Jump to content


- - - - -

Bigben Multiwheel


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 boggy marshall

boggy marshall

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Sim Racing
    Slot cars

Posted Nov 06 2010 - 12:55 PM

Hi
Can anyone help please.
I have a Bigben multiwheel and I have no idea how to make the pedals work progressively.
No matter what I try the pedals are always assigned to buttons 1 and 3 so always work as on/off switches.
I have tried reprogramming the pedals to act as the paddles which are assigned to the y axis but it will not accept the reprogramming
There is no technical support and as an Englishman living in France getting help is really difficult.
Any help much appreciated
Boggy

#2 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,468 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 06 2010 - 01:58 PM

View Postboggy marshall, on Nov 06 2010 - 12:55 PM, said:

Hi
Can anyone help please.
I have a Bigben multiwheel and I have no idea how to make the pedals work progressively.
No matter what I try the pedals are always assigned to buttons 1 and 3 so always work as on/off switches.
I have tried reprogramming the pedals to act as the paddles which are assigned to the y axis but it will not accept the reprogramming
There is no technical support and as an Englishman living in France getting help is really difficult.
Any help much appreciated
Boggy

Boggy,

Do you have address, or phone of the manufacturer.Seems Bigpen is in the X Box and playstations joysticks market.Living in france, I can call them to ask how to set your pedals.
What s your pedal brand ?   Did you declared first your pedal as a separate game controler in the Windows controler ? In windows, you have to declare them as Y or Z, and GPL cursors in the game should recognize the pedals.  

michel

Edited by M Needforspeed, Nov 06 2010 - 02:27 PM.


#3 boggy marshall

boggy marshall

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Sim Racing
    Slot cars

Posted Nov 06 2010 - 02:38 PM

Hi Michel
Thanks for reply
The Bigben multiwheel is all in one pedals connected to wheel and then usb to pc, it also has plug to use with playstation hence multiwheel.
The contact details i have are
Bigben Interactive
Rue de la Voyette
CRT2
59818 Lesquin Cedex
0 892 689 543

Ive tried the email but probably my French is not yet good enough to explain the problem
support@bigben.fr
again many thanks
Boggy

#4 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,468 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 06 2010 - 03:15 PM

View Postboggy marshall, on Nov 06 2010 - 02:38 PM, said:

Hi Michel
Thanks for reply
The Bigben multiwheel is all in one pedals connected to wheel and then usb to pc, it also has plug to use with playstation hence multiwheel.
The contact details i have are
Bigben Interactive
Rue de la Voyette
CRT2
59818 Lesquin Cedex
0 892 689 543

Ive tried the email but probably my French is not yet good enough to explain the problem
support@bigben.fr
again many thanks
Boggy
  I will call them Monday and let you know here their answer and advice

#5 boggy marshall

boggy marshall

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Sim Racing
    Slot cars

Posted Nov 07 2010 - 09:24 AM

View PostM Needforspeed, on Nov 06 2010 - 03:15 PM, said:

View Postboggy marshall, on Nov 06 2010 - 02:38 PM, said:

Hi Michel
Thanks for reply
The Bigben multiwheel is all in one pedals connected to wheel and then usb to pc, it also has plug to use with playstation hence multiwheel.
The contact details i have are
Bigben Interactive
Rue de la Voyette
CRT2
59818 Lesquin Cedex
0 892 689 543

Ive tried the email but probably my French is not yet good enough to explain the problem
support@bigben.fr
again many thanks
Boggy
  I will call them Monday and let you know here their answer and advice


#6 boggy marshall

boggy marshall

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Sim Racing
    Slot cars

Posted Nov 07 2010 - 09:25 AM

Many thanks Michel
Look forward to hearing from you
Cheers
Boggy

#7 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,301 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 07 2010 - 02:26 PM

First off, in the gpl\players\(your playername) folder, delete the controls.cfg file.  Then when you start up GPL. calibrate the swheel and pedal axes FIRST.  Only after that can you assign the wheel and pedal axes.

#8 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,468 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 07 2010 - 02:29 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Nov 07 2010 - 02:26 PM, said:

First off, in the gpl\players\(your playername) folder, delete the controls.cfg file.  Then when you start up GPL. calibrate the swheel and pedal axes FIRST.  Only after that can you assign the wheel and pedal axes.

hi Bob,

I think that I no longer need to call tomorrow.

Thanks again to save someone  :wave:

#9 boggy marshall

boggy marshall

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Sim Racing
    Slot cars

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 07:29 AM

Hi again Bob and Michel
First thanks Bob for your input which I tried straight away but unfortunately made no difference.
Secondly Michel as I believe this is a fundamently programming problem with th wheel and pedals I would be most graeful if you could contact Bigben as I am at wits end now!!!!
As I said previously the wheel works perfectly for steering,as x axis
The paddles which are switches are assigned to the y axis so y axis is either full on or full off
The pedals are assigned to buttons 1 and 3 so give throttle and brakes again either full on or full off.
Using the cd which is supplied with the wheel, on test nothing operates the z axis????
Hope this helps
Cheers
Boggy

#10 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,301 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 10:44 AM

OK, next question is do all the axes show up in the control panel > game controllers window?  Can you provide a screenshot of that window?

