Jump to content


- - - - -

Gplshift And Gem With 67Cars


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Rich65

Rich65

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 21 2016 - 07:52 PM

I had this strange problem on Win7 and now have it on Win10. When I start up GEM and select the original GPL and one of the 67cars, then go to any track, GPLshift doesn't let me change seat height or position. If I don't go through GEM and just launch the GPL.exe directly and then select the same 67car, then GPLshift works properly and allows me to change seat height and position. Oddly, if I start up GEM and select the 65, 69 or any other mod and one of its corresponding cars then when I get on track, GPLshift works fine and I can adjust seat height and position perfectly.

Does anybody have the same issue? Or does anybody have GPLshift working properly with the original GPL and one of the 67cars when launched through GEM?

#2 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 852 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 12:01 AM

View PostRich65, on Jan 21 2016 - 07:52 PM, said:

When I start up GEM and select the original GPL and one of the 67cars, then go to any track, GPLshift doesn't let me change seat height or position. If I don't go through GEM and just launch the GPL.exe directly and then select the same 67car, then GPLshift works properly and allows me to change seat height and position.
Do you start gpl.exe?
Gpl.exe i source fore GEM to generate mods executables. If you look into your GPL folder you should see bounch of executables there:
gplc65.exe - 1965 F1 mod
gplc67.exe - 1966 F1 mod
gplc67.exe - 1967 F1 mod
gplx69.exe - 1969 F1 mod (extra)
gplcf2.exe - 1967 F2 mod
gplcgt.exe - 1967 GT mod

Through GEM you start mod's executables, not source gpl.exe. So if you stared 1967 F1 with GEM then it ran gplc67.exe and then you tried clean gpl.exe thererfore you had difference in game performance.

GPLShift position change in 1967 cars worked here when I tried it long time ago (didn't use this feature, default settings are best for me). Do you have 1967 1.3 patch installed?

#3 Fat Rich

Fat Rich

    Lazy Blipper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fallen out of the Karussell again
  • Interests:GPL has got me by the throat and won't let go.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 03:45 AM

Yeah, I've noticed this too (Windows 7) so I launch directly from the executables as Pavel has suggested which helps a lot. But despite that there a still a few cars in some of the mods that refuse to adjust :(

#4 Rich65

Rich65

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 10:44 AM

Thanks Fat Rich for that info and that tells me the issue isn't isolated to my installation.

Pavel, I do have the 1967 1.3 patch installed. When I go into the GPL folder and directly launch gpl.exe and gplc37.exe ...in both cases I can adjust seat position. But if I open GEM and let GEM start up a car from the 67cars, the result is that the seat position cannot be adjusted. It appears to be something is happening when launching 67cars from GEM that disables GPLshift.

#5 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 11:45 AM

I have an idea here,because the same occurs to me.
@Rich65,launch GPL from gpl.exe or gplcANY(mod),adjust your seat pos and Fov,now its the critical point where we want these settings to be saved but where GPL saves these settings?
3DO files?
Sure there is a solution to this,come on guys,you are the best here,to top of the top!
Another thing that bothers me is,because i have a PLP display set(17'inch portait@1024x1280-27'inch landscape1920x1280(custom res)-17inch portait@1024x1280),i cant get GPL to show@all but only the middle.
Its because the engine or ....READS my middle screen's resolution!
Tried softth,nothing.
Anybody any ideas?
We need to trick the engine NOT to read a specific res. but the res we want.
Thanks!!!

#6 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 852 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 12:10 PM

I just started 67F1 through GEM, went to Silverstone with eagle and I could move seat back and forword with CTRL+arrow keys.

#7 bob williams

bob williams

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Simracing
    Cycling
    Legos
    RC
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 01:45 PM

Gpl shift doesn`t work correctly with the new 67 historic mod. The same problem with the X69 mod.

Pavel you are adjusting the fov not the seating position or seat height. These are adjusted with alt + arrow keys.

