Jump to content


- - - - -

Proper Version Of Brands Hatch?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 27 2010 - 11:11 PM

I want to install the 69 Mod, and to do so I needed to download 4 tracks first.
I've found them all four, but the Brands Hatch track doesn't work.

First of all, the image in the track selection screen has a piece that's in a wrong colour (I'm not that good in english, so I don't know how else to discribe it) There's a part that needs to be gray, but it's purple.
Now that's not a problem, but when I start the race/training etc. GPL crashes to the desktop with a error message. I think I've downloaded like 10 tracks yesterday, the other ones are all running without any isseus.

Edited by Millennium, Jun 28 2010 - 05:09 AM.


#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,223 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 28 2010 - 05:48 AM

The one that has the folder brands67 is generally thought of as the best one and it should work.  I seem to remember that you might need to do some file moving which is described in the readme that comes with that track.

#3 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 28 2010 - 06:14 AM

The purple is probably due to the rasterizers and graphics card, if I run openGL I get the purple but I don't get it with direct 3d. Get everything running properly before worrying about this though, but it can be fixed.

#4 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 28 2010 - 11:15 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Jun 28 2010 - 05:48 AM, said:

The one that has the folder brands67 is generally thought of as the best one and it should work.  I seem to remember that you might need to do some file moving which is described in the readme that comes with that track.

Yes, that's the one I've used.
I didn't read the readme file, so I'll do that first!

By the way, do I really need this track to use the 69 Mod? Brands Hatch is not one of my favourite tracks, so if it isn't needed that would be ok for me.

@Burnsy, that sounds very difficult. I'm glad everything on GPL is working fine now, so I don't dare to changes some settings.

#5 sky

sky

    ultra highres junkie & 917 addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the last haven for petrolheads
  • Interests:travel, music, racing, vintage cars, model cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 28 2010 - 11:53 AM

you don't "need" the track per se as you can drive the '69 cars on any track you want. besides what makes you say you need brands anyway? as far as i know the '69 cars did not run at brands hatch - at least not as a championship race, so i'm a bit confused about that bit about brands hatch to be honest. :D

#6 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 28 2010 - 01:55 PM

Brands Hatch 1969 was the Race Of Champions track in 69. Here's the race result: http://en.wikipedia....ce_of_Champions

#7 Burnsy865

Burnsy865

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Jun 28 2010 - 03:55 PM

View PostMillennium, on Jun 28 2010 - 11:15 AM, said:

@Burnsy, that sounds very difficult. I'm glad everything on GPL is working fine now, so I don't dare to changes some settings.
Yes it was difficult for me at first to start changing things but with the help of the guru's here it became easier to understand. When the time comes just ask, there are plenty here willing to help but like I said, it probably isn't a big enough issue to worry about yet. Just work on getting your mods and tracks sorted and if you concentrate on one problem at a time you won't end up with a big mess like I did and have to reinstall a few times :P

#8 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 04:44 AM

@Sky, the 69 Mod download site said that 'You'll need these four tracks first'
But if I can drive them on any track than that's good enough for me :)

Quote

Brands Hatch 1969 was the Race Of Champions track in 69. Here's the race result: http://en.wikipedia....ce_of_Champions
I didn't know that, cool.

Quote

Yes it was difficult for me at first to start changing things but with the help of the guru's here it became easier to understand. When the time comes just ask, there are plenty here willing to help but like I said, it probably isn't a big enough issue to worry about yet. Just work on getting your mods and tracks sorted and if you concentrate on one problem at a time you won't end up with a big mess like I did and have to reinstall a few times
I joined this site only a few days ago, but I have to agree that the people here are a great help. Makes playing the game more fun to play too!
Well, I think I just leave Brands Hatch for a while. I have a total of 40 tracks now, maybe I should learn to drive on them first. :P

Edited by Millennium, Jun 29 2010 - 04:45 AM.


