls only where the pianos are.

I'll try to maintain that softnes till the track is finished. If needed then could be reduced.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links