#8 Rich65

Rich65

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 02:00 PM

So I deleted all my gpl exes except of course for "gpl.exe" itself, then started GEM and let GEM rebuild them. Went to the track and tried every 67car and couldn't adjust seat positions until I got into the Eagle. For some reason I could change seat position in the Eagle but none of the other 67s. So strange.

#9 Rich65

Rich65

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 22 2016 - 03:00 PM

Bob, That's interesting you can adjust with alt + arrow keys because I don't have that option in my copy of gplshift.ini v0.79.

Quoting from my gplshift.ini:

"Move the Driver View up or down by using    
    ;   left SHIFT key with ARROW keys"

"Move Driver View forward or back by using  
    ;   left CTRL key with ARROW keys"

#10 bob williams

bob williams

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Simracing
    Cycling
    Legos
    RC
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 23 2016 - 10:45 AM

View PostRich65, on Jan 22 2016 - 03:00 PM, said:

Bob, That's interesting you can adjust with alt + arrow keys because I don't have that option in my copy of gplshift.ini v0.79.

Quoting from my gplshift.ini:

"Move the Driver View up or down by using
;   left SHIFT key with ARROW keys"

"Move Driver View forward or back by using  
;   left CTRL key with ARROW keys"

You are right. It is left shift and left ctrl not alt. Zoom function is working with keypad arrows.

[ ZOOM ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Zoom_In_Out_Mode = KA      ;OPTIONS:    OFF    #.BUT    #.POV    KA   ;EFFECT:

                            ;OFF = ZOOM In/Out CAR view support Disabled      
                            ;BUT = You select a game device # HERE, and buttons
                            ;      below (up to 4 #) for Zoom In/Out/Reset,    
                            ;POV = Point Of View hat:                          
                            ;KA  = Keyboard ARROW Keys:                        

                            ;      Down  =  Zoom In      (back)                
                            ;      Up    =  Zoom Out     (forward)            
                            ;      Right =  Zoom Set to UserDefineFov position
                            ;      Left  =  Zoom Reset to default position (78)
                            ;--------------------------------------------------
                            ;N.B. If you have choicen POV or KA then you don`t
                            ;      need to setup any button # below            

                            ;No game device # below, ONLY buttons (up to 4 #)  

Zoom_Out_Button =           ;Select a # for zoom out      

Zoom_In_Button =            ;Select a # for zoom in      

Zoom_Reset_Button =         ;Select a # for reset zoom to default position (78)

Zoom2UserDefineFOV_Butt =   ;a # for setting ZOOM to "UserDefineFOV =" position
                            ;--------------------------------------------------
                            ;OPTIONS:          ##          ##.#        ;EFFECT:

UserDefineFOV = 63.0        ;Field Of View in degrees: minimun 45.2 - max. 86.2
                            ;(78.0 = Default position)    

                            ;You can use the keyboards HOME key to save the    
                            ;present FOV ZOOM positions and the setting will be
                            ;uset next time you starting GPL, if you still have
                            ;enabled this [ ZOOM ] support, and will overwrite
                            ;GEM+2´s Field Of View setting    

                            ;--------------------------------------------------
[ DRIVER VIEW ]----------------------------------------------------------------
Up&Down = 1                 ;OPTIONS:            0       1            ;EFFECT:

                            ;0 =   OFF              
                            ;1 =   Move the Driver View up or down by using    
                            ;      left SHIFT key with ARROW keys:            
                            ;      Up    =  Up                        
                            ;      Down  =  Down                    
                            ;      Right =  Not uset      
                            ;      Left  =  Back to default position      

Forward&Back = 1            ;0 =   OFF              
                            ;1 =   Move Driver View forward or back by using  
                            ;      left CTRL key with ARROW keys:              
                            ;      Up    =  Forward                      
                            ;      Down  =  Back                    
                            ;      Right =  Not uset                          
                            ;      Left  =  Back to default position      
                            ;Notice: These 2 functions has no effect in LOOK  
                            ;        AROUND TrackIR Vector Expansion mode.    
                            ;--------------------------------------------------

#11 Fat Rich

Fat Rich

    Lazy Blipper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fallen out of the Karussell again
  • Interests:GPL has got me by the throat and won't let go.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2016 - 03:41 AM

I've sometimes also found that I can't adjust the view when I've just selected a different car, but when I've quit out and restarted the game (again using the appropriate exe, not GEM) then the seat adjustment works again.

