Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

PapyBmp


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted Jan 30 2007 - 05:15 PM

Latest version of PapyBmp, with a couple of bug fixes and some restrictions removed, to be found here.

Updated 29-Jan-09

Nigel

Attached Files


Edited by npattinson, Jan 29 2009 - 01:40 AM.


#2 Phil Neville

Phil Neville

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Doh!

Posted Jan 30 2007 - 06:46 PM

Thanks Nigel  :)

#3 Manfred Cubenoggin

Manfred Cubenoggin

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Keswick, Ontario, Canada
  • Interests:Astronomy, chess, classical music(piano concetos), computers, firearms, modern military history, motor racing, racing sims.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Jan 31 2007 - 10:09 AM

Splendid!  A BIG TY, Nigel!  :)

#4 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted Apr 01 2008 - 05:20 PM

Fixed some bugs which caused crashes, but may not have got them all yet.

Nigel

#5 ACHIM KRAFT

ACHIM KRAFT

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Grand Prix Legends (some mods only)
    MODS:1965/1969EXTRA/TC-2/1965-Night
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 02 2008 - 12:24 AM

Hi Nigel !

Thanks for the update.

Most work i do with WINMIP2, but a new version of PapyBmb is allways welcome.

Greetings

Achim

#6 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 23 2008 - 05:50 AM

Nigel,
I can't make the program work.
As soon as I select a directory with graphic files, it CTD :(

#7 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted Apr 24 2008 - 05:42 AM

View PostGinetto, on Apr 23 2008, 11:50 PM, said:

Nigel,
I can't make the program work.
As soon as I select a directory with graphic files, it CTD :(
Does it give any kind of crash offset or something like that ?

Nigel

#8 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 25 2008 - 04:35 AM

No, it just dissapear as soon I click on a directory with some graphic files in it.

#9 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted Apr 25 2008 - 05:47 AM

Try this debug version, it's more likely to give some kind of diagnostic message.

Nigel

#10 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 25 2008 - 03:55 PM

Works with no problem, it doesn't give any message.
I'll try on my brother's PC tomorrow.
EDIT:
tried on my bro PC your debug version and it works troubleless on it also.
Both computers had the same "dissapear" problem with your previous version.

Edited by Ginetto, Apr 26 2008 - 04:15 PM.


#11 EdwRom

EdwRom

    Dan Gurney

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Williamsport, PA, USA
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 28 2008 - 08:42 PM

I was also able to use the debug version after the original one kept giving me errors and CTD. Whatever changes you made are working!

#12 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted Apr 28 2008 - 11:57 PM

View PostEdwRom, on Apr 29 2008, 02:42 PM, said:

I was also able to use the debug version after the original one kept giving me errors and CTD. Whatever changes you made are working!
Well that wasn't really the plan, I expected the problems still to be there but maybe in a more descriptive form. I'll rebuild a non-debug version and post it in case that solves anything, since the debug version is bigger and slower.

Nigel

#13 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted Apr 29 2008 - 02:44 AM

I've been able to reproduce the problem and this version should fix it I think - let me know if that's not the case.

Nigel

Edited by npattinson, Apr 29 2008 - 02:45 AM.


#14 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,064 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 29 2008 - 04:37 AM

Works all right :thumbup:

#15 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 09 2008 - 07:07 PM

Ooops! Looks like us TotalRankers are causing problems again!  :oops:

Nigel, when I use the browser in PapyBmp (Apr 29th version from post #13 above), and open up my "tracks" directory beneath "GPL", PapyBmp stops with an assertion failure. It's probably because I have 471 tracks installed, and PapyBmp doesn't have enough buffer space to read the directory structure. The message says:

Assertion failure at .\PathName.cpp: 65
result != 0 && result < sizeof(buf)

Maybe try:

char buf[TOTAL_GREEDY_B*****D_SIZE];   ?  :D

Edited by Saiph, May 09 2008 - 07:10 PM.


#16 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted May 09 2008 - 07:40 PM

View PostSaiph, on May 10 2008, 01:07 PM, said:

Ooops! Looks like us TotalRankers are causing problems again!  :oops:

Nigel, when I use the browser in PapyBmp (Apr 29th version from post #13 above), and open up my "tracks" directory beneath "GPL", PapyBmp stops with an assertion failure. It's probably because I have 471 tracks installed, and PapyBmp doesn't have enough buffer space to read the directory structure. The message says:

Assertion failure at .\PathName.cpp: 65
result != 0 && result < sizeof(buf)

Maybe try:

char buf[TOTAL_GREEDY_B*****D_SIZE];   ?  :D
Actually that looks like it's a path length issue rather than a problem with the number of tracks. Do you have a particularly deep directory structure at that point ? I allow for the usual 256-ish path length - I could go for the full 32KB, but I'm not sure what other problems I'll run into in doing so.

