Jump to content


- - - - -

Windows 10 1803 (May 2018 Creator's Update)


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#16 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 07:55 AM

Greg- check your email (if you haven't lately)  from Michael.
and thanks for the clarification of GPLc67!!

#17 JWM

JWM

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Interests:GPL offline racing.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 08:17 AM

GPL went wonky for me with this update. I went to 'settings' then 'system' and turned off the new feature 'focus assist' and that seemed to sort it out. I'm not very techy so it may have been pure coincidence although I just checked by turning it back on and GPL crashed again, so it looks like a good possibility. Hope that helps someone.

#18 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 08:28 AM

 JWM, on May 15 2018 - 08:17 AM, said:

GPL went wonky for me with this update. I went to 'settings' then 'system' and turned off the new feature 'focus assist' and that seemed to sort it out. I'm not very techy so it may have been pure coincidence although I just checked by turning it back on and GPL crashed again, so it looks like a good possibility. Hope that helps someone.

I just went and checked that and mine was off by default.

#19 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 08:31 AM

I read Roberto's post and saw the latest drivers. So, I went a downloaded it. I noticed it really downloaded fast. Too fast for how big it was. So, I went and checked my bandwidth and it looks like my ISP gave us a speed boost without telling us.

I don't know if this link will work. It's my result.

http://www.speedtest...sult/7311471460

#20 rcb

rcb

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Florida, USA
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 09:49 AM

I was having the same issues as Lord's original post. Windows 10.1803 and an AMD video card.  I can confirm JWM's finding that focus assist was causing the issue.  Turned all of the focus assist rule sliders to off in the settings and GPL is back to normal.

#21 Jackseller

Jackseller

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Computer stuff
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 12:36 PM

 rcb, on May 15 2018 - 09:49 AM, said:

Turned all of the focus assist rule sliders to off in the settings and GPL is back to normal.

I can confirm too ! Direct3D mode works again correctly.

#22 Lord

Lord

    Mr. Broken Gearbox

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Latina, Italy
  • Interests:Formula 1, Football (Soccer), Grand Prix Legends and rFactor
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 15 2018 - 01:16 PM

Re-installed the 1803 update on my Win10 machine.
rcb's workaround works perfectly: just follow these steps.

1. Start > Control Panel (the cog on the left) > System.
2. On the left bar, click on Focus Assist.
3. Click on "Deactivated", then set all the sliders on the left position (off).

Now you can play GPL without that obnoxious bug.

Also, on a different note, if GEM+2 starts making some fuss about some dlls, just run it as administrator and it will shut up about it.

#23 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 17 2018 - 03:40 AM

I have updated my Windows 10 to build 1803.
Running GPL on OpenGL v2, nVidia GeForce GTX 970.
GPL runs fine. No problems at all. :)

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jul 27 2018 - 01:48 AM.


#24 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 17 2018 - 07:47 AM

 Stefan Roess, on May 17 2018 - 03:40 AM, said:

I have updated my Windows 10 to build 1803.
Running GPL on OpenGL v2, nVidia Geforce GTX 980 (or was it a 970, I will check when back at my race PC).
GPL runs fine. No problems. :)
Ditto - no problems. My GPU is the GTX 760

#25 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted May 17 2018 - 07:56 AM

Btw to know which Windows version you are using do this:

Press Windows Logo + R and type "winver" and press enter
or click Start – RUN , type “winver” and press enter.
If RUN is not available, type "winver" in the "search programs and files" textbox.
This will show the Windows Version and Build.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Jun 24 2018 - 01:42 AM.


#26 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 18 2018 - 10:29 AM

found an issue.. didn't have before the update to 1803....

GEM screen.. car type = x
i want to switch to car type = y
CRASH (error message that saves to a log file)

also, once this occurs, it also affects just clicking on the GPL button (same result)
the only 'fix' is to REBOOT the PC.......

anyone else?

#27 Lord

Lord

    Mr. Broken Gearbox

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Latina, Italy
  • Interests:Formula 1, Football (Soccer), Grand Prix Legends and rFactor
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 19 2018 - 07:46 AM

Have you tried running it as an admin?

#28 Bo Bruce

Bo Bruce

    oAo Admin

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northern Indiana
  • Interests:racing... baseball...military history... reading too much to specify everything :)
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 19 2018 - 09:40 AM

yes.. default setting is 'admin'

#29 John Woods

John Woods

    Be Somebody

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Too Much Fun
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 19 2018 - 07:07 PM

Re-install GEM and/or point it again to GPL?
Delete MOD.EXEs and let GEM rebuild them?



:D

#30 MLGathome

MLGathome

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:simracing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 20 2018 - 01:22 AM

Last Friday build 1803 hit my computer, an 6 month old ASUS budget gaming PC: Intel Core i5-7400 CPU @3.00GHz, 8.0GB RAM, AMD Radeon R7 340. Thanks to the tips her was able to run GPL graphically but the sound was different. The 1965 Ferrari sounded awfull.
On Saturday my daughter startsup the PC and has to wait for ages before the desktop is loaded. Later that day tried it myself and only after three attempts the desktop is loaded. I rolled back at once to build 1709. Build 1803 is a bug for my PC. Never try to fix something that is not broken.

Greetings, Marcel




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links