#11 boggy marshall

boggy marshall

    Jo Siffert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Sim Racing
    Slot cars

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 01:49 PM

View PostBob Simpson, on Nov 08 2010 - 10:44 AM, said:

OK, next question is do all the axes show up in the control panel > game controllers window?  Can you provide a screenshot of that window?


Hi Bob
No screenshot Im afraid but the axis are all there on controller panel
The software provided with the wheel and pedals sets up a "pc usb steering wheel" controller window with joystick 1 and joystick 2 ,pov and 10 buttons.
Turning the wheel left and right moves x axis left and right.(joystick 1)
Switching right paddle gives full deflection of y axis up and switching left paddle gives full deflection of y axis down.
(joystick 1)
Nothing on wheel or pedals operates x or y axis on joystick 2
pedals show up as brake button 1 and throttle button 3
Hope that throws some light
Cheers
Bob

#12 Bernd Nowak

Bernd Nowak

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 01:58 PM

I have checked the bigben.fr site and according to this pdf (http://www.bigben.fr...wnload/id/27911) which is multilanguage, this wheel has buttons like hell :D

It seems that you need to patch your GPL.exe with JSJ GPLShift. You can get it here: http://srmz.net/inde...?showtopic=5949
But some of the guys here will need to help you.

Edited by Bernd Nowak, Nov 08 2010 - 01:59 PM.


#13 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,468 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 02:27 PM

View Postboggy marshall, on Nov 08 2010 - 01:49 PM, said:

View PostBob Simpson, on Nov 08 2010 - 10:44 AM, said:

OK, next question is do all the axes show up in the control panel > game controllers window?  Can you provide a screenshot of that window?


Hi Bob
No screenshot Im afraid but the axis are all there on controller panel
The software provided with the wheel and pedals sets up a "pc usb steering wheel" controller window with joystick 1 and joystick 2 ,pov and 10 buttons.
Turning the wheel left and right moves x axis left and right.(joystick 1)
Switching right paddle gives full deflection of y axis up and switching left paddle gives full deflection of y axis down.
(joystick 1)
Nothing on wheel or pedals operates x or y axis on joystick 2
pedals show up as brake button 1 and throttle button 3
Hope that throws some light
Cheers
Bob

boggy,

Sorry but a busy schedule today and cldn t contact the service.I will tomorrow.

At the moment, from what you  describe on Windows game controlers explain better why you can't declare the pedals inside GPL.Usually, the paddles should be recognized as buttons in game controler, and pedals as Y axis.To activate the two pedals when you 'll enter the game,usually, you only move or the brake,or the throttle, and the Y axis red cursor moves.And that 's it.

The problem is your pedals being recognized as buttons.But after reading the mode d ' emploi in French,it is not a bug.It is the way this has been set at the factory.

#14 M Needforspeed

M Needforspeed

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,468 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:GPL - start a collection of GPL era die cast racing cars -Skiing
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 02:29 PM

View Postboggy marshall, on Nov 08 2010 - 01:49 PM, said:

View PostBob Simpson, on Nov 08 2010 - 10:44 AM, said:

OK, next question is do all the axes show up in the control panel > game controllers window?  Can you provide a screenshot of that window?


Hi Bob
No screenshot Im afraid but the axis are all there on controller panel
The software provided with the wheel and pedals sets up a "pc usb steering wheel" controller window with joystick 1 and joystick 2 ,pov and 10 buttons.
Turning the wheel left and right moves x axis left and right.(joystick 1)
Switching right paddle gives full deflection of y axis up and switching left paddle gives full deflection of y axis down.
(joystick 1)
Nothing on wheel or pedals operates x or y axis on joystick 2
pedals show up as brake button 1 and throttle button 3
Hope that throws some light
Cheers
Bob

boggy,

Sorry but a busy schedule today and cldn t contact the service.I will tomorrow.

At the moment, from what you  describe on Windows game controlers explain better why you can't declare the pedals inside GPL.Usually, the paddles should be recognized as buttons in game controler, and pedals as Y axis.To activate the two pedals when you 'll enter the game,usually, you only move or the brake,or the throttle, and the Y axis red cursor moves.And that 's it.

The problem is your pedals being recognized as buttons.But after reading the mode d ' emploi in French,it is not a bug.It is the way this has been set at the factory.

#15 MECH

MECH

    Double poly killer

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here ->
  • Interests:My Girlfriend
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Nov 08 2010 - 02:45 PM

The manual says it has a switch for analog and digital modus.
Which one did you try, both? I believe you will be needing analog for pc use.

The button listing lists the pedals not as analog but as a button (see the numbering in the last column)
You are sure that the pedals are analog and not digital? If so it's probably the default digital setting, still it's odd though.

Anyway i would try switching to analog and first test in xp controller configuration if you have analog movement for the pedals. If that won't work you could try digital mode and see if you can program one of the analog buttons to use as pedal and see if that makes a difference :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links