Jump to content


- - - - -

Length Of Qualification


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 04:17 AM

Is there any way to extend the duration of the offline race classification? For example: if pro-long is one hour, increase it to two hours?
Thank you

#2 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 07:16 AM

Interesting question. I'm sure Lee will know if it's possible to edit.

I'm curious why you want to do it?

#3 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 07:30 AM

Hey, Pete!
Of course; tuning the car is laborious, so I'd like more time to try out different "paths".

#4 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 07:39 AM

Ok, let's see what Lee says about it.

You can always run GP races. You'll have so much qualifying time you'll get bored to death. ;)

#5 Purojannu

Purojannu

    Mike Parkes

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:Sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 08:08 AM

You can have two two hour sessions by changing the full GP length for example in GEM+, but I don't know if it's possible to have only one of them.

#6 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 09:42 AM

View PostPurojannu, on Oct 05 2019 - 08:08 AM, said:

You can have two two hour sessions by changing the full GP length for example in GEM+, but I don't know if it's possible to have only one of them.

You always have 2 two hour sessions in GP but he doesn't want to run a GP race. He's asking about a pro-long race.

#7 Purojannu

Purojannu

    Mike Parkes

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:Sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 12:07 PM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Oct 05 2019 - 09:42 AM, said:

You always have 2 two hour sessions in GP but he doesn't want to run a GP race. He's asking about a pro-long race.

Just shorten the race length for example in Monaco from 100 to 30 laps. Then you have practically a pro-long race with four hours of practice time.

#8 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 01:03 PM

View PostPurojannu, on Oct 05 2019 - 12:07 PM, said:



Just shorten the race length for example in Monaco from 100 to 30 laps. Then you have practically a pro-long race with four hours of practice time.
But it’s GP mode.

#9 Purojannu

Purojannu

    Mike Parkes

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:Sim racing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 02:29 PM

View PostClaudio Pablo Navonne, on Oct 05 2019 - 01:03 PM, said:

But it’s GP mode.

Yes, you should select the GP mode, but is there really any difference between the modes apart from the length of the race? At least the damage is realistic in pro-long too.

#10 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 03:00 PM

The qualification time for each type of race is fixed.  AFAIK, you can't change it.

You can change the race number of laps for each track in the season.ini file.  There is no way to set a fixed race time so you just have to estimate the race time based on the number of laps and typical lap time.  Be sure to edit the correct season.ini file as each mod has its own.

The GP race length uses 100% of the number of laps in the season.ini file.  Long uses 30%, Short uses 15%, and Novice uses 8%.

Bob Simpson may have better info.

#11 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 05 2019 - 03:19 PM

Lee...........There's something I always wondered about. In GP mode. Do the AI start with full tanks?

#12 Claudio Pablo Navonne

Claudio Pablo Navonne

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 06 2019 - 04:26 AM

View PostPurojannu, on Oct 05 2019 - 02:29 PM, said:

Yes, you should select the GP mode, but is there really any difference between the modes apart from the length of the race? At least the damage is realistic in pro-long too.
that yours is a very good option, and the only one.
Thank you!

#13 Lee200

Lee200

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 07 2019 - 09:29 AM

View PostPete Gaimari, on Oct 05 2019 - 03:19 PM, said:

Lee...........There's something I always wondered about. In GP mode. Do the AI start with full tanks?

Pete, there is no simple answer to that.  Normally, the AI don't have a limit on their fuel tank capacity and they are loaded with all the fuel needed to finish the race.  Their fuel load is computed by taking the race length in laps times the fuel loading per lap in the track.ini file.  Assuming the track.ini file specifies enough fuel, then the AI won't stop for refueling.  However, if the fuel loading is insufficient then the AI will stop to refuel.  There is a bug in the refueling logic which I've never been able to fix.  Sometimes the AI will miscalculate the number of remaining laps and not refuel enough to finish the race which causes another stop for refueling.

For a full length GP race, the AI start with a heavy fuel load which limits their performance.  As they burn off fuel, they get progressively faster.

My Pitstop patch limits the AI fuel capacity to the same as the player cars.  This forces them to refuel for the longer races just like the player.  The patch was automatically included in the 1967 Sports Cars Extra mod, but can be used with any mod.

Edited by Lee200, Oct 07 2019 - 01:15 PM.


#14 Pete Gaimari

Pete Gaimari

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Racing and Muzzleloader Hunting
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 07 2019 - 11:21 AM

Thanks Lee. That's kind of what I thought but was never sure.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links