It's all a bit hit and miss unfortunately.

#12 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,350 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2016 - 08:20 AM

GPLShift will only recognize certain folders. There were some folders added by the creator a long time ago but many cars in the new mods can't be adjusted.  Going from memory, I seem to remember a trick where, if I could find a car that was recognized in the mod and started with it and did adjustments, I could then change to another car inside GPL and GPLShift would keep doing the adjustments.  I might be remembering wrong though and I can't test it just now.

#13 Fat Rich

Fat Rich

    Lazy Blipper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fallen out of the Karussell again
  • Interests:GPL has got me by the throat and won't let go.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 24 2016 - 11:36 AM

I think you're right Bob, that might explain why sometimes I could adjust a certain car and other times not.

I'll do some experimenting when I get a bit of time :)

#14 Rich65

Rich65

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 25 2016 - 06:12 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Jan 24 2016 - 08:20 AM, said:

GPLShift will only recognize certain folders. There were some folders added by the creator a long time ago but many cars in the new mods can't be adjusted.  Going from memory, I seem to remember a trick where, if I could find a car that was recognized in the mod and started with it and did adjustments, I could then change to another car inside GPL and GPLShift would keep doing the adjustments.  I might be remembering wrong though and I can't test it just now.

Thank you so much Bob, you were right! :up:
As I posted the other day that I had discovered that gplshift worked with none of the 67cars except for the Eagle, I started up GEM, selected the 67 Eagle, went to the track, then exited and selected the Ferrari, returned to the track and can confirm I was able to adjust the seat. I repeated the test for each remaining car and in every instance the seat could be adjusted.

Fat Rich, If you have time to experiment, it would be kind of interesting if it's only the 67 Eagle that initially works for you as well.

#15 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted Jan 26 2016 - 10:26 AM

View PostRich65, on Jan 25 2016 - 06:12 PM, said:

View PostBob Simpson, on Jan 24 2016 - 08:20 AM, said:

GPLShift will only recognize certain folders. There were some folders added by the creator a long time ago but many cars in the new mods can't be adjusted.  Going from memory, I seem to remember a trick where, if I could find a car that was recognized in the mod and started with it and did adjustments, I could then change to another car inside GPL and GPLShift would keep doing the adjustments.  I might be remembering wrong though and I can't test it just now.

Thank you so much Bob, you were right! :up:
As I posted the other day that I had discovered that gplshift worked with none of the 67cars except for the Eagle, I started up GEM, selected the 67 Eagle, went to the track, then exited and selected the Ferrari, returned to the track and can confirm I was able to adjust the seat. I repeated the test for each remaining car and in every instance the seat could be adjusted.

Fat Rich, If you have time to experiment, it would be kind of interesting if it's only the 67 Eagle that initially works for you as well.
No this trick doesnt work for me... :harumph:

#16 Fat Rich

Fat Rich

    Lazy Blipper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fallen out of the Karussell again
  • Interests:GPL has got me by the throat and won't let go.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 26 2016 - 12:42 PM

Hmm, no luck here either :(

#17 Rich65

Rich65

    Chris Amon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 26 2016 - 09:00 PM

No luck for me either. Three times tonight I repeated the same procedure as yesterday and could not replicate yesterday's results. In all three attempts it was not possible to adjust the seat in any of the 67cars except for the Eagle.

#18 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2016 - 12:20 AM

Is this with default 67 or Historic mod?

#19 tikfas

tikfas

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted Jan 27 2016 - 02:51 AM

@MECH -This is for the default 67 carset.

#20 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jan 27 2016 - 05:38 AM

Did you apply the shift patch on gpl.exe or the gplc67.exe?
And did you remove the old gplc67.exe before building a new one?
And is GEM allowed access, there's not any program running that blocks GEM in any way?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links