#9 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,223 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 04:57 AM

Fromt he readme that comes with the Brands track:

Quote

For those who have to run in D3D, please extract the contents of the included flag1.zip (which is only available in the hirez version as the others have already this file included in their dat file), and place it in your brands67 folder. Anyone else having a Crash to Desktop with this circuit must do that as well.


#10 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 05:17 AM

View PostMillennium, on Jun 29 2010 - 04:44 AM, said:


...
But if I can drive them on any track than that's good enough for me :)

Quote

Brands Hatch 1969 was the Race Of Champions track in 69. Here's the race result: http://en.wikipedia....ce_of_Champions
I didn't know that, cool.

...

I'm not 100% sure but I can imagine that special ini corrections will be made to drive against the AI here @ Brands Hatch. I know we had such things done for the 66mod too.

#11 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 09:51 AM

View PostBob Simpson, on Jun 29 2010 - 04:57 AM, said:

Fromt he readme that comes with the Brands track:

Quote

For those who have to run in D3D, please extract the contents of the included flag1.zip (which is only available in the hirez version as the others have already this file included in their dat file), and place it in your brands67 folder. Anyone else having a Crash to Desktop with this circuit must do that as well.

I've just tried that, and it works.
It now runs without any problems, thanks for the help!

Edited by Millennium, Jun 29 2010 - 09:51 AM.


#12 sky

sky

    ultra highres junkie & 917 addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the last haven for petrolheads
  • Interests:travel, music, racing, vintage cars, model cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 11:27 AM

View PostMillennium, on Jun 29 2010 - 04:44 AM, said:

@Sky, the 69 Mod download site said that 'You'll need these four tracks first'
But if I can drive them on any track than that's good enough for me :)

I joined this site only a few days ago, but I have to agree that the people here are a great help. Makes playing the game more fun to play too!
Well, I think I just leave Brands Hatch for a while. I have a total of 40 tracks now, maybe I should learn to drive on them first. :P

regarding the '69 and brands - i've based my statement on the '69 rank - which does not include brands. i should know, i've completed the '69 monster rank ages ago ;). it could of course be part of the season (but as a non-championship race) as such but then again, i mostly install my tracks into the '67 season and use any or all carsets on it, as i don't do championships. so for me the point of whether track A or B has been run in that year or not is moot. that is unless i'm trying for a rank again. i have different players for each year / mod, but only one season :)

anyway, i didn't know about the roc'69 either, so thanks to for that input

#13 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 11:58 AM

I have just installed the 69 Mod succesfully, what a great mod!
The cars are much faster, and still very difficult to drive. ^^

But when I start the 69 mod, I can only use the tracks from the original season. *without Spa :(*

Is it possible to drive the 69 cars, on the tracks that I've installed in my original 67 GPL game?

#14 sky

sky

    ultra highres junkie & 917 addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the last haven for petrolheads
  • Interests:travel, music, racing, vintage cars, model cars
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 12:13 PM

View PostMillennium, on Jun 29 2010 - 11:58 AM, said:

I have just installed the 69 Mod succesfully, what a great mod!
The cars are much faster, and still very difficult to drive. ^^

But when I start the 69 mod, I can only use the tracks from the original season. *without Spa :(*

Is it possible to drive the 69 cars, on the tracks that I've installed in my original 67 GPL game?

if you are using gem it sure is. you just have to go to the season drop down thing and select another season. easy as pie. :)

#15 Millennium

Millennium

    Roger Williamson

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Jun 29 2010 - 01:00 PM

View Postsky, on Jun 29 2010 - 12:13 PM, said:

View PostMillennium, on Jun 29 2010 - 11:58 AM, said:

I have just installed the 69 Mod succesfully, what a great mod!
The cars are much faster, and still very difficult to drive. ^^

But when I start the 69 mod, I can only use the tracks from the original season. *without Spa :(*

Is it possible to drive the 69 cars, on the tracks that I've installed in my original 67 GPL game?

if you are using gem it sure is. you just have to go to the season drop down thing and select another season. easy as pie. :)

Pfuuw, I was already worried I had to move files and stuff like that! Thanks :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links