Nigel

#17 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 10 2008 - 07:03 AM

View Postnpattinson, on May 10 2008, 02:40 AM, said:

Actually that looks like it's a path length issue rather than a problem with the number of tracks. Do you have a particularly deep directory structure at that point ? I allow for the usual 256-ish path length - I could go for the full 32KB, but I'm not sure what other problems I'll run into in doing so.

Nigel

It doesn't seem very deep to me:

"H:\GPL 2004\tracks\"    (and just to confirm, there is a space in "GPL 2004")

The 471 track directories are directly underneath there.
My original post was a bit inaccurate. When PapyBmp displays the assertion failure, I can click on "OK" and the program continues running. It tries to open up the track directory list below "\tracks\", displaying them in alphabetical order. But it stops the list partway through the "R"s. I don't see anything following, such as Spa, Watglen etc. It seems to me like it's trying to read, store and display all the track directories, but doesn't have the space to do it.

To tell the truth, I don't normally edit my tracks in the "live" installation anyway, I usually copy the required directory to a temporary location to work on it. So if it's hard to fix this, don't worry, I'll use the workaround.

EDIT: Hmm, interesting. I just tried an experiment and browsed into the directory:
H:\GPL 2004\players\Ballard__Keith\setups\
That has 473 subdirectories beneath it as it's the player I use for the TotalRank. PapyBmp opened the directory list with no problem, displayed all the names from "1320" to "Zolder" and allowed me to browse through it. Obviously it didn't display any thumbnails from there, but it showed no signs of hesitating or crashing. I'm confused!

Edited by Saiph, May 10 2008 - 07:22 AM.


#18 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted May 11 2008 - 04:14 AM

Perhaps the windows call is failing rather than reporting that the path is long. Try this version - it should display some useful info in a message box, after which it will proceed as before.

Nigel

#19 Saiph

Saiph

    Drives 4 Team BDS

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aylesbury, UK
  • Interests:Computer gaming (esp. sims, strategy, RPG), real ale, live music, motor sports, boring the NSA/GCHQ to death.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted May 11 2008 - 04:56 AM

Ok, I tried the debug version. First I browsed into the big "setups" directory, the list came up after only about 2 seconds and with no errors. I then browsed to the "tracks" directory, the program paused for about 10-15 seconds with the hourglass showing, then displayed the following message box:

-------------------------------------------------------------
"Microsoft Visual C++ Debug Library"

Debug Assertion Failed!

Program: E:\Temp\PapyBmpDbg\PapyBmp.exe
File: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\include\xstring
Line: 1536

Expression: string subscript out of range

For information on how..... (Snipped - looks like standard text)

(Press Retry to debug the application)
-------------------------------------------------------------

I then clicked on the "Ignore" button and another message box then appeared with exactly the same text, except for:

-------------------------------------------------------------
Line: 1537

Expression: ("Standard C++ Libraries Out of Range",0)
-------------------------------------------------------------

I then clicked on "Abort" and was shown a message saying an error log had been created. The error log contains:

-------------------------------------------------------------
PapyBmp Version 2,0,0,1 Error File
abort() called

Fault address: 0x7C90EB94 0x00000001:0x0000DB94 C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntdll.dll
Registers:
EAX=0x00000000 CS=0x001B EIP=0x7C90EB94 EFLGS=0x00000246
EBX=0x00000000 SS=0x0023 ESP=0x001185E8 EBP=0x001185F8
ECX=0x00118700 DS=0x0023 ESI=0x00118608 FS=0x003B
EDX=0x7C90EB94 ES=0x0023 EDI=0x00118604 GS=0x0000

Call Stack
Address    Frame      Logical Addr          Module
0x7C90EB94 0x001185F8 KiFastSystemCallRet+0x00000000
End Call Stack
-------------------------------------------------------------

I hope that load of Chinese is helpful! (Heh, maybe "cheapracer" could help translate it!)
If you'd like me to test anything else, or press the buttons in a different sequence, just let me know.

#20 npattinson - guest

npattinson - guest
  • Guests

Posted May 11 2008 - 05:34 AM

Thanks, that wasn't quite what I was hoping for, but I think it means the path I have hold of must already be corrupted. Let me poke around for a bit and see if I can see where that may have happened.

Nigel




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links