Jump to content


- - - - -

Possible 1969 Mod/rasteriser Problem?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 21 2019 - 10:34 AM

Hi All,

This one is odd and I'm stumped. I just turned on my GPL PC and got the 'Windows didn't shut down properly' message which was odd, I have no idea why it hadn't shut down normally. I selected to start Windows as normal and then discovered that in GEM+ my selection for Open GL V2 had been removed and it was set back to Software. (Took me a while to work out why GPL wouldn't load any tracks.)

I seem to be back to normal now except for the 1969 Mod and the Silverstone track. GPL crashes completely when I try to enter the car, or, if I let practice run to the end without me, at the end of practice just as the final times are shown. This doesn't seem to happen with any other Mod or track, and it happens with both the Silver and Silver2 tracks, so I don't think the track is corrupted. I can drive Silverstone fine with other Mods.

Can anyone suggest what the problem could be, please?

#2 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,007 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 22 2019 - 08:40 PM

Did you check your HD for errors? Any time Windows fails to shut down or start up properly, it's the first thing I check.

#3 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 22 2019 - 11:37 PM

How do I do that?

#4 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted Sep 23 2019 - 04:16 AM

Have a look there:

https://answers.micr...2c-695b60477a93

#5 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 23 2019 - 06:11 AM

Thanks Yngwie. Will it matter that my PC doesn't have in internet connection, from the link it looks like that s/w may need the internet to find non-corrupted replacement files? I turned of the wifi on my GPL PC about 4 years ago and don't want to turn it back on(!)

#6 Yngwie

Yngwie

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted Sep 23 2019 - 07:57 AM

Can't tell for sure, so try and see ;)

#7 HeinzF

HeinzF

    Jackie Ickx

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted Sep 23 2019 - 08:00 AM

First: I`m German and my english may be not so good, but I will try my very best.

Second : I only (may) know a solution for Windows 7.

Okay, now:

Open the command line by clicking on the windows logo.
In the opening window type:

CHKDSK C: /SCAN (no matter if you type small or capitle Letters)

After a restart Windows will check the HD (For another one than drive C type the Letter of the HD you want to check)

With this command-line Windows will repair errors

    chkdsk C: /f  /r     

pay heed to the blanks ( I type it again and the
* marks a space, do not write them into the command !! )      chkdsk*C:*/f*/r

  

or have a look at this side, Maybe it can help better than I can do,  and of course I refuse any responsibility,
do it all at your own risk  ;-)   That`s all I can do for you at the moment, good luck!

https://neosmart.net/wiki/chkdsk/

Edited by HeinzF, Sep 23 2019 - 08:03 AM.


#8 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 23 2019 - 08:57 AM

If I read
"I seem to be back to normal now except for the 1969 Mod and the Silverstone track"

I don't think that any hardware damage is done, but just in the files that cocern 69 mod + silver!

- is it really the 69 mod or the 69Xtra?
- do you have a backup of your GPL folder with a working silver track?

I attach my silver track69.ini, so test it before you do anything else...

Attached Files


Edited by Cookie, Sep 23 2019 - 08:58 AM.


#9 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2019 - 08:59 AM

Hi everyone, I tried the disk scan utility and it said everything was OK. So I thought I'd try re-installing Silverstone but the link from the GPL Track Database is dead, can anyone help?

Thanks

PS It's 69-extra that I'm using.

#10 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,322 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Sep 28 2019 - 10:25 AM

View PostJonnyA, on Sep 28 2019 - 08:59 AM, said:

So I thought I'd try re-installing Silverstone but the link from the GPL Track Database is dead, can anyone help?

Silverstone is an original Papyrus track, hence not available for download.

#11 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 28 2019 - 02:17 PM

Anyone know how I can try re-installing just that track then?

#12 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 29 2019 - 02:43 AM

Jonny,

To re-install Silverstone just copy it's \tracks folder from the Papyrus CD and check the season ini entries.

#13 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 29 2019 - 03:12 AM

OK, I'll try that. Didn't occur to me it would be on the CD in the same file structure as installed!

#14 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 29 2019 - 09:16 AM

You wrote: "I can drive Silverstone fine with other Mods."

So imo the track is not faulty, but the mod specific files are...

The CD track works for 67s, has no mod files and ugly graphics...

#15 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 29 2019 - 02:26 PM

Hi Cookie, yes I agree but the even funnier thing is that neither Silver nor Silver2 will work, just with the 69x Mod. So something strange has happened. I'll dig out my Cd and try a clean install of Silver and see what happens.

#16 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 29 2019 - 04:07 PM

Try this just testet

Attached Files



#17 JonnyA

JonnyA

    Perry McCarthy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK
  • Interests:Historic motor sport, sailing, astrophotography
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Oct 03 2019 - 05:51 AM

Thanks Cookie! Using your clean version of the track folder I was able to work out the problem was a corrupted drvc69 file. I've replaced it now and all works fine. :